Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

livebackwards

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 22, 2012
Hey there everyone.

I have been following the forums for a while and this is my first time posting. I am getting ready to switch to my first Mac laptop but I am unsure which to get.
I have used windows all my life (25 years:eek:) and I am finally ready to switch (it took me a long time) I used to really be into machine specs and building my own PC's, but I have not been into doing that for a while, and my knowledge has lapsed over the past 6 years and I am unsure what the limitations of the current hardware are.

I am either going to get the
Macbook Air 13" 2.0 ghz and upgrade it to 256 SSD and 8 GB of Ram
or
Macbook Pro 15" 2.3 ghz with a Hi-Res Antiglare screen(I will add the 8GB memory myself) (not the Retina display macbook)

This will be my only computer as I gave up Desktop for laptops 6 years ago and have not regretted it.
I do currently have a 1gen ipad and an iPhone 4. Just mentioning it as those are my mobile computers. In fact these items (and my wife a life long Mac user) have gotten me to switch.

anyway back to the point I am unsure which machine will be best for what I want to use it for.
The MBP has a dedicated graphics card while the MBA doesn't, but the air has the SSD and weighs less. the other specs are similar enough.
I know eventuall I could upgrade the Pro to a SSD if I wanted but aside from putting in the memory I am mostly done with hardware tinkering.

I have extensively tested out the feel of both machines at the apple store and they both feel great. It was hard to get a feel for how different the weight would be in day to day use because of the security cord.:mad:

My main concern is how much better the graphics card is in the MBP for my needs
I was hoping people here would be able to guide me in my new purchase