Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wcrankshaw

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 20, 2012
First post here...I apologize for yet another A vs B type post.

To start off, I don't NEED a new computer, but I really WANT a new computer and am waiting patiently like everyone else. But, I'm beginning to wonder if a spec bumped 2012 base 21.5" would be that much better than a 2011 base 27" refurb. I can only spend as much as the price of the refurb, so a 2012 27" isn't an option regardless. Would I actually get more bang for my buck by getting the 27" screen? I'm not a gamer. Handbrake and photoshop (large negative scans) are the most intensive uses of my computer. Any opinions on this?

weezin

macrumors 6502
Jul 20, 2012
27" no question.

I am a photographer who shoots a lot of film (and scans them...35mm, 6x6 and 6x7) and the bigger screen is wonderful. I came from a 21" widescreen 1680x1050 monitor and there is absolutely no comparison. Also, I've only had the base 27" iMac for a few weeks (I got one for a great deal open box at BB) and just recently added 8gb of ram (for 12gb total). It's a great machine.

So like I said, go for the 27".

rkaufmann87

macrumors 68000
Dec 17, 2009
Folsom, CA
First post here...I apologize for yet another A vs B type post.

To start off, I don't NEED a new computer, but I really WANT a new computer and am waiting patiently like everyone else. But, I'm beginning to wonder if a spec bumped 2012 base 21.5" would be that much better than a 2011 base 27" refurb. I can only spend as much as the price of the refurb, so a 2012 27" isn't an option regardless. Would I actually get more bang for my buck by getting the 27" screen? I'm not a gamer. Handbrake and photoshop (large negative scans) are the most intensive uses of my computer. Any opinions on this?

Plus 3 on the 27"!

wcrankshaw

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 20, 2012