Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 4, 2012, 03:25 PM   #76
Libertine Lush
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by fermer101 View Post
Yeah I too rarely hit 60, it usually hovers around 50fps most of the time. I'm using the default auto-detect settings which set everything to medium and I'm running @ 1920x1200 on an external monitor. I have the latest 306.02 beta drivers installed.
Ah, no wonder. You can ramp up almost all settings and still get great fps.

I very curious about how you installed the 306.02. Perhaps you saw a brief discussion in this thread about how installing Windows drivers on an Apple laptop is different, in that it you usually can't use the driver's setup installer--and that it's not even exclusive to Apple, happens with some Windows OEM companies too. But because of what PunktPunktPunkt posted, I just went ahead with the installer in the 306.02, selecting the Clean Install option. Since I saw no further improvements from this latest firmware, I just wonder if using the "Have Disk" installation method may have made a difference.
Libertine Lush is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2012, 08:43 AM   #77
luffytubby
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I wonder - What if you lowered it to 1680x1050 resolution and then cranked up everything?

Forget about AA, go for ubersampling instead.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Libertine Lush View Post
Ah, no wonder. You can ramp up almost all settings and still get great fps.

I very curious about how you installed the 306.02. Perhaps you saw a brief discussion in this thread about how installing Windows drivers on an Apple laptop is different, in that it you usually can't use the driver's setup installer--and that it's not even exclusive to Apple, happens with some Windows OEM companies too. But because of what PunktPunktPunkt posted, I just went ahead with the installer in the 306.02, selecting the Clean Install option. Since I saw no further improvements from this latest firmware, I just wonder if using the "Have Disk" installation method may have made a difference.
On my Sony I have the same. But I only had to use a modified ini from Laptop2Go websibte one time, and now it wants to run every driver from Nvidia website with no issues. I think the ini overrides a limitation that says it only want apple/sony/dell/asus drivers.
__________________
Life is a game. Play till your dead, then restart.
luffytubby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2012, 01:25 PM   #78
Libertine Lush
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
A new Nvidia driver is out!

http://www.nvidia.com/object/noteboo...ql-driver.html

This is not a beta version unlike the last few. However, going off forum opinions, most say the distinction in stability between beta vs. WHQL-certified drivers isn't meaningful.

Don't know if this is the one with GW2 specific improvements. It only says:

Performance Boost – Increases performance for GeForce 400/500/600M Series GPUs in several PC games vs. GeForce 301.42 WHQL-certified drivers.
Libertine Lush is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2012, 02:35 PM   #79
Libertine Lush
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Adding to the post above, this is a quote from Nvidia:

Guild Wars 2 is heavily CPU-bound, meaning it benefits more from CPU power than GPU power. As I said on GF.com earlier (http://www.geforce.c....ment-649045916), there was little time between the release of 306.02 beta and the finalizing of this driver, so we've had little opportunity to investigate ways to improve performance and fix the Ambient Occlusion profile. Rest assured, we will continue to look at ways of improving the end-user experience in the game."

Source: http://www.guildwars2guru.com/topic/.../#entry1927715
Libertine Lush is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 04:06 PM   #80
Libertine Lush
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
306.23 didn't affect my performance, but now the modded INF is also out for it: http://forums.laptopvideo2go.com/top...ia-oem-mobile/
Libertine Lush is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 12:51 AM   #81
Libertine Lush
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Good news on the new driver paired with the modded INF. I'm experiencing what seems like a few more frames from this pairing. Seems, because I only compared it to the previous driver in one location. However, it feels a decent amount smoother in areas where the framerate drops below 30.

Something odd--but probably a very good thing--is that I noticed in WvW, the game is frequently using less than half of the GPU (often dipping to 40%). So presumably there's a lot more room left for optimization by Arena Net and a lot of power in the rMBP's 650M unused.
Libertine Lush is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 02:47 PM   #82
luffytubby
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Any of you tried the Mac OSX client on your Retina MBPs. If so, what performance loss are you seeing?
__________________
Life is a game. Play till your dead, then restart.
luffytubby is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 07:35 AM   #83
kuma59
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by luffytubby View Post
Any of you tried the Mac OSX client on your Retina MBPs. If so, what performance loss are you seeing?
This question is very interesting. I have the MacOSX Client too and I get only 15 Frames per second on 1440x900 with Custom settings. (Sorry i'm french). ~30fps in "performance settings".
Also, GfxCardStatus indicates me that the Nvidia card is used but it's the Intel one I see in Control panel... I bought my MPBr in august which was delivered in september. OSX Moutain Lion already installed. I did updates through 1.8.2 this morning. I don't know if I can install latest Nvidia drivers for my Nvidia GT 650M.
kuma59 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 08:11 AM   #84
luffytubby
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kuma59 View Post
This question is very interesting. I have the MacOSX Client too and I get only 15 Frames per second on 1440x900 with Custom settings. (Sorry i'm french). ~30fps in "performance settings".
Also, GfxCardStatus indicates me that the Nvidia card is used but it's the Intel one I see in Control panel... I bought my MPBr in august which was delivered in september. OSX Moutain Lion already installed. I did updates through 1.8.2 this morning. I don't know if I can install latest Nvidia drivers for my Nvidia GT 650M.
ouch. That's a performance loss.

1) Nvidia drivers come when you search your Mac for updates. You shouldn't have to download anything.

2) Could it be that OSX does not recognize GW2 as a graphic intensive app? Maybe it ran on HD 4000?
__________________
Life is a game. Play till your dead, then restart.
luffytubby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 12:35 PM   #85
funnyletter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by luffytubby View Post
ouch. That's a performance loss.

1) Nvidia drivers come when you search your Mac for updates. You shouldn't have to download anything.

2) Could it be that OSX does not recognize GW2 as a graphic intensive app? Maybe it ran on HD 4000?
I just started running the mac beta client on a base-model rMBP, and not to put too fine a point on it, uh, it drags ass. Using fairly low settings I still get low FPS. Here's a screenshot of my settings, and you can see my FPS is in the 20s. And that's in a totally deserted area. I've confirmed with GfxCardStatus that it's using the discrete GPU, not the HD4000.

I just assumed the mobile GPU couldn't keep up with the game at retina resolutions until I read people talking about how it runs on the same hardware under Windows. It seems like the mac client is extremely poorly optimized.

I didn't even realize how amazing the game looked until I cranked the settings up to high for a couple minutes and looked around at all of 16fps...
funnyletter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 04:20 AM   #86
hacke
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Do you think the GT 650M will work better in the new iMac 2012 or will the 'game performance' be the same or even worse?
hacke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 04:29 AM   #87
Libertine Lush
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by hacke View Post
Do you think the GT 650M will work better in the new iMac 2012 or will the 'game performance' be the same or even worse?
My guess is the iMac will run it marginally better because, presumably, it will have an even more powerful CPU (GW2 performance still hinges a lot on CPU muscle). However, I don't know if the 650M in the iMac is significantly overclocked like the rMBP one.
Libertine Lush is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 04:32 AM   #88
hacke
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Thanks for your opinion! I will just standby and see what the benchmarks will tell me
hacke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 06:19 AM   #89
Pyromonkey83
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
I dont understand how you guys are getting such horrible performance from your rMBPs. I'm getting about 40-50fps everywhere I go (including WvW) at 1920x1200 with most settings on medium, and a couple on low. It visually looks only slightly different to me than my gaming PC on full ultra and the quality is nowhere near enough for me to care.

And before you ask, I am using the Mac Beta client, not boot camp, and I haven't done anything to my MacBook Pro at all to improve any kind of performance.

Specs are

2.6Ghz i7
512GB SSD
16GB RAM
Pyromonkey83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 03:58 PM   #90
Trubbles
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyromonkey83 View Post
I dont understand how you guys are getting such horrible performance from your rMBPs. I'm getting about 40-50fps everywhere I go (including WvW) at 1920x1200 with most settings on medium, and a couple on low. It visually looks only slightly different to me than my gaming PC on full ultra and the quality is nowhere near enough for me to care.

And before you ask, I am using the Mac Beta client, not boot camp, and I haven't done anything to my MacBook Pro at all to improve any kind of performance.

Specs are

2.6Ghz i7
512GB SSD
16GB RAM
You are also posting 2 months later

...

On another note, I just ordered a 15" rMBP (8/256/2.6GHz) and reading this thread has left me psyched! I wasn't expecting much in terms of FPS (I thought I'd have to go down to 1440x900 for sure, on low-medium) so what I'm reading here has me very hopeful
Trubbles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 04:25 AM   #91
Sambo110
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyromonkey83 View Post
I dont understand how you guys are getting such horrible performance from your rMBPs. I'm getting about 40-50fps everywhere I go (including WvW) at 1920x1200 with most settings on medium, and a couple on low. It visually looks only slightly different to me than my gaming PC on full ultra and the quality is nowhere near enough for me to care.
There was a bug a little while ago that made gaming performance terrible on the rMBP's. I couldn't even get 20 FPS in CS:GO. It was updated, and now in CS:GO, for example, maxed out it never drops from 60.
__________________
rMBP 2.6 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD 10,8 ; 20" Aluminum iMac, 2.4 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 250 GB HD, 2400 HD, 10.8 ; iPod Touch 4G 32GB
Sambo110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which new iMac will run Guild Wars 2 and other games well, at a good price? jawn12 iMac 8 Oct 24, 2012 09:52 AM
How does Guild Wars 2 run on 2011/2012 MBP? ctbear Mac and PC Games 16 Sep 7, 2012 02:13 AM
MacBook Pro Early 2011" & Guild Wars 2 Performance iPawl Mac and PC Games 20 Sep 6, 2012 11:01 AM
Guild Wars 2: Possible to run on 2008 Macbook? chill. Mac and PC Games 2 Aug 31, 2012 10:50 AM
Playing Guild Wars 2 or SWTOR or WOW on a MacBook Pro princealfie MacBook Pro 23 Aug 18, 2012 02:53 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC