Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 3, 2012, 11:12 PM   #1
ogs
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
do i need this "trim" thing?

So, i just installed lion onto my crucial m4, and set the mac pro up so that it boots from that drive. just wondering.. do i need that trim stuff?
ogs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 12:17 AM   #2
ClassObject
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Yes
ClassObject is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 01:17 AM   #3
ogs
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ClassObject View Post
Yes
Could you direct me to a thread, or educate me as to how i get trim enabled?
ogs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 01:20 AM   #4
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Step by step:

http://osxdaily.com/2012/01/03/enabl...mac-os-x-lion/

Additional information on the APple site too.
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 02:27 AM   #5
ogs
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman45 View Post
Step by step:

http://osxdaily.com/2012/01/03/enabl...mac-os-x-lion/

Additional information on the APple site too.
Thank you very much!
So just two questions...
1) again, this is necessary with the crucial m4?
2) when doing this will i need to reinstall everything?
ogs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 02:45 AM   #6
Lance-AR
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Little Rock, AR
It's best and no, there is no need to reinstall. Post trim is anti climatic.
__________________
My reproduction oil paintings
Lance-AR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 02:50 AM   #7
Xian Zhu Xuande
macrumors 6502a
 
Xian Zhu Xuande's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Some SSD drives need it less than others, but technically all should benefit from it. The Crucial M4, for example, basically needs it. On the other hand, OWC says you shouldn't enable it for their SSDs due to it not being necessary (they don't give a good argument for that statement) but many people who have enabled it for the OWC SSDs have encountered various problems.

Technically speaking, TRIM is a very good feature for SSDs to enjoy. It is never left out from the Apple-provided SSDs (as far as I am aware).
Xian Zhu Xuande is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 03:56 AM   #8
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
I've had a pair of OCZ SSD's for about the same amount of time. The one in my wife's computer has trim enabled mine does not. I don't user her computer much but I haven't noticed a difference between the two.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 04:51 AM   #9
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
I've had a pair of OCZ SSD's for about the same amount of time. The one in my wife's computer has trim enabled mine does not. I don't user her computer much but I haven't noticed a difference between the two.
You would only really notice it if you fill up your SSD on a regular basis.
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 11:17 AM   #10
Xian Zhu Xuande
macrumors 6502a
 
Xian Zhu Xuande's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by theSeb View Post
You would only really notice it if you fill up your SSD on a regular basis.
That is not necessarily true. While I won't speak specifically to the OWC SSDs (though they have no technical attribute I am aware of which would explain a complete exemption from using TRIM), the value of TRIM can come to light over time due to frequent deletion without necessarily filling the hard drive.

Though it should be stated that it is not necessarily a life or death matter for a SSD. Some SSDs can perform perfectly well for a reasonable lifetime, without TRIM, under a range of use patterns.

http://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2012/06/inside-the-ssd-revolution-how-solid-state-disks-really-work/
Xian Zhu Xuande is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 11:46 AM   #11
haravikk
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2005
I think it's really something you just need to try; I enabled for an OCZ Vertex 2 120gb drive and personally I found it worse with TRIM enabled, in particular I found that Safari stuttered a lot until I turned TRIM back off.

I never did figure out why it did it though, as it never did make any sense, but the change to TRIM was definitely the cause in my case, so keep an eye out for any performance oddities and make up your own mind, would be my advice


Also, I'm not sure if SSD's with garbage collection need TRIM enabled? It shouldn't have any real effect, though since the controller can just ignore TRIM requests if it has some other mechanism enabled.
__________________
Hack Mini (2.7ghz, 3.9ghz turbo, HD4600, 16gb RAM, 500gb Samsung 840 EVO) in Akasa Euler case.
haravikk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 12:10 PM   #12
Xian Zhu Xuande
macrumors 6502a
 
Xian Zhu Xuande's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by haravikk View Post
Also, I'm not sure if SSD's with garbage collection need TRIM enabled? It shouldn't have any real effect, though since the controller can just ignore TRIM requests if it has some other mechanism enabled.
TRIM enables the garbage collection process to remove data from deleted files, reducing the amount of read/write operations involved in freeing up pages. So TRIM makes garbage collection more efficient and reduces the strain it places on the SSD in the long run. (This is an oversimplification, and there are other factors to consider between controllers, but hopefully it makes sense).

And yeah, many people have had problems with TRIM enabled on OWC SSDs. This doesn't mean those drives wouldn't have benefited from TRIM, however, and by design it should be less important on those drives than, say, on the Crucial M4. But a cynical person could observe less than sincere reasons why OWC might be inclined to say it is completely unnecessary.
Xian Zhu Xuande is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 01:39 PM   #13
wonderspark
macrumors 68030
 
wonderspark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oregon
I've had my Crucial M4 boot drive going now for six months or so without trim, and it still gets the same speeds during tests as before I cloned my OS on it. I only use 98GB out of the 256GB available, and frequently drag large files on the desktop before relocating them to other drives, but other than that I never "fill it up" or anything.

That said, I haven't had any issues, either. Apps boot quick, nothing hangs or gets glitchy... nothing. (Knock on wood, right?) If something were to start screwing up on my M4, I'd try it then. Until then, I subscribe to "if it ain't broke, don't fix it."
__________________
Wait a second... So you're telling me anything that happens in the sky is legal, and there's a giant crime-blimp flying around this place? I don't know how I missed that.
wonderspark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 02:17 PM   #14
ogs
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by wonderspark View Post
I've had my Crucial M4 boot drive going now for six months or so without trim, and it still gets the same speeds during tests as before I cloned my OS on it. I only use 98GB out of the 256GB available, and frequently drag large files on the desktop before relocating them to other drives, but other than that I never "fill it up" or anything.

That said, I haven't had any issues, either. Apps boot quick, nothing hangs or gets glitchy... nothing. (Knock on wood, right?) If something were to start screwing up on my M4, I'd try it then. Until then, I subscribe to "if it ain't broke, don't fix it."
i would agree if it ain't broke don't fix it.

how do i check the speed of the drive?
ogs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 03:02 PM   #15
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I use AJA System Test. But it does not work in Lion thanks to Apple's new filesystem issues. You can partition and run the test on that blank partition though.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 04:55 PM   #16
kirkbross
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles
I clean-installed Lion on an Vertex 3... is TRIM automatically enabled in Lion or do I need to manually enable it?
__________________
2008 Mac Pro 2x2.8GHz | 8 GB RAM | HD5770 | Lion on 120GB Vertex 2 | 3 x 1TB Seagates
kirkbross is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 07:26 PM   #17
Xian Zhu Xuande
macrumors 6502a
 
Xian Zhu Xuande's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirkbross View Post
I clean-installed Lion on an Vertex 3... is TRIM automatically enabled in Lion or do I need to manually enable it?
TRIM is only auto-enabled on Apple-provided SSDs. You basically have to use a hack to enable it on third-party SSDs.
Xian Zhu Xuande is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 07:29 PM   #18
TheGdog
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina, USA
Thats why I got a drive that has the sandforce chipset in it. Fixes that problem.
__________________
Macbook 6.1 - 8Gb Ram - OWC SSD (personal) 13" Macbook Air 2013 (Work) iPhone 5S - Verizon iPad Mini
TheGdog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 08:54 PM   #19
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGdog View Post
Thats why I got a drive that has the sandforce chipset in it. Fixes that problem.
So the question was do you need trim?

Not does the sandforce controller that comes in most SSD's better than all the rest....

By the way just about every modern SSD has garbage collection, and sandforce based SSD's don't play all that well with Mac's. To update the firmware on OCZ, OWC and most other SF based drives require a linux distro and patience. Crucial has Mac Firmware updates..
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 09:18 PM   #20
TheGdog
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
So the question was do you need trim?

Not does the sandforce controller that comes in most SSD's better than all the rest....

By the way just about every modern SSD has garbage collection, and sandforce based SSD's don't play all that well with Mac's. To update the firmware on OCZ, OWC and most other SF based drives require a linux distro and patience. Crucial has Mac Firmware updates..
OWC has mac firmware updates. When I did the research to buy my SSD I read several places that the OWC with sand force was the way to go on a mac.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xian Zhu Xuande View Post
TRIM enables the garbage collection process to remove data from deleted files, reducing the amount of read/write operations involved in freeing up pages. So TRIM makes garbage collection more efficient and reduces the strain it places on the SSD in the long run. (This is an oversimplification, and there are other factors to consider between controllers, but hopefully it makes sense).
Here is a question. What would be the effect of secure emptying trash? Doesn't that write 0s over the deleted files?
__________________
Macbook 6.1 - 8Gb Ram - OWC SSD (personal) 13" Macbook Air 2013 (Work) iPhone 5S - Verizon iPad Mini

Last edited by TheGdog; Jul 4, 2012 at 09:26 PM.
TheGdog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 09:25 PM   #21
Apple Corps
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: California
Not sure what research you did - but based on my experience the OWC ssd with Sandforce does NOT play well with the Mac Pro.

It is a poor choice.
Apple Corps is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 09:31 PM   #22
TheGdog
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apple Corps View Post
Not sure what research you did - but based on my experience the OWC ssd with Sandforce does NOT play well with the Mac Pro.

It is a poor choice.
Of course I use it in a macbook, maybe there is a controller difference? Not sure.
__________________
Macbook 6.1 - 8Gb Ram - OWC SSD (personal) 13" Macbook Air 2013 (Work) iPhone 5S - Verizon iPad Mini
TheGdog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 01:34 AM   #23
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGdog View Post
OWC has mac firmware updates. When I did the research to buy my SSD I read several places that the OWC with sand force was the way to go on a mac.



Here is a question. What would be the effect of secure emptying trash? Doesn't that write 0s over the deleted files?
They involve booting into Linux with a live CD. What they've done is package the solution that has always been out there.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 01:43 AM   #24
thatoneguy82
macrumors Demi-God
 
thatoneguy82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Beach Cities, CA
I didn't know about TRIM until a few days ago and I really don't know much about it. All I know is that it is good to have. I have a mid-2010 MBP with a crucial m4. It constantly would act up and report wrong freespace after I delete big files or a lot of files. To reclaim the space, I would need to go into recovery and repair it. I figured TRIM would be good and may save me from this, since it will just be writing over the same area. But, who knows. Enabling it was simple, it took <2 mins. I downloaded TrimEnabler, switched it on, restarted. Done. System Info now says TRIM is enabled.
__________________
- Christian
"Pain demands to be felt."
17MBP(6,1), iP6 (128GB), iPad3, ATV, TC, APE AmazonFTV
thatoneguy82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 02:35 AM   #25
Demigod Mac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
SSDs with a Sandforce Controller (OCZ, OWC, Corsair) don't need TRIM because they do the garbage collection themselves.

Others, you'll want to enable it.
Demigod Mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on "TRIM" if I run Parallels sniffs MacBook Pro 5 Jan 28, 2014 09:13 PM
Is Quicktime "Trim".....Lossless Editing LeandrodaFL Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jan 7, 2014 10:19 AM
SSDs with "onboard" TRIM theEconomist MacBook Pro 8 Dec 22, 2013 10:24 AM
Is "restoring" and "deleting all content" the same thing? SunnyRenegade33 iPhone 3 Dec 27, 2012 10:23 AM
Looking for the "enable TRIM" command lines. Zandra with Z Mac mini 8 Oct 20, 2012 06:00 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC