Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sammy.d

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 18, 2010
I am a uni student and use the Goodnotes app on my iPad. I would like to be able to access the files that I create in Goodnotes from my Mac. I was thinking the best way to do this would be to have iCloud sync the Goodnotes files to my Mac. How can I get iCloud to sync files that I want it to (iCloud capabilities aren't inbuilt in the app)?

sammy.d

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 18, 2010
iCloud is limited to Apple-specific apps.

Are you sure? In my mobile documents folder (~/Library/Mobile Documents) there are folders for two of my apps, Goodreader and Consume. So I assume they are using iCloud for something.

I am happy to try and use Dropbox. I think I would somehow have to use aliases because Goodnotes doesn't use Dropbox like that. Is it possible to set up aliases in the iPad filesystem, linking the files I use in Goodnotes to somewhere that Dropbox can actively sync with?

I am jailbroken and have iFile installed which I think would make this easier if possible...

Arelunde

macrumors 6502a
Jul 6, 2011
CA Central Coast
Honestly, I don't know. I don't have Goodnotes. You may be right about iCloud hosting more than Apple data, but I've never seen any option to enable that in the iCloud settings.

sammy.d

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 18, 2010