Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BrokeButLovinIt

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 11, 2012
Australia
Okay so I'm new to this and just looking for some advice for my photography

I am running a small photography business and I'm looking to allow clients to view organised masses of photographs, up to 2000 from a single day of shooting.

I am shooting small sport competitions and am looking to set up a display system to allow competitors to view photos at their own leisure. i want multiple computer displays in the back of a ute for potential clients to operate and view folders of photographs before buying.

what i want to know is if anyone can help me with what hardware i should be looking at. i want a single location where all photos will be stored, 2TB for now but expandable to 4TB or more as i store more and more older photographs.
is a server an option here? or is there a way i can run multiple and seperate screens from the same storage, keeping in mind that do not want slow connections and do want responsiveness so users don't lose interest
i could set this up easily with multiple cheap tower+monitors though hate dealing with synchronising each of these when i add photos, time consuming, expensive and just a hassle

i don't know what else you need to know but please ask if you might be able to help
thanks in advance

snberk103

macrumors 603
Oct 22, 2007
An Island in the Salish Sea
Multiple Mac Minis (get the older discounted ones off the refurb store), each with a cloned photo gallery installed. For the current shoot you could attach them via ethernet network to a NAS (networked attached storage) since you won't have time to clone that day's galleries to the Minis.