Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sairo

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 25, 2012
The Netherlands, Almere
Hello,

I am fairly new to the Apple scene when it comes to OS so I was looking for some help/info,

I'm planning on putting an SSD in my optibay and keep my current HD in it's place, so I have both performance and storage.
But i'm not sure how Mac handles 2 hard drives so Im looking for clearification.

I've been a Windows user for over 10 years now and I know that when you add extra drives they just show up under Computer as storage. You can install programs on them, store data in own made folders and as far as I know you can link folders from Documents to the extra drives.
How do the folders work on OS X? I mean like will I see documents, music, images, downloads on both drives? Or will my HD just be an empty storage drive? If it's option 1, how do I manage to replicate those folders/files to my HD so I use less space on my SSD? I've been seeing the word symlink come by a few times but it doesn't made any sence to me yet.

I hope you guys can help me with this tricky Q.
It's making my brains spin(everything about mac is so trickt +().

Thanks in advance.

Benbikeman

macrumors 6502a
May 17, 2011
London, England
It just shows up on your desktop as an empty drive.

I'm not sure whether you can install apps on it (I've never tried), but other than that it acts just like the main drive. You can simply copy files and folders onto it as you would with any other drive.

alphaod

macrumors Core
Feb 9, 2008
NYC
You can do whatever you want. You can install programs or even the whole OS to another drive, be it internal or external.

Symlinks is just fancy talk for creating shortcuts.

As for showing up, as with Windows, you need to format any new drives first. On OS X, this usually done in Disk Utility.

Sairo

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 25, 2012
The Netherlands, Almere