Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 4, 2012, 01:35 PM   #1
SRLMJ23
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Syracuse, New York
Whats a good free virus, malware scanner for Mac OS X?

I think I might have some virus or malware and I'd like to scan my Mac but I'm new to OSX so I don't know any free scanners that are reliable. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!
__________________
2013 “The New MacBook Air” 11 Inch, iPhone 5 Slate 32gb, iPad Mini Retina Slate 16gb WiFi, Apple TV (Revision 3), iPod Touch White 32gb (4th Generation), iPod Video 5th Generation 32gb.
SRLMJ23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 01:36 PM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRLMJ23 View Post
I think I might have some virus or malware and I'd like to scan my Mac but I'm new to OSX so I don't know any free scanners that are reliable. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!
What makes you think you have malware?

Macs are not immune to malware, but no true viruses exist in the wild that can run on Mac OS X, and there never have been any since it was released over 10 years ago. The only malware in the wild that can affect Mac OS X is a handful of trojans, which can be easily avoided by practicing safe computing (see below). Also, Mac OS X Snow Leopard and Lion have anti-malware protection built in, further reducing the need for 3rd party antivirus apps.
Mac Virus/Malware FAQ
  1. Make sure your built-in Mac firewall is enabled in System Preferences > Security > Firewall

  2. Uncheck "Open "safe" files after downloading" in Safari > Preferences > General

  3. Disable Java in your browser (Safari, Chrome, Firefox). This will protect you from malware that exploits Java in your browser, including the recent Flashback trojan. Leave Java disabled until you visit a trusted site that requires it, then re-enable only for the duration of your visit to that site. (This is not to be confused with JavaScript, which you should leave enabled.)

  4. Change your DNS servers to OpenDNS servers by reading this.

  5. Be careful to only install software from trusted, reputable sites. Never install pirated software. If you're not sure about an app, ask in this forum before installing.

  6. Never let someone else have access to install anything on your Mac.

  7. Don't open files that you receive from unknown or untrusted sources.

  8. For added security, make sure all network, email, financial and other important passwords are long and complex, including upper and lower case letters, numbers and special characters.

  9. Always keep your Mac and application software updated. Use Software Update for your Mac software. For other software, it's safer to get updates from the developer's site or from the menu item "Check for updates", rather than installing from any notification window that pops up while you're surfing the web.
That's all you need to do to keep your Mac completely free of any Mac OS X malware that has ever been released into the wild. While you may elect to use it, 3rd party antivirus software is not required to keep your Mac malware-free.

If you still want to run antivirus for some reason, ClamXav (which is free) is one of the best choices, since it isn't a resource hog, detects both Mac and Windows malware and doesn't run with elevated privileges. You can run scans when you choose, rather than leaving it running all the time, slowing your system. ClamXav has a Sentry feature which, if enabled, will use significant system resources to constantly scan. Disable the Sentry feature. You don't need it. Also, when you first install ClamXav, as with many antivirus apps, it may perform an initial full system scan, which will consume resources. Once the initial scan is complete, periodic on-demand scans will have much lower demands on resources.
GGJstudios is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 02:15 PM   #3
SRLMJ23
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Syracuse, New York
I think I have something because every now and then something pops up on my desktop but it pops up so quick I can't even see what it is...I don't know if its part of a program I have installed (I was thinking MS Outlook) but who knows...id rather scan and be safe than have something and do nothing about it.

Any thoughts???
__________________
2013 “The New MacBook Air” 11 Inch, iPhone 5 Slate 32gb, iPad Mini Retina Slate 16gb WiFi, Apple TV (Revision 3), iPod Touch White 32gb (4th Generation), iPod Video 5th Generation 32gb.
SRLMJ23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 02:17 PM   #4
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRLMJ23 View Post
I think I have something because every now and then something pops up on my desktop but it pops up so quick I can't even see what it is...I don't know if its part of a program I have installed (I was thinking MS Outlook) but who knows...id rather scan and be safe than have something and do nothing about it.

Any thoughts???
Unless you've been installing pirated software or careless about entering your admin password, your chances of having malware on your Mac are extremely slim. There are many legitimate reasons why something could pop up, without malware being involved. Unless you know what the popup is, it's difficult to know for sure.
  1. Launch Activity Monitor
  2. Change "My Processes" at the top to "All Processes"
  3. Click on the CPU column heading once or twice, so the arrow points downward (highest values on top).
  4. Click on the System Memory tab at the bottom.
  5. Take a screen shot of the whole Activity Monitor window, then scroll down to see the rest of the list, take another screen shot
  6. Post your screenshots.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 02:35 PM   #5
SRLMJ23
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Syracuse, New York
Stupid question but how do I take a screenshot??
__________________
2013 “The New MacBook Air” 11 Inch, iPhone 5 Slate 32gb, iPad Mini Retina Slate 16gb WiFi, Apple TV (Revision 3), iPod Touch White 32gb (4th Generation), iPod Video 5th Generation 32gb.
SRLMJ23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 02:36 PM   #6
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRLMJ23 View Post
Stupid question but how do I take a screenshot??
Did you try clicking the link I posted? Click on the words "screen shot" in my post.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 02:46 PM   #7
SRLMJ23
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Syracuse, New York
Here you go, hope I did it right. Also, the scan came back negative for any malware/virus'.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-07-04 at 3.44.55 PM.png
Views:	3375
Size:	321.6 KB
ID:	346558  
__________________
2013 “The New MacBook Air” 11 Inch, iPhone 5 Slate 32gb, iPad Mini Retina Slate 16gb WiFi, Apple TV (Revision 3), iPod Touch White 32gb (4th Generation), iPod Video 5th Generation 32gb.
SRLMJ23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 02:51 PM   #8
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRLMJ23 View Post
Also, the scan came back negative for any malware/virus'.
I'm not surprised. As I said, malware is not your problem. I don't see anything running that would contribute significantly to slow performance. However, you've got some page outs showing in your System Memory tab, which could indicate a need for more RAM. You have 2GB, which is pretty low for many users, especially running Lion. If the computer you're using is the MBA in your signature, you're stuck with the RAM you have, so you'll have to take some steps to get the most out of the resources you have. This may help:
Performance Tips For Mac OS X
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 02:55 PM   #9
SRLMJ23
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Syracuse, New York
I haven't restarted in a while, however, I have a MacBook Air 2011 and was under the impression that I could not add RAM...so I guess I am stuck with the 2GB (unless you tell me different.) I really appreciate your help at least I know that nothing is wrong with my Mac which I absolutely LOVE!
__________________
2013 “The New MacBook Air” 11 Inch, iPhone 5 Slate 32gb, iPad Mini Retina Slate 16gb WiFi, Apple TV (Revision 3), iPod Touch White 32gb (4th Generation), iPod Video 5th Generation 32gb.
SRLMJ23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 03:03 PM   #10
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRLMJ23 View Post
I haven't restarted in a while, however, I have a MacBook Air 2011 and was under the impression that I could not add RAM...so I guess I am stuck with the 2GB (unless you tell me different.) I really appreciate your help at least I know that nothing is wrong with my Mac which I absolutely LOVE!
As I said, you're stuck with the RAM you have. Go through the performance tips. That should help.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 03:21 PM   #11
SRLMJ23
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Syracuse, New York
I restarted and have several programs open that I use almost all the time and my "page outs" is currently at 0 bytes...system has been up and running for about 15 minutes so maybe I am good there?? I'll go through your performance tips and see what I can do. I appreciate your help bro, thank you so much!
__________________
2013 “The New MacBook Air” 11 Inch, iPhone 5 Slate 32gb, iPad Mini Retina Slate 16gb WiFi, Apple TV (Revision 3), iPod Touch White 32gb (4th Generation), iPod Video 5th Generation 32gb.
SRLMJ23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 03:55 PM   #12
SRLMJ23
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Syracuse, New York
Another question: Is there a way to stop OSX from turning off my Wi-Fi when my computer goes to sleep or whatever it does after like 10 minutes. When it turns back on from sleep the wi-fi has to reconnect and though it only takes a few seconds id prefer it to be connected at all times.
__________________
2013 “The New MacBook Air” 11 Inch, iPhone 5 Slate 32gb, iPad Mini Retina Slate 16gb WiFi, Apple TV (Revision 3), iPod Touch White 32gb (4th Generation), iPod Video 5th Generation 32gb.
SRLMJ23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2012, 03:57 PM   #13
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRLMJ23 View Post
Another question: Is there a way to stop OSX from turning off my Wi-Fi when my computer goes to sleep or whatever it does after like 10 minutes. When it turns back on from sleep the wi-fi has to reconnect and though it only takes a few seconds id prefer it to be connected at all times.
There's no way your computer can remain connected to WiFi when it's in sleep mode. You just have to be patient to wait a few seconds after waking, so it can reconnect.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2014, 03:26 PM   #14
qamayrani
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
Unless you've been installing pirated software or careless about entering your admin password, your chances of having malware on your Mac are extremely slim. There are many legitimate reasons why something could pop up, without malware being involved. Unless you know what the popup is, it's difficult to know for sure.
  1. Launch Activity Monitor
  2. Change "My Processes" at the top to "All Processes"
  3. Click on the CPU column heading once or twice, so the arrow points downward (highest values on top).
  4. Click on the System Memory tab at the bottom.
  5. Take a screen shot of the whole Activity Monitor window, then scroll down to see the rest of the list, take another screen shot
  6. Post your screenshots.
i think i may have malware how could i check for it?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by SRLMJ23 View Post
Here you go, hope I did it right. Also, the scan came back negative for any malware/virus'.
What did you use to scan for malware?
qamayrani is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2014, 03:41 PM   #15
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by qamayrani View Post
i think i may have malware how could i check for it?
What makes you think you have malware? You can use ClamXav to scan for malware.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 05:21 PM   #16
AppleRus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
I use Sophos it's great it blocks pages that have threats to your mac and protects your mac really well and there's also another one called avast!
AppleRus is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2014, 06:45 PM   #17
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleRus View Post
I use Sophos it's great it blocks pages that have threats to your mac and protects your mac really well and there's also another one called avast!
I recommend avoiding Sophos, as it can actually increase a Mac's vulnerability, as described here and here. 3rd party antivirus apps are not needed to keep a Mac malware-free, as long as the user practices safe computing, as described in the following link.
Mac Virus/Malware FAQ
If you need to perform a scan for some reason, ClamXav (which is free) is one of the best choices, since it isn't a resource hog, detects both Mac and Windows malware and doesn't run with elevated privileges.

Also, websites do not threaten your Mac. Failure to practice safe computing does.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2014, 01:57 PM   #18
Johnchapin
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boulder
akamaihd

What about the akamaihd malware? Does it count as infecting the OS or the browsers? Would Noscript for Firefox block it?
Johnchapin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2014, 02:45 PM   #19
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnchapin View Post
What about the akamaihd malware? Does it count as infecting the OS or the browsers? Would Noscript for Firefox block it?
It is a JavaScript that runs in the browser. It does not affect OS X, but rather redirects your browser to unwanted sites. Resetting your browser, clearing the cookies and cache should remove it. NoScript may block it, but I haven't tried it, as I use Safari.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2014, 05:07 PM   #20
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnchapin View Post
What about the akamaihd malware? Does it count as infecting the OS or the browsers? Would Noscript for Firefox block it?
That is adware and you likely got tricked into installing it along with the GoPhoto.it Firefox extension.

You can either remove it manually following this guide. Or you can use the adware removal tool here to do it for you. Note the section in the middle of the page talking about GoPhoto.it.
Weaselboy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2014, 06:07 PM   #21
Johnchapin
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boulder
Akamaihd solved with Noscript

Thanks for the help. Noscript sure seems to help. The odd thing is I have to allow akamaihd.net to get Facebook to load photos. It was fbstatic.akamaihd that was stopping Facebook from loading at all.
Johnchapin is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Virus/Malware FAQ doubledee Mac Basics and Help 6 May 8, 2014 05:57 PM
Have I got a virus or malware etc? bluewomble88 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 Jan 22, 2014 04:49 PM
Virus / malware and how to fix it guido.coza Mac Basics and Help 5 May 22, 2013 11:21 AM
Need a virus scanner for Mac (I've dreaded this day...) TijmenDal Mac Applications and Mac App Store 17 Mar 27, 2013 05:17 AM
Kaspersky Virus Scanner for Mac - Incompatible? bit50man OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Jul 28, 2012 11:09 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC