Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

View Poll Results: Which Mac OS Do You Use?
OS X Only 31 36.90%
OS 9 Only 11 13.10%
X, but I use Classic a lot 19 22.62%
X, but I often boot into 9 12 14.29%
9, but sometimes I boot into X 9 10.71%
OS 8 or earlier 2 2.38%
Voters: 84. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 14, 2002, 08:32 PM   #1
AJW
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Do You Use OS 9 or X?

I just thought this would make an interesting poll (I've seen opinions, but no percentages of 9 vs. X usage)
AJW is offline   0
Old Jan 14, 2002, 08:45 PM   #2
Durandal7
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
I've been using X only. Has anyone had this problem, after I change resolutions all the graphics are garbled in classic and I have to reboot the classic enviroment.
Durandal7 is offline   0
Old Jan 14, 2002, 09:39 PM   #3
Catfish_Man
macrumors 68030
 
Catfish_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to Catfish_Man
What versions...

Quote:
Originally posted by asurace
I've been using X only. Has anyone had this problem, after I change resolutions all the graphics are garbled in classic and I have to reboot the classic enviroment.
...of 9 and X do you have? I vaguely remember something like that but either 9.22 or X.12 fixed it. I'm not sure about this.
Catfish_Man is offline   0
Old Jan 14, 2002, 09:40 PM   #4
blackpeter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
X is all I need...
blackpeter is offline   0
Old Jan 14, 2002, 09:48 PM   #5
eyelikeart
Moderator emeritus
 
eyelikeart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metairie, LA
I run X on my PowerBook all the time, unless I need to have multiple graphics applications at my complete disposal...

at work I'm still on 9 for the same reason above.....we haven't yet switched to X and probably won't for a while...

Classic is great for small things, but not for complete performance issues...
eyelikeart is offline   0
Old Jan 14, 2002, 11:25 PM   #6
voicegy
macrumors 65816
 
voicegy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sandy Eggo - MacRumors Member since 1-1-2002
I'm Bi!

I use both...I need to get more familier with OS X because this will start becoming an issue in my district, and as the only "techie" in the Educational Technology department, I gotta get my feet wet.

I didn't start until a few weeks ago, because, frankly, I knew 10.0 needed some tweaking. (typical of any operating system...never jump in if the version ends in zero!)

So I've got one computer in front of me (G4 Tower with Cinema Display) runnin' OS 9 and the same configuration on a desk next to me runnin' OS 10.1.2.

I gotta admit, I'm very attracted to that OS X speed! And it's becoming almost second nature to jump from one to the other.

By the way, I downloaded Omni Web for OS X and it's BEAUTIFUL! I'm never opening up Explorer on the X machine again!

Scott
voicegy is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2002, 12:15 AM   #7
PyroTurtle
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: 10 Minutes from Disneyland
Send a message via AIM to PyroTurtle
OS X with Classic mode boot up when you start the computer....
there have been weeks where i haven't restarted my computer...then an update comes out and it makes me
but that's all i've been using sence OS X 10.0
and back then i had a 233 iMac (rev a baby!)
so, i donp't know what my point was buy hey, i had to say something...

so for me, it's OS X only with the classic enviro always up and running...
PyroTurtle is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2002, 03:30 AM   #8
mac15
macrumors 68040
 
mac15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sydney
Send a message via AIM to mac15
FULL ON X STYLE
ONLY OS X FOR ME
SINCE I HAVE THE PHOTOSHOP 7 BETA
AND FINAL CUT PRO 3
__________________
Check out my guiKitting at the theflanneleffect
mac15 is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2002, 03:34 AM   #9
Falleron
macrumors 68000
 
Falleron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally posted by asurace
I've been using X only. Has anyone had this problem, after I change resolutions all the graphics are garbled in classic and I have to reboot the classic enviroment.
If you only run OSX have you got OS9 installed? Just wondering because shouldn't OSX be a lot quicker without OS9 intalled.
Falleron is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2002, 03:37 AM   #10
mac15
macrumors 68040
 
mac15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sydney
Send a message via AIM to mac15
I DONT KNOW

SOUNDS INTERESTING
__________________
Check out my guiKitting at the theflanneleffect
mac15 is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2002, 03:54 AM   #11
OJB
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dunedin, New Zealand
Send a message via ICQ to OJB Send a message via Skype™ to OJB
Thumbs up Mac OS X

Mac OS X is the only OS I want to use now. Have been using it since
the beta on both my G4s and I love it. It just gets better and faster.
However some, quite skilled, users are having trouble adapting.
They want to treat it like 9. You really have to accept this is a whole
new (better) thing!
I still use 7,8 and 9 on my lesser machines.
I really, really must have Photoshop for Mac OS X--its about the
only reason to still use Classic!
__________________
Owen Baxter
mailto:OJB@mac.com
http://www.ojb.co.nz
OJB is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2002, 06:16 AM   #12
j763
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Champaign, IL, USA
Send a message via AIM to j763
osx

only using osx after i got office v.X thed other day - a bargain A$299 or $149USD.

thank god for academic pricing...
j763 is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2002, 06:26 AM   #13
macaddict123k
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Palm Harbor, Florida
Send a message via AIM to macaddict123k
9.1
10 is too slow on an imac dv se w/ 256mb of ram.
__________________
i need ideas!!
macaddict123k is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2002, 06:40 AM   #14
Ensign Paris
macrumors 68000
 
Ensign Paris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Europe
osx rocks!

I looks good for Mac OS X then!

Apple took a gamble with OSX and it now look very much like it worked!

Keep Mac Heading!
__________________
Click here for my website.
Ensign Paris is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2002, 02:44 PM   #15
evildead
macrumors 65816
 
evildead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: WestCost, USA
OS X

Now that Toast 5.1 is out... I never have to boot into OS 9. I only use classic mode when I am scanning something, Using PhotoShop, Dreamweaver, or Flash. But... I have not been that into web stuff for a while... so I am almost compleetly OS X now... everyone should be if they can.
__________________
#!/bin/MacHead
evildead is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2002, 04:34 PM   #16
Durandal7
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Re: What versions...

Quote:
Originally posted by Catfish_Man


...of 9 and X do you have? I vaguely remember something like that but either 9.22 or X.12 fixed it. I'm not sure about this.
I've got 10.1.2 and 9.2. Maybe there is a OS 9 updater somewhere I can find.
Durandal7 is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2002, 05:47 PM   #17
hinkhous
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Unhappy OS 9 only

can't really see any reason to upgrade until Photoshop and Quark Xpress run in X. I love the eye candy, but at least half of my work would need to be in Classic, so why bother? Hope to be upgraded by the end of 02, though. Maybe sooner if I get a new machine (not much of a choice now, eh? since it is the default os)
hinkhous is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2002, 05:50 PM   #18
mischief
macrumors 68030
 
mischief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santa Cruz Ca
Question X.1.2

It would be exclusive of Classic but for the fact that my CAD Co. botched the port.
mischief is offline   0
Old Jan 16, 2002, 07:07 PM   #19
Durandal7
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Quote:
Originally posted by Falleron


If you only run OSX have you got OS9 installed? Just wondering because shouldn't OSX be a lot quicker without OS9 intalled.
What I meant was I don't boot into 9. I only use classic now for photoshop. X runs good if the classic enviroment isn't booted so i use it on a as-needed basis.

Last edited by Durandal7; Jan 16, 2002 at 07:16 PM.
Durandal7 is offline   0
Old Jan 16, 2002, 09:42 PM   #20
Jarod
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sturgeon Bay, WI
OSX most of the day. But till Quark, PageMaker & Photoshop get their butt in gear I'll have to keep using 9.2 Also, Retrospect can't see OSX from a 9 backup server. So every night I gotta boot back to 9. Hope 5 fixes that.
Jarod is offline   0
Old Jan 16, 2002, 10:03 PM   #21
mmcneil
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Send a message via AIM to mmcneil
Cool But I need OS 9.0.4 for games

I work most of the time in X, still haven't upgraded to Office vX - that comes with my TiBook, soon hopefully. I use Appleworks as much as possible until then, love the PDF feature. Once I have Office vX then OS 9 will only be for games e.g Imperialism II only works pre 9.1, my other games seem to work fine in Classic... mostly strategy.
__________________
2008 iMac 6GB Ram, 256G SSD - 2013 MacBook Pro
-------|--------
(/____)-----* ====
mmcneil is offline   0
Old Jan 16, 2002, 10:10 PM   #22
Buggy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
tough descision


OSX at home

OS 8.5 - 9.2 at work (can't use OSX since we are on an NT network and classic will not work on an NT network)
Buggy is offline   0
Old Jan 16, 2002, 10:12 PM   #23
shergar
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London
Send a message via Yahoo to shergar
waiting for Photoshop

Have been a OS X user since the beta, but had to keep booting back into 9 to get any work done. Then along came 10.1 and now I only ever use 9 for photoshop. Once photoshop 7 comes out I'll be dumping Classic.
shergar is offline   0
Old Jan 17, 2002, 01:00 AM   #24
kaneda
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
9 75% X 25%

I am using 9 most of the time still, I love to use X but I am a graphic designer most softwares I need it still not support for X yet. Man, I was hoping Macromedia announced something at MAC World but nothing at all! I am just happy that Adobe is annoucing Photoshop. Golive and Livemotion. That probably will convert to X...I can live without Flash or Dreamweaver for awhile.

I am going to Video Production! So Apple better release new G4 or 5 Tower soon...Or I am converting to PC and FORGET ABOUT X!
__________________
WOW! LOOK AT THAT!
kaneda is offline   0
Old Jan 17, 2002, 01:29 AM   #25
GreenLyons
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: West Coast, USA
Angry have to use OS 9.1

I bought an aftermarket G3 chip to soup up my 8600, only to find out the manufacturer will not upgrade or support it. So Im stuck with OS 9.1. Would lvoe to run OSX, have played on it and it is stable.
GreenLyons is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 things: iBook g3 won't turn on, and using 9.1 install CD without OS 9 Drivers: In-Correct PowerPC Macs 2 Jun 16, 2011 05:07 PM
Do you use OS X Mail app too, or only MobileMe on the web? BacklitFirefly iCloud and Apple Services 12 Oct 17, 2010 10:18 AM
If You Use Gmail: Do You Use Apple's MAIL or Gmail Offline? Why? Benefits? etc.? HappyDude20 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 37 Dec 2, 2009 06:08 PM
how do I use OS 9 and OS X?? phreakout13 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 8 Jun 20, 2004 11:18 PM
How do you remove OS 9? SLJ Mac Applications and Mac App Store 6 Aug 2, 2003 09:53 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC