Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 10, 2012, 01:24 PM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
gfxCardStatus Allows Easy Control of MacBook Pro Graphics Cards




gfxCardStatus allows users to control which graphics card is enabled -- integrated or discrete -- on MacBook Pro models with multiple graphics cards. By more precisely controlling when each graphics card is enabled, users can improve system performance or battery life. gfxCardStatus is a menu bar application for OS X that allows MacBook Pro owners to view which GPU is in use at a glance, and switch between them on-demand.




Ars Technica has much more, including the fact that the Retina MacBook Pro can be pushed to nearly 10 hours of battery life with some minor battery saving techniques:
Quote:
I was consistently able to get between 8 and 8.5 hours of continuous use from the Retina MacBook Pro when running integrated graphics only. Turning down screen brightness to just two "dots," a technique I often use to maximize battery life when using a MacBook Air during conferences, caused OS X to report potential battery life as high as 10 hours. I simply didn't have the stamina to test that claim, but I did make one nine-hour run with OS X reporting a nine percent remaining battery capacity.
gfxCardStatus is a free download from creator Cody Krieger's website.

Article Link: gfxCardStatus Allows Easy Control of MacBook Pro Graphics Cards
MacRumors is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 01:28 PM   #2
Skika
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I have been using this for a while now on my early 2011 MBP. It works good, i only wish it could somehow force the integrated HD3000 when connected to an external display. Because now it always goes to the discrete with an external display.
__________________
MacBook Pro, iPad, iPhone
Skika is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 01:37 PM   #3
AriX
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Send a message via AIM to AriX Send a message via Skype™ to AriX
I've been using this for years on my mid-2010 MBP... I think I first found it in a thread on this site.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro with Retina display. iPhone 5. Mac/iOS developer.
@AriX
AriX is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 01:43 PM   #4
kockgunner
macrumors 68000
 
kockgunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, Canada
This app saved me when by 2010 MBP with the 330GT graphics card's display kept turning black only solved by a reboot. The problem didn't appear on the Intel chip so I used this program to keep it on Intel until I had the chance to go to the Apple store to replace the logic board.
__________________
2010 15" MBP | iPhone 4 16GB | PB G4 12" 1.33 Ghz, 768MB RAM, replacement 30GB HDD
kockgunner is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 01:45 PM   #5
yetanotherdave
macrumors 68000
 
yetanotherdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bristol, England
Send a message via AIM to yetanotherdave Send a message via MSN to yetanotherdave Send a message via Yahoo to yetanotherdave
I'll try this out on my mid 2009 mbp, where you have to log out, back in to switch cards... not hoping for much, but it'd be very nice!

edit: Wow! It works! Or at least claims to, will have to do some testing. Why can't apple make it work this easy??????
__________________
It's just a ride, & we can change it anytime we want. It's only a choice. No effort, no work, no job, no savings & money. A choice, right now, between fear and love. - Bill Hicks
yetanotherdave is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 02:29 PM   #6
Concorde Rules
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skika View Post
I have been using this for a while now on my early 2011 MBP. It works good, i only wish it could somehow force the integrated HD3000 when connected to an external display. Because now it always goes to the discrete with an external display.
You can't physically do that IIRC.

Makes sense too, as if your at a desk your likely to be plugged in to the mains so why does it matter the dGPU is running or not?
Concorde Rules is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 02:40 PM   #7
Battlefield Fan
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
I installed this program about 2 months ago. Love it when traveling as it helps to ensure that I save battery life!
Battlefield Fan is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 03:11 PM   #8
Kilamite
macrumors G3
 
Kilamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Scotland
I've found that using the integrated card can sometimes lower battery life if there's graphic intensive things going on.

Would this make sense? The discrete would do the same using less power, but draws more power when doing near idling graphics tasks?
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 2GHz i7 8GB 750GB Hybrid | Mac mini 2.3GHz i7 16GB 1TB Fusion | OS X 10.10
iPhone 5 64GB | Apple TV 3 1080p | iOS 7.1.2
Home Theatre Hackintosh i3 3.5GHz 4GB 3TB | OS X 10.9
Kilamite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 03:24 PM   #9
The-Pro
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilamite View Post
I've found that using the integrated card can sometimes lower battery life if there's graphic intensive things going on.

Would this make sense? The discrete would do the same using less power, but draws more power when doing near idling graphics tasks?
Yes I have found that too. Its because when on the integrated, the CPU will do more work and that needs to work much harder than a GPU for the same result. When on the dedicated GPU the CPU is just resting there and the discrete GPU does the graphics work. I tested it ages ago, cant remember with what, and the CPU usage went from 5% to 40% when keeping on integrated, and down to 5-10% when back on dedicated.

I have been using gfxCardStatus since it was released and recommending it to users here on the forum, excellent tool, I am able to get 8-9 hours from my 15" MBP with minimal usage, integrated GPU only, low brightness.
__________________
2012 15" 2.6 i7 AG MBP, 2009 17" AG MBP, 2009 8C 2.26 MP, 2010 4c MP,2010+07 MM, 17" 2007 MBP,20" iMac G5,17" PB G4,4x30"CD,2x23" CD, G3's,G4's, 17"iMac g4,iMac G3 turquoise,macintoshes dating to 1985
The-Pro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 03:25 PM   #10
NY Guitarist
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Awesome!

This is very useful for me when I'm on my 2008 MBP.
NY Guitarist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 03:39 PM   #11
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Concorde Rules View Post
Makes sense too, as if your at a desk your likely to be plugged in to the mains so why does it matter the dGPU is running or not?
Because most of the time the dGPU runs hotter than the integrated GPU hence my computer spends more time sounding like a jet engine.
alphaod is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 04:56 PM   #12
Concorde Rules
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by alphaod View Post
Because most of the time the dGPU runs hotter than the integrated GPU hence my computer spends more time sounding like a jet engine.
Exaggeration?

Your fans don't suddenly go to 4000+RPM just because you've turned the dGPU on.

In-fact, I've just turned my dDPU on for 5 minutes and the fan speeds didn't change one bit.
Concorde Rules is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 05:25 PM   #13
D.T.
macrumors 68030
 
D.T.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Vilano Beach, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Concorde Rules View Post
You can't physically do that IIRC.

Makes sense too, as if your at a desk your likely to be plugged in to the mains so why does it matter the dGPU is running or not?
Yeah, I believe the DP/TB port is only connected to the dGPU (so the iGPU is effectively “isolated”).

Love the new[er] version of gfxCS with the popup mode switch indicator. It’s interesting to watch when it’s on dynamic switching, and you fire up some apps and it switches back and forth a few times.
D.T. is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 05:33 PM   #14
NightStorm
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitehouse, OH
Love the app, although it seems to cause some issues with my retina Macbook Pro not sleeping properly. The dev said he has heard similar reports, but doesn't have one for him to test.
__________________
Mac Mini (2.0GHz i7) | 27" Apple TB Display
15" Macbook Pro Retina (2.3GHz i7) | 11" Macbook Air 1.4GHz
AppleTV (x2)| 32GB iPad Mini (Wi-Fi) | 32GB iPhone 5S (x2)
Netgear ReadyNAS Ultra 4+ (4x2TB)
NightStorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 05:54 PM   #15
The-Pro
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by Concorde Rules View Post
Exaggeration?

Your fans don't suddenly go to 4000+RPM just because you've turned the dGPU on.

In-fact, I've just turned my dDPU on for 5 minutes and the fan speeds didn't change one bit.
Well when an external screen in hooked up, the GPU runs at max frequencies the whole time to keep stuff cool. My 15" 2010 hooked up to a screen and doing some work, over 4000rpm the entire time, fans sin up to 4000 within a couple minutes of plugging in the screen. Usually my fans are at max.
When u just turn the dGPU on and dont do anything with it then it wont need to ramp up the fans. No work to do = no heat, simple.
__________________
2012 15" 2.6 i7 AG MBP, 2009 17" AG MBP, 2009 8C 2.26 MP, 2010 4c MP,2010+07 MM, 17" 2007 MBP,20" iMac G5,17" PB G4,4x30"CD,2x23" CD, G3's,G4's, 17"iMac g4,iMac G3 turquoise,macintoshes dating to 1985
The-Pro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 05:54 PM   #16
MasterHowl
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North of England
Send a message via Skype™ to MasterHowl
Quote:
Originally Posted by yetanotherdave View Post
I'll try this out on my mid 2009 mbp, where you have to log out, back in to switch cards... not hoping for much, but it'd be very nice!

edit: Wow! It works! Or at least claims to, will have to do some testing. Why can't apple make it work this easy??????
I have a mid-2009 MBP... thanks for posting! This is going to be very useful if it works...
MasterHowl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 05:56 PM   #17
baryon
macrumors 68030
 
baryon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
What an amazing app! Works great on my Late 2008 Unibody MBP! I can now switch to the 9600M, do some work, and then quickly switch back to 9400M before my system Kernel Panics! Before I would have had to log out each time, so I never switched to the 9600M to save time.

It's amazing how much faster Photoshop's Liquify is with the discreet GPU!
__________________
Sent from my iPod Shuffle
baryon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 09:44 PM   #18
beez1717
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Earth
yay!

I'm trying this on my new Retina MacBook Pro. I think that now that I have the option to control how my graphics are being processed, I should be getting WAY more battery life, and better gaming performance when I need it. This is just an amazing little tweak for all MacBook Pros that should have come standard with the OS.
beez1717 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 10:04 PM   #19
negativzero
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skika View Post
I have been using this for a while now on my early 2011 MBP. It works good, i only wish it could somehow force the integrated HD3000 when connected to an external display. Because now it always goes to the discrete with an external display.
No way to do this though. The Thunderbolt port is hardwired to the discrete card so you're forced to run discrete when plugged into an external
__________________
2012 15" MacBook Pro 2.6GHz | 128GB Crucial M4 SSD | 8GB Crucial RAM | Hi-Res AntiGlare
64GB iPhone 4S | 6.1.2 | Jailbroken by @evad3rs
TV 3rd generation
negativzero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 11:41 PM   #20
Stevamundo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
I absolutely love this application! With me turning on my intel 3000 graphics card and putting my MBP 2011 in sleep mode when I'm not using it, I can work literally all day with just my laptop battery EASY.

I sure hope that this application is mountain lion compatible. If not, I won't be upgrading to mountain lion until this application is compatible. That shows you how much I love this application.
__________________
Steve Harper-Webmaster: http://madentec.com/intro/
Get the latest and greatest in assistive technology.
Stevamundo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2012, 01:19 AM   #21
macpeach55
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Perfect!

Just installed it on my late 2008 MacBook Pro. Works perfectly! It was so frustrating before being in the middle of work, finding the battery was getting low, and having to log out to switch!
Will be sending a donation today for sure!

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevamundo View Post
I sure hope that this application is mountain lion compatible. If not, I won't be upgrading to mountain lion until this application is compatible. That shows you how much I love this application.
According to the Website, the latest version of this app IS Mountain Lion compatible!
macpeach55 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2012, 03:49 AM   #22
Concorde Rules
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by The-Pro View Post
Well when an external screen in hooked up, the GPU runs at max frequencies the whole time to keep stuff cool. My 15" 2010 hooked up to a screen and doing some work, over 4000rpm the entire time, fans sin up to 4000 within a couple minutes of plugging in the screen. Usually my fans are at max.
When u just turn the dGPU on and dont do anything with it then it wont need to ramp up the fans. No work to do = no heat, simple.
It doesn't run at full 3D clocks with an external monitor hooked up, it just doesn't.

It'll probably jump between 2D and low 3D clocks, neither of which suddenly produce the 10-20W of power required to continuously run your fans at 4000+ RPM.

Secondly, why are you assuming that your iGPU wouldn't be working harder than the dGPU and therefore using almost the same amount of power to drive the external display?

Having just plugged my 2560x1440 screen in for 10 minutes (whilst browsing), my fans are barely above 2000RPM
Concorde Rules is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2012, 06:41 AM   #23
doctor-don
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by AriX View Post
I've been using this for years on my mid-2010 MBP... I think I first found it in a thread on this site.
For YEARS?

----------

Quote:
on MacBook Pro models with multiple graphics cards.
How many people have multiple graphics cards?
doctor-don is offline   -6 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2012, 07:53 AM   #24
randomhkkid
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Been working great for me for the past year, I get around an hour longer with the integrated 9400m compared to the 9600m GT. Saves me from stupidly logging out and in that Apple's switching requires.
__________________
My blog for reviews and my thoughts : http://www.randomhkkid.blogspot.com
Macbook Retina 2.6ghz 512gb 8gb, Galaxy S II 1.6ghz
randomhkkid is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2012, 08:07 AM   #25
WestonHarvey1
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
On my 2010 MBP, switching to integrated graphics causes the system to freeze for several seconds at a time, and eventually a black screen with only the mouse pointer visible, necessitating a reboot.
WestonHarvey1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics Cards in New Mac Pro May Be User Replaceable MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 139 Apr 25, 2014 09:05 AM
Upgradable graphics cards in New Mac Pro? Imbalance Mac Pro 3 Dec 19, 2013 03:44 PM
Graphics Cards Mac Pro 1,1 olsend81 Mac Pro 4 Jul 14, 2013 05:31 PM
2X Graphics cards, which one is used by Final Cut Pro X? gnomeisland Digital Video 3 Mar 20, 2013 03:45 PM
gfxCardStatus for Macbook Pro with Retina Display ivanatheiguana MacBook Pro 22 Sep 5, 2012 12:25 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC