Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 11, 2012, 08:22 AM   #26
Mad-B-One
macrumors 6502a
 
Mad-B-One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southern Plains
This was pertaining to the MBP users or the last couple of years' MBP:

Quote:
Originally Posted by doctor-don View Post
How many people have multiple graphics cards?
Since some years, all of them? Did you not read the discussion? It is not a "graphics card" - since that is only possible in Mac Pros or PC (and some other, more exotic hardware). So, it is GPUs. One is integrated, the other one discrete. That is meant here. Now, why would you argue about that terminology? Virtually everyone knows what the poster meant with graphics cards: GPUs.
__________________
Join the Macrumors.com - Team Folding and donate your CPU & GPU processing power to a good cause!
Visit my YouTube channel: ThoringersTanks

Last edited by Mad-B-One; Jul 11, 2012 at 08:31 AM.
Mad-B-One is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2012, 10:59 AM   #27
The-Pro
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by Concorde Rules View Post
It doesn't run at full 3D clocks with an external monitor hooked up, it just doesn't.

It'll probably jump between 2D and low 3D clocks, neither of which suddenly produce the 10-20W of power required to continuously run your fans at 4000+ RPM.

Secondly, why are you assuming that your iGPU wouldn't be working harder than the dGPU and therefore using almost the same amount of power to drive the external display?

Having just plugged my 2560x1440 screen in for 10 minutes (whilst browsing), my fans are barely above 2000RPM
Well I had an application, forget what its called and no longer have it installed, that showed the current clock frequencies. When my 30" ACD was connected GPU clock went from 175MHz to 475MHz (25 under the max of 500). Thats pretty close to the max Moving windows from the built in screen to the ACD maxed the frequency to 500.
In Windows Vista it also was running under max frequency with ACD plugged in. Power consumption increased by about 8W when the screen was plugged in.
My fans run at 4000rpm at least because I do more intensive work on my MBP. Just when browsing they stay at 2000-2500. So agreed there.

"Secondly, why are you assuming that your iGPU wouldn't be working harder than the dGPU and therefore using almost the same amount of power to drive the external display?"
- Im not assuming that, don't know where you got that from, mainly because the iGPU cant power an external screen. Or am I misunderstanding what you wrote?

Im not saying anything you said is wrong, im just writing about what I have observed
__________________
2012 15" 2.6 i7 AG MBP, 2009 17" AG MBP, 2009 8C 2.26 MP, 2010 4c MP,2010+07 MM, 17" 2007 MBP,20" iMac G5,17" PB G4,4x30"CD,2x23" CD, G3's,G4's, 17"iMac g4,iMac G3 turquoise,macintoshes dating to 1985
The-Pro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2012, 01:26 PM   #28
Concorde Rules
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by The-Pro View Post
*snip*
Windows and OS X controls the clock speeds in different ways, so that would explain some of the differences, assuming you were running in windows, as I don't know of any apps that read clock speeds in OS X.

Concorde Rules is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2012, 02:09 PM   #29
The-Pro
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by Concorde Rules View Post
Windows and OS X controls the clock speeds in different ways, so that would explain some of the differences, assuming you were running in windows, as I don't know of any apps that read clock speeds in OS X.

A friend of mine threw it together, I dont know how.
I will ask him for it again at one point, I searched for other apps that can do it and cant find any.
I was taking about being in OSX, just added what was happening in windows aswell.
__________________
2012 15" 2.6 i7 AG MBP, 2009 17" AG MBP, 2009 8C 2.26 MP, 2010 4c MP,2010+07 MM, 17" 2007 MBP,20" iMac G5,17" PB G4,4x30"CD,2x23" CD, G3's,G4's, 17"iMac g4,iMac G3 turquoise,macintoshes dating to 1985
The-Pro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2012, 02:21 PM   #30
Concorde Rules
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by The-Pro View Post
A friend of mine threw it together, I dont know how.
I will ask him for it again at one point, I searched for other apps that can do it and cant find any.
I was taking about being in OSX, just added what was happening in windows aswell.
I'd like to know how you get GPU clock speeds in OS X.

I've been looking for months!
Concorde Rules is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2012, 03:04 PM   #31
The-Pro
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by Concorde Rules View Post
I'd like to know how you get GPU clock speeds in OS X.

I've been looking for months!
Me too, ill ask him when I can. He needed it for some testing, he has a repair shop. Ill see what I can do, maybe I can get him to upload what he had somewhere.
__________________
2012 15" 2.6 i7 AG MBP, 2009 17" AG MBP, 2009 8C 2.26 MP, 2010 4c MP,2010+07 MM, 17" 2007 MBP,20" iMac G5,17" PB G4,4x30"CD,2x23" CD, G3's,G4's, 17"iMac g4,iMac G3 turquoise,macintoshes dating to 1985
The-Pro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 01:02 AM   #32
Stevamundo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by macpeach55 View Post
according to the website, the latest version of this app is mountain lion compatible! :d
great!!!!!!
__________________
Steve Harper-Webmaster: http://madentec.com/intro/
Get the latest and greatest in assistive technology.
Stevamundo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 01:39 AM   #33
sonovale
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by macpeach55 View Post
Just installed it on my late 2008 MacBook Pro. Works perfectly! It was so frustrating before being in the middle of work, finding the battery was getting low, and having to log out to switch!
Will be sending a donation today for sure!

----------



According to the Website, the latest version of this app IS Mountain Lion compatible!
wow It's great.
sonovale is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 01:08 PM   #34
AriX
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Send a message via AIM to AriX Send a message via Skype™ to AriX
Quote:
Originally Posted by doctor-don View Post
For YEARS?
How many people have multiple graphics cards?
Haha... well, now that you mention it, I guess it's only been about 2 years
Most 15"/17" MacBook Pros sold since 2009, if I remember correctly, have 2 graphics cards - one discrete card that is very powerful, but somewhat power-hungry, and an integrated one that is much less powerful but draws less power.

Mac OS X automatically switches between the available graphics cards. When you connect an external display, load something up in Flash, start a game, etc. the OS will switch to the better graphics card, and when you're done, it will switch back to save power. But it's not perfect, and a lot of apps will inadvertently force the system to use the better graphics card. For example, Google Chrome and Skype, among many others. gfxCardStatus provides a lot of control over which card is in use at any given time, and can also just notify you when the system decides that you should be using a different graphics card, and shows you why exactly the switch was made (under "dependencies"). It's a great utility.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro with Retina display. iPhone 5. Mac/iOS developer.
@AriX

Last edited by AriX; Jul 12, 2012 at 01:17 PM.
AriX is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 01:52 PM   #35
lostngone
macrumors 6502a
 
lostngone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Anchorage
Quote:
Originally Posted by doctor-don View Post
How many people have multiple graphics cards?
I have over 9000!!! graphics cards...

Sorry, couldn't resist.
lostngone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 02:29 PM   #36
The-Pro
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by lostngone View Post
I have over 9000!!! graphics cards...

Sorry, couldn't resist.
hahahahahaha, epic
__________________
2012 15" 2.6 i7 AG MBP, 2009 17" AG MBP, 2009 8C 2.26 MP, 2010 4c MP,2010+07 MM, 17" 2007 MBP,20" iMac G5,17" PB G4,4x30"CD,2x23" CD, G3's,G4's, 17"iMac g4,iMac G3 turquoise,macintoshes dating to 1985
The-Pro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2012, 01:04 PM   #37
toke lahti
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Quote:
Originally Posted by yetanotherdave View Post
Why can't apple make it work this easy??????
Because switching-on-the-fly was the main new feature of the next model...
__________________
MyMacNeeds:
1
eSata 2blu-ray 3usb3 4expandability(=ec or pci-e)to all Macs
5matteScreen&higherRez 13" 6lightport 7another fw(through ec ok)
8 10G-ethernet 9 xMac:desktopCPU+GPU,free pci-e,2 int. hdd
toke lahti is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2012, 04:08 PM   #38
flottenheimer
macrumors 6502a
 
flottenheimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Up north
Just installed this. Loving it on my late 2008 MacBook Pro.
Thanks for the tip.
__________________
A computer is like a bicycle for the mind.
Steve Jobs
flottenheimer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 08:36 AM   #39
abixalmon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Thimphu, Bhutan
This software crashes on mountain lion:

Proof: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ydFaysHqkJM
abixalmon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 09:17 AM   #40
AzN1337c0d3r
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by abixalmon View Post
This software crashes on mountain lion:

Proof: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ydFaysHqkJM
Been working fine on Mountain Lion GM on a rMBP for about a week now...
AzN1337c0d3r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2012, 03:23 PM   #41
10-Dee-Q
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bandung, West Java, Indonesia & Singapore
hi i just installed this on my mid 09 MBP
but theres no option to set the mode to "dynamic"
i can only manualy set the gpu to either the intergrated or discreet.
where to find the option to enable the dynamic switching ?

----------

and another thing the option to set "use smart menu bar icon" is greyed out, i can't tick that.
__________________
MacBook Pro Unibody 2.66 | 8GB | 750GB-7200rpm
iPad Air 128GB iPod 3rd 40GB | nano 5th 16GB
iPhone 2G 8GB | 4 CDMA 32GB | 4s 64GB | 5s 64GB
V-MODA M100 Audio-Technica ATH-CM7Ti
10-Dee-Q is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2012, 04:49 PM   #42
fpsBeaTt
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10-Dee-Q View Post
hi i just installed this on my mid 09 MBP
but theres no option to set the mode to "dynamic"
i can only manualy set the gpu to either the intergrated or discreet.
where to find the option to enable the dynamic switching ?

----------

and another thing the option to set "use smart menu bar icon" is greyed out, i can't tick that.
Automatic GPU switching was only included as a feature in 2010 and later MacBook Pros; it's not a higher-level software limitation from OS X, it's a feature lacking in the chipset itself.
__________________
15" RMBP 2.6GHz16GB; 64GB iPad 3; 64GB Gold iPhone 5S; 27" Thunderbolt Display; PC: 4GHz i7, 3GB 7970, 6GB triple channel RAM, Lian Li A71F case, Logitech G700 mouse, Steelseries 7G keyboard.
fpsBeaTt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 01:15 AM   #43
10-Dee-Q
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bandung, West Java, Indonesia & Singapore
mmmm i knew that.
but i thoughtt theres people in this thread that saying that this app is working in their 09 MBP ?
__________________
MacBook Pro Unibody 2.66 | 8GB | 750GB-7200rpm
iPad Air 128GB iPod 3rd 40GB | nano 5th 16GB
iPhone 2G 8GB | 4 CDMA 32GB | 4s 64GB | 5s 64GB
V-MODA M100 Audio-Technica ATH-CM7Ti
10-Dee-Q is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC