Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 21, 2012, 11:41 AM   #1
xav8tor
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
GTX 670 4 GB - How to enable CUDA and openCL

Sorry for a new thread, but the question got buried elsewhere in another thread due to all of the excitement.

First issue: 4 GB 670 installed. Runs fine but CUDA Z returns CUDA not found error. How to I enable CUDA? I can't find a clear answer. Dumb it down for me because I am no driver expert.

Secondly, with 4 GB I understand I can enable openCL with a fix but netkas is a bit over my head too. Luxmark returns openCL device not found error. One fix I saw there had a link to a "dirty" download in Ru and that scares the crap out of me. I do have one or two apps that may take advantage. Can I enable openCL on this card? If so, how?

Thanks
xav8tor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 12:00 PM   #2
Asgorath
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by xav8tor View Post
Sorry for a new thread, but the question got buried elsewhere in another thread due to all of the excitement.

First issue: 4 GB 670 installed. Runs fine but CUDA Z returns CUDA not found error. How to I enable CUDA? I can't find a clear answer. Dumb it down for me because I am no driver expert.

Secondly, with 4 GB I understand I can enable openCL with a fix but netkas is a bit over my head too. Luxmark returns openCL device not found error. One fix I saw there had a link to a "dirty" download in Ru and that scares the crap out of me. I do have one or two apps that may take advantage. Can I enable openCL on this card? If so, how?

Thanks
The Apple OpenCL framework explicitly disallows cards that have more than 2GB of RAM. As you can see here:

http://netkas.org/?p=1161

Netkas figured out a way to get around that check. Note that this isn't a driver thing, it's in the Apple framework itself. I believe that link is to a modified version of the framework file. If you don't trust the download, you can just make the modifications yourself.
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 12:10 PM   #3
xav8tor
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath View Post
The Apple OpenCL framework explicitly disallows cards that have more than 2GB of RAM. As you can see here:

http://netkas.org/?p=1161

Netkas figured out a way to get around that check. Note that this isn't a driver thing, it's in the Apple framework itself. I believe that link is to a modified version of the framework file. If you don't trust the download, you can just make the modifications yourself.
Yeah, I saw that but the instructions, such as they are, confuse me. He says:

"P.S. doesnt applies to gtx670/gtx680, they have a different problem"

If it doesn't apply, where's the fix?

Also, what about CUDA?
xav8tor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 12:22 PM   #4
Asgorath
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by xav8tor View Post
Yeah, I saw that but the instructions, such as they are, confuse me. He says:

"P.S. doesnt applies to gtx670/gtx680, they have a different problem"

If it doesn't apply, where's the fix?

Also, what about CUDA?
No idea, sorry. I would check the netkas.org forums, I think I've seen info about how to get CUDA working for the Kepler cards.
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 12:27 PM   #5
xav8tor
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath View Post
No idea, sorry. I would check the netkas.org forums, I think I've seen info about how to get CUDA working for the Kepler cards.
Tried that too already. Registered so I could DL a fix but never got the confirmation email. Man, I am so ready for the Pro update next year!
xav8tor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 12:46 PM   #6
netkas
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by xav8tor View Post
Tried that too already. Registered so I could DL a fix but never got the confirmation email. Man, I am so ready for the Pro update next year!
Mayebe you didnt read in the head of my forum, a link for registering users with this bold text - So, if u dont want to be automaticaly flagged as spambot and then wait weeks for activation - choose complicated nickname, and you will be fine.


Also, if u open my site, you will see that there is a fix for gtx670/680 opencl, in you case you need both kepler fix and 2gb+ fix, god, when will people learn to read..
netkas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 01:42 PM   #7
xav8tor
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by netkas View Post
Mayebe you didnt read in the head of my forum, a link for registering users with this bold text - So, if u dont want to be automaticaly flagged as spambot and then wait weeks for activation - choose complicated nickname, and you will be fine.


Also, if u open my site, you will see that there is a fix for gtx670/680 opencl, in you case you need both kepler fix and 2gb+ fix, god, when will people learn to read..
Trust me, with two grad degrees, one in languages, and one in law, I can read, write, and even do some simple arithmetic! I did read the registration guidelines, followed them (using same handle as here), and no, nothing went into my spam folder.

You deserve great, HUGE credit for your efforts but no need for the condescending tone. I saw the fix but you must admit, clarity is lacking for the less knowledgeable folks like myself. As I said above, I am unable to dechiper the fix how to's, like the following:

-----------
long story short – by default opencl doesnt work on gk104 but works on apple’s gk107 from new mbps.

Now it works on gk104 (gtx670-gtx690)
Update: obviously ML drivers are much better (still need a patch so)

-----------

1) for 32-bit part:
find 3d 01 00 00 80 73 e7
replace with 3d 01 00 00 80 90 90
yes, its just last two bytes to disable the check


2) for 64-bit part, for lion 
find ff 50 68 48 39 d8 73 e5
replace with ff 50 68 48 39 d8 90 90


for mountain lion
find ff 50 68 4c 39 e0 73 e7
replace with ff 50 68 4c 39 e0 90 90


P.S. doesnt applies to gtx670/gtx680, they have a different problem
--------------

OK, maybe with the above I am mixing apples and oranges, but I was told there is a manual alternative to the "dirty download" below. If dirty download is anything like a dirty b*mb, I don't want to go near it!
----------------
got opencl working on gtx670!

so far its only for mbp2012 drivers, replace file inside GeForceGLDriver.bundle with this one http://rghost.ru/39181304

that's a dirty hack workaround just disables the check for some error, which i believe lays inside kernel side of drivers, so be carefull with it

Now also for ML GM - http://rghost.ru/39181502

-------------

I've done the MS tech support thing years ago, so I am not completely clueless troubleshooting computers, even built a few, but maybe I am just stupid on these matters. I don't get the above. ML needs a patch, but the patch won't work. What am I missing here?

And again, any clues ref CUDA?

Thanks in advance. I really am trying here. Really I am. All I am asking for is something like:

1) go here (link) and download this.
2) install (how/where)
3) then do this and you're good to go.

Last edited by xav8tor; Jul 21, 2012 at 02:17 PM.
xav8tor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 02:33 PM   #8
netkas
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
>Trust me, with two grad degrees, one in languages, and one in law, I can read, write, and even do some simple arithmetic! I did read the registration guidelines, followed them (using same handle as here), and no, nothing went into my spam folder.

Good for you.

Actualy you need both fixes, for 2gb+ and patched libclh.dylib


Then if you are on mountain lion, then there is a thread on enabling cuda, on my forum. You dont need a registration to read it.

Lastly, if you pm me your username, i can manualy activate you.
netkas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 02:46 PM   #9
MacVidCards
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
yeah, CUDA fix is simple as all get out

as posted by Rominator

no download, just read

takes under 30 seconds to do

Last edited by MacVidCards; Jul 21, 2012 at 03:06 PM.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 03:15 PM   #10
xav8tor
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by netkas View Post
Actualy you need both fixes, for 2gb+ and patched libclh.dylib

Then if you are on mountain lion, then there is a thread on enabling cuda, on my forum. You dont need a registration to read it.

Lastly, if you pm me your username, i can manualy activate you.
PM sent.

OK, for openCL, you're saying I need to manual make the changes with a hex editor AND install this libclh file, correct?

Ref CUDA, I'll look for the Rominator post.

Thanks for being patient. This is new ground for me. On Win7 via BC, everything works - all of my recent upgrades.

If I get this stuff working, maybe you can help me get a High Point USB 3 card going too! Like everything else, in Win, it just works, and if not, I can almost always fix it. IMHO, with the dumbing down of OS X after SL. Lion, for example, is harder to use for some things. Took me ten minutes to find my OS disk (Libraries) in Finder! And what's up with this bassackwards mouse scrolling? Rant over.

Update: OK you guys were right. CUDA fix was as easy as can be. Now for a try at openCL.

Last edited by xav8tor; Jul 22, 2012 at 11:54 AM.
xav8tor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2012, 11:41 PM   #11
1ricca
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Links are shorter than insults

Quote:
god, when will people learn to read..
I really appreciate all of the great things that have been done thanks to you but, I really don't get the attitude. Your site layout is an abomination of site design. I do wordpress for a living and could not find anything without scrubbing through hundreds of posts. You don't make links to your previous posts either when you refer to them in new ones.

And frankly, you could have done a re-wrap of what to do in this guy's situation right here in this forum in less time it took to insult his intelligence. I bought the same card he got and this is the first thing that shows up on google about getting this card to work on a mac pro. You could have at least posted the link we needed in between your smug replies.

If you ever need a web guy to fix that site and justify the arrogance, PM me.
1ricca is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 12:05 AM   #12
chiefroastbeef
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dallas, Texas/ Hong Kong
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1ricca View Post
I really appreciate all of the great things that have been done thanks to you but, I really don't get the attitude. Your site layout is an abomination of site design. I do wordpress for a living and could not find anything without scrubbing through hundreds of posts. You don't make links to your previous posts either when you refer to them in new ones.

And frankly, you could have done a re-wrap of what to do in this guy's situation right here in this forum in less time it took to insult his intelligence. I bought the same card he got and this is the first thing that shows up on google about getting this card to work on a mac pro. You could have at least posted the link we needed in between your smug replies.

If you ever need a web guy to fix that site and justify the arrogance, PM me.
agree 100%
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33GHZ 24GB Ram Nvidia GTX 670
Macbook Pro 15" 2.4 Penryn Macbook Air 11" 1.6GHZ C2D
Apple Cinema Display 30", 20"
Nikon D700
chiefroastbeef is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 12:49 AM   #13
ClassObject
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiefroastbeef View Post
agree 100%
+1
ClassObject is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 02:15 PM   #14
Davirus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mexico
Send a message via MSN to Davirus Send a message via Skype™ to Davirus
I'm experiencing similar problems.

I recently bought an ASUS GTX 670. When I patch the .kext to make OpenCL works, it works, but it disable any CUDA technology.

When I restore the kext to the original one, I get CUDA but OpenCL its disabled.
Davirus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 11:25 AM   #15
GeneralAntilles
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1ricca View Post
I bought the same card he got and this is the first thing that shows up on google about getting this card to work on a mac pro.
This always seems to be how it happens.

The threads and posts that contain only the question that needs answering and the knowledgable party's reference to some other thread or post with the answer (never with any links, though) or just some snarky reply always end up at the very top of searches.

I get why people like netkas and Rominator react the way they do. I've been in that situation, and the deluge of of PMs, emails, and threads asking the same questions over and over is exhausting. Some folks will never be able to help themselves no matter how much you help them. They will always want their hands held.

This doesn't help the people willing to put in the due diligence to try to answer their own questions, though, and this is why in other communities I've been involved in we've always had wikis in place to collect and summarize the important information (in this case, how to modify OpenCL, which drivers to install, and which program files to change to allow cards with >2GB of VRAM to run well).

My first question: Is there a wiki? If not, is there an existing wiki we could latch on to for GPU-related how-tos?

I'm quite willing to put in the time to summarize the steps needed to get a 4GB GTX 600-series card working happily in OS X if someone will point to the information relevant to the task.
GeneralAntilles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 12:46 PM   #16
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeneralAntilles View Post
This always seems to be how it happens.

The threads and posts that contain only the question that needs answering and the knowledgable party's reference to some other thread or post with the answer (never with any links, though) or just some snarky reply always end up at the very top of searches.

I get why people like netkas and Rominator react the way they do. I've been in that situation, and the deluge of of PMs, emails, and threads asking the same questions over and over is exhausting. Some folks will never be able to help themselves no matter how much you help them. They will always want their hands held.

This doesn't help the people willing to put in the due diligence to try to answer their own questions, though, and this is why in other communities I've been involved in we've always had wikis in place to collect and summarize the important information (in this case, how to modify OpenCL, which drivers to install, and which program files to change to allow cards with >2GB of VRAM to run well).

My first question: Is there a wiki? If not, is there an existing wiki we could latch on to for GPU-related how-tos?

I'm quite willing to put in the time to summarize the steps needed to get a 4GB GTX 600-series card working happily in OS X if someone will point to the information relevant to the task.
We could use a wiki like OSX86, just because your gigabyte worked OTB doesn't mean a power color or something else will..

So call that a +1
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 02:37 PM   #17
MacVidCards
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1440150

This guy started the thread just to answer these sorts of questions. Fermi & Kepler are cousins so anything posted there should be relevant.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 03:36 PM   #18
1ricca
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
I think that's a wonderful idea doing a wiki. There should really be a wiki for all of the hackintosh stuff and then we could latch onto that but that whole gang has the same issues we've described here, maybe with a few less issues and some real sticky threads. I'll look around a bit and maybe some others here can too. I would definitely contribute.
1ricca is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 03:48 PM   #19
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1ricca View Post
I think that's a wonderful idea doing a wiki. There should really be a wiki for all of the hackintosh stuff and then we could latch onto that but that whole gang has the same issues we've described here, maybe with a few less issues and some real sticky threads. I'll look around a bit and maybe some others here can too. I would definitely contribute.
The Hackintosh and alt video cards folks are "kissin cousins" they just don't realize it yet.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2012, 10:36 AM   #20
dia3olik
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
hi netkas!
is the opencl fix for gtx680 4gb card still needed in 10.8.2 with the new drivers?
thx!
dia3olik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 05:31 PM   #21
xav8tor
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dia3olik View Post
hi netkas!
is the opencl fix for gtx680 4gb card still needed in 10.8.2 with the new drivers?
thx!
As far as I can tell, 10.8.2 does not remove the >2 GB restriction. Although one forum member gave a good shot at writing a guide to getting OpenCL (and CUDA, which is easy) running, it is still a bit unclear and a number of posts continue to pop up around the WWW wherein people describe bricking their Mac Pros trying to enable OpenCL, which happened to me. Fortunately I had a backup handy, but have not yet tried enabling OpenCL again because there still is not a totally clear step by step guide for doing it and I can't risk another disaster with multiple projects underway.

The guide needs to avoid technoslang and be patently clear on exactly what files to download/change/delete/leave where they are, etc. The hex edit process should also be clearly explained. Ideally, screenshots of each and every step would be included.

I now have an app that would greatly benefit from OpenCL, so if anyone is up to the challenge of writing the process as described, I'm sure many GTX 6XX users with more than two GB would be very grateful.
xav8tor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 09:09 PM   #22
thevode
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
I have the GTX 670 in a Macpro 3.1

I want to activate cuda for blender but I can't.

Where is the rominator post to fix cuda??, I'm looking for it.

xav8tor, did you get it?.

xav8tor = xavi?, are you from catalonia???, porque si es así me ahorras el mal trago de hablar inglés como el culo.

Thanks and regards
thevode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 11:05 PM   #23
Asgorath
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1440150
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 11:27 PM   #24
dtechlogic
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Espero que hay solucion para esto. Yo estoy usando un gtx 670 2GB
dtechlogic is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After Effects CUDA vs OpenCL Sinx2oic Mac Pro 2 Nov 7, 2013 01:39 PM
GTX 680 4GB CUDA and OpenCL cristtiah Mac Pro 59 Jul 13, 2013 12:26 PM
CUDA vs. OpenCL CS6 theuserjohnny Digital Video 8 Feb 23, 2013 01:19 AM
Anyone successful getting a GTX 670 CUDA enabled inside of Premiere CS6 in ML? heyjordan Mac Pro 39 Aug 27, 2012 03:31 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC