Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 5, 2012, 10:23 AM   #1
kbmb
macrumors 68030
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NH
Macs older than 2011 can't use Airplay Mirroring in ML

http://www.cultofmac.com/177259/why-...mountain-lion/

Wow....this sucks.

-Kevin
__________________
2010 Mac Pro 2.8 Quad, 27" ACD - Mid 2012 MacBook Air
kbmb is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 10:50 AM   #2
AppleInLVX
macrumors 6502a
 
AppleInLVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Whaaaaaaaaat?! This is the feature I was looking forward to the most. I have a late 2010 i5 27" iMac. If this doesn't work I'm going to be royally pissed.
__________________
27" iMac mid-2010; iPhone 6; iPod Touch--4th Gen, 1st Gen, Nano 2011, Classic 2008; TV 3; iPad Air.
AppleInLVX is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 10:57 AM   #3
chevalier433
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Yeah.. every year apple want us to buy a new mac those of us who have quad core iMac i don't see any reason not to be supported.
__________________
ML 10.8.5 iMac 27" mid-2010 i7,12GB RAM,Samsung 830 Striped RAID,eSATA G-RAID | IOS 7 iPhone 4S 64GB | i7 Haswell Hackintosh ML 10.8.5 / Win 8.1
chevalier433 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 12:54 PM   #4
pdjudd
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Plymouth, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleInLVX View Post
Whaaaaaaaaat?! This is the feature I was looking forward to the most. I have a late 2010 i5 27" iMac. If this doesn't work I'm going to be royally pissed.
It has to be a Mid 2011 iMac due to the hardware features.
pdjudd is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 12:59 PM   #5
MarcBook
macrumors 6502a
 
MarcBook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands
Oh man, this sucks, but I'm really glad that I held off on my MacBook Pro purchase until the Sandy Bridge refresh...
__________________
MacBook Air (13-inch, Early 2014) - 1.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 256GB Flash
iPhone 6 - 64GB Space Grey
MarcBook is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 04:42 PM   #6
AppleInLVX
macrumors 6502a
 
AppleInLVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdjudd View Post
It has to be a Mid 2011 iMac due to the hardware features.
Then this is the first time since I joined the Apple faithful that I can honestly say they've lost my respect. I don't care HOW much you plan for obsolescence, there is no way that new software should not be backward compatible for at least a couple years. That's *************.

I suppose that I will have to do something I thought I'd never have to do and jailbreak the Apple TV or crack the OS with the inevitable non-Apple 'fix' to correct this seriously idiotic Apple contrived blunder.

Thanks Cupertino. That's strike 1.
__________________
27" iMac mid-2010; iPhone 6; iPod Touch--4th Gen, 1st Gen, Nano 2011, Classic 2008; TV 3; iPad Air.
AppleInLVX is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 04:53 PM   #7
AlanShutko
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleInLVX View Post
Then this is the first time since I joined the Apple faithful that I can honestly say they've lost my respect.
That's because you don't know WHY they're not supporting it, you're just assuming it's because they didn't want to. Read this thread, it's because they require Intel QuickSync support.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1325897
AlanShutko is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 05:16 PM   #8
UKBeast
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Turkey
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanShutko View Post
That's because you don't know WHY they're not supporting it, you're just assuming it's because they didn't want to. Read this thread, it's because they require Intel QuickSync support.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1325897
Airparrot can do without quicksync why cannot tim cook ?
__________________
13'' MBP Core2Duo 2.4Ghz, 4GB Ram + 128 GB SSD
Apple TV 3, iPod Shuffle 2GB 4th Gen
iPAD 3rd Gen 16gb WiFi
iPhone 5
UKBeast is offline   -3 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 05:20 PM   #9
kbmb
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NH
Quote:
Originally Posted by UKBeast View Post
Airparrot can do without quicksync why cannot tim cook ?
One word.....Hollywood.

NEVERMIND....looks like it's more processor based encoding rather than DRM

-Kevin
__________________
2010 Mac Pro 2.8 Quad, 27" ACD - Mid 2012 MacBook Air

Last edited by kbmb; Jul 5, 2012 at 05:44 PM.
kbmb is offline   -5 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 05:33 PM   #10
mopatops
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
AirPlay Requires a special part of the processor (Intel QuickSync) whereas AirParrot is software based. On pre-2011 Macs Apple would have to use a similar process as AirParrot which is more intensive and likely to ramp up the fans. It's entirely possible to implement, but Apple are known to not release something that doesn't work to their standards.
mopatops is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 05:39 PM   #11
AlanShutko
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by UKBeast View Post
Airparrot can do without quicksync why cannot tim cook ?
As people in the thread posted, use Airparrot and you'll find out. It's a bit jerky and has a high CPU load.
AlanShutko is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 05:48 PM   #12
kbmb
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NH
As someone pointed out in the other thread....here's the official list of supported Macs for Airplay:

AirPlay Mirroring
Requires a second-generation Apple TV or later. Supports the following Mac models:

iMac (Mid 2011 or newer)
Mac mini (Mid 2011 or newer)
MacBook Air (Mid 2011 or newer)
MacBook Pro (Early 2011 or newer)

From: http://www.apple.com/osx/specs/

-Kevin
__________________
2010 Mac Pro 2.8 Quad, 27" ACD - Mid 2012 MacBook Air
kbmb is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 05:57 PM   #13
Sky Blue
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Yes, this has been known since Feb.
Sky Blue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 05:58 PM   #14
kbmb
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NH
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky Blue View Post
Yes, this has been known since Feb.
Thanks....didn't know it until now.

-Kevin
__________________
2010 Mac Pro 2.8 Quad, 27" ACD - Mid 2012 MacBook Air
kbmb is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 06:14 PM   #15
mopatops
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
One word.....Hollywood.

NEVERMIND....looks like it's more processor based encoding rather than DRM

-Kevin
Maybe I'm ignorant but does DRM stand for something other than digital rights management?
mopatops is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 06:16 PM   #16
kbmb
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NH
Quote:
Originally Posted by mopatops View Post
Maybe I'm ignorant but does DRM stand for something other than digital rights management?
It does stand for Digital Radio Mondiale....but that's not what I was referring to. Regardless....I read an incorrect article claiming Quicksync is DRM.

-Kevin
__________________
2010 Mac Pro 2.8 Quad, 27" ACD - Mid 2012 MacBook Air
kbmb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 06:19 PM   #17
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: The New World
This was really about the only reason I wanted to upgrade to ML. Now I am considering downgrading to Snow Leopard, because I didn't really gain anything from from Lion.
__________________
SandboxGeneral is online now   -5 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 06:23 PM   #18
kbmb
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NH
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
This was really about the only reason I wanted to upgrade to ML. Now I am considering downgrading to Snow Leopard, because I didn't really gain anything from from Lion.
Yeah and what sucks is neither of these pages mention the restriction:
http://www.apple.com/osx/whats-new/
http://www.apple.com/osx/whats-new/features.html

You have to view the tech specs page for it.

I see a trend with Apple....announce all these new features....but wait to read the specs pages to see if you "really" get them.

-Kevin
__________________
2010 Mac Pro 2.8 Quad, 27" ACD - Mid 2012 MacBook Air
kbmb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 06:48 PM   #19
mopatops
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
It does stand for Digital Radio Mondiale....but that's not what I was referring to. Regardless....I read an incorrect article claiming Quicksync is DRM.

-Kevin
Fair enough.
mopatops is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 06:50 PM   #20
clukas
macrumors 6502a
 
clukas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
this sucks. In this case Im glad I did not purchase an Apple TV.
__________________
 iMac 27 (Late 2012)  13" MacBook Pro Retina (Late 2013)  iPhone 5  iPad 4 ATV
clukas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 08:16 PM   #21
chevalier433
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ukbeast View Post
airparrot can do without quicksync why cannot tim cook ?
+1
__________________
ML 10.8.5 iMac 27" mid-2010 i7,12GB RAM,Samsung 830 Striped RAID,eSATA G-RAID | IOS 7 iPhone 4S 64GB | i7 Haswell Hackintosh ML 10.8.5 / Win 8.1
chevalier433 is offline   -3 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 08:52 PM   #22
TheGdog
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by UKBeast View Post
Airparrot can do without quicksync why cannot tim cook ?
If airparrot works so well then why not just use that? If it does not work all that great then there's your answer!

I have never used it but based on the posts that I have read it is not all that great. Don't blame apple for taking advantage of newer hardware. Its clearly a hardware limitation, there has already been a long thread about this.
__________________
Macbook 6.1 - 8Gb Ram - OWC SSD (personal) 13" Macbook Air 2013 (Work) iPhone 5S - Verizon iPad Mini
TheGdog is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 09:13 PM   #23
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
AirParrot is a sloth compared to what AirPlay with hardware support can do.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2012, 06:21 AM   #24
chevalier433
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGdog View Post
If airparrot works so well then why not just use that? If it does not work all that great then there's your answer!

I have never used it but based on the posts that I have read it is not all that great. Don't blame apple for taking advantage of newer hardware. Its clearly a hardware limitation, there has already been a long thread about this.
You think apple couldn't optimize the software to support older hardware even with slower performance sure can but its all about marketing and money.
__________________
ML 10.8.5 iMac 27" mid-2010 i7,12GB RAM,Samsung 830 Striped RAID,eSATA G-RAID | IOS 7 iPhone 4S 64GB | i7 Haswell Hackintosh ML 10.8.5 / Win 8.1
chevalier433 is offline   -3 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2012, 06:49 AM   #25
mopatops
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by chevalier433 View Post
You think apple couldn't optimize the software to support older hardware even with slower performance sure can but its all about marketing and money.
I agree that while Apple are a business and do exclude new features from old products to drive people to upgrade, (read Siri, iCloud requiring Lion etc) it seems that this is not the case here. As stated by multiple posters, you only need to look at AirParrot to see how AirPlay would perform on pre-2011 Macs. It's not a matter of optimisation, it just can't run at an acceptable quality if it is software based.
mopatops is offline   2 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why hasn't Apple introduced Airplay, not just Airplay mirroring? icebergx Apple TV and Home Theater 28 Feb 22, 2014 07:11 PM
Increased Airplay Support for Older Macs (iTunes 11) wrestler9111 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Dec 12, 2012 03:58 PM
Increased Airplay Support for Older Macs (x-post from Applications thread) wrestler9111 OS X 0 Dec 12, 2012 03:56 PM
Mid 2011 airplay mirroring slow and jerky Richard200sx iMac 6 Sep 9, 2012 01:40 PM
Airplay Mirroring only supported 2011 or newer? colbertnation OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Jul 25, 2012 05:00 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC