Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 23, 2012, 10:59 AM   #1
The Game 161
macrumors 68040
 
The Game 161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Apple TV question

Been thinking of getting it

Do i need an HD TV to use it? I have hdmi on my TV but no HD

Would i be able to watch NBA games through my TV vis the Nba.tv app? Or sky go through my Tv? Same with bbc iplayer

How do i contact it to my phone? Will the apple Tv just pick my iphone up?
The Game 161 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 11:14 AM   #2
mattopotamus
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
You have to use an HDMI cable to hook it to your TV...if you have HDMI you have an HD tv. NBA TV will cost you money just like MLB TV. To hook your phone to ATV you just use airplay. It shows up on you phone when you are on the same wifi network. It only mirrors video or streams musoc, not the actual phone like a Mac would with ML
mattopotamus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 11:15 AM   #3
Small White Car
macrumors G3
 
Small White Car's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Washington DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattopotamus View Post
It only mirrors video, not the actual phone like a Mac would with ML
It does mirror the phone screen, but I think it only works with the 4S.

Regardless, I do think you need at least a 720p TV, which the OP says he doesn't have. So short of a TV upgrade, I don't think an Apple TV will work.
Small White Car is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 11:18 AM   #4
mattopotamus
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Small White Car View Post
It does mirror the phone screen, but I think it only works with the 4S.

Regardless, I do think you need at least a 720p TV, which the OP says he doesn't have. So short of a TV upgrade, I don't think an Apple TV will work.
Hmm I didn't know it mirrored the screen. Are you sure about this, I thought that was only ipads and macs. I never have seen the airplay button on my home screen. If the OP has HDMI he has to have at least 720p
mattopotamus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 11:20 AM   #5
Small White Car
macrumors G3
 
Small White Car's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Washington DC
Double-click to bring up the switcher. Swipe right (to go left) and find the rotation lock button. Then swipe again to find the volume slider.

If you're currently connected to an Apple TV you'll see a sharing button there. If you're not, the button doesn't appear.
Small White Car is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 11:22 AM   #6
MonkeySee....
macrumors 68040
 
MonkeySee....'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattopotamus View Post
Hmm I didn't know it mirrored the screen. Are you sure about this, I thought that was only ipads and macs. I never have seen the airplay button on my home screen. If the OP has HDMI he has to have at least 720p
My 4S mirrors. Don't really use it but its there.
__________________
If you’re busy making everything, how can you perfect anything? - Apple

Always keep the rhythm in your feet and a little party in your shoulders. - Phil Dunphy
MonkeySee.... is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 11:22 AM   #7
Technarchy
macrumors 68040
 
Technarchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
I have a 4S and it mirrors everything on Apple TV
Technarchy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 11:24 AM   #8
From A Buick 8
macrumors 68020
 
From A Buick 8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ky Close to CinCinnati
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Game 161 View Post
Been thinking of getting it
Do i need an HD TV to use it? I have hdmi on my TV but no HD
What TV do you have that has an HDMI input, but is not HD.
__________________
Homemade Interocitor, iPad 4iPhone 5 32GB Black & Slate, iPod Touch 4th and 5th Gen, iPad 1st gen, iPhone 4, Two Apple TV's, -- 21.5-inch: 3.2GHz Intel Core i3 iMac.
From A Buick 8 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 11:27 AM   #9
Small White Car
macrumors G3
 
Small White Car's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Washington DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by From A Buick 8 View Post
What TV do you have that has an HDMI input, but is not HD.
It was a short-lived fad known as "EDTV." It was a way to sell slightly better TVs to people back when HD sets started at over $2,000.

Once HD prices came down, EDTV lost its reason to exist.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Enhance...ion_television
Small White Car is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 11:44 AM   #10
kemperman
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Small White Car View Post
It was a short-lived fad known as "EDTV." It was a way to sell slightly better TVs to people back when HD sets started at over $2,000.

Once HD prices came down, EDTV lost its reason to exist.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Enhance...ion_television
As the OP lives in the UK he would not have an EDTV (US only fad).

I would think he is confused between HD and FullHD (720p vs 1080p) which was another marketing craze created to make the gullible upgrade their 6 month old TV to FullHD a few years back, glad you didn't fall for it OP, pretty sure you have a 720p HDTV if you have HDMI and bought it in the UK!
__________________
...kemperman
kemperman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 07:03 PM   #11
From A Buick 8
macrumors 68020
 
From A Buick 8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ky Close to CinCinnati
Hey op post what tv you have, but as long as you have an HDMI input I do think the Atv will work for you.
__________________
Homemade Interocitor, iPad 4iPhone 5 32GB Black & Slate, iPod Touch 4th and 5th Gen, iPad 1st gen, iPhone 4, Two Apple TV's, -- 21.5-inch: 3.2GHz Intel Core i3 iMac.
From A Buick 8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 07:25 PM   #12
sandman42
macrumors 6502a
 
sandman42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Seattle
When the original TV first came out it was commonly misunderstood that it required an HDTV, but at the time Apple only said that it had to be a widescreen TV, not HD, and the menu had settings for 480. The current tech specs for the TV say: Compatible with high-definition TVs with HDMI and capable of 1080p or 720p at 60/50Hz, so the current version may not work for you.
__________________
Race fast, safe car.
sandman42 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2012, 04:39 AM   #13
The Game 161
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
The Game 161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
After doing some research it appears we do have a HD TV as having 3 options on HDMI means it must be one duh

I'm guessing iPhone and iPad it would work the same in terms of being on the screen for every app? The big reason to get it would be for the NBA so instead of watching it on my iPad or iPhone through the nba.tv app would be great to watch it on the tv Just need confirmation that I would be able to?

Thanks alot for your help guys
__________________
My Devices- Galaxy Note 3: Galaxy note pro 12.2 :Galaxy Note 8.0:Galaxy Gear: Ipad 2
The Game 161 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2012, 04:53 AM   #14
MonkeySee....
macrumors 68040
 
MonkeySee....'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Game 161 View Post
After doing some research it appears we do have a HD TV as having 3 options on HDMI means it must be one duh

I'm guessing iPhone and iPad it would work the same in terms of being on the screen for every app? The big reason to get it would be for the NBA so instead of watching it on my iPad or iPhone through the nba.tv app would be great to watch it on the tv Just need confirmation that I would be able to?

Thanks alot for your help guys
My dad had an old LG TV with and HDMI port and it wasn't a HDTV.
__________________
If you’re busy making everything, how can you perfect anything? - Apple

Always keep the rhythm in your feet and a little party in your shoulders. - Phil Dunphy
MonkeySee.... is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2012, 05:14 AM   #15
The Game 161
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
The Game 161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeySee.... View Post
My dad had an old LG TV with and HDMI port and it wasn't a HDTV.
Well this one is fairly newish... 2 years ago and it appears it is HD after doing some research.
The Game 161 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2012, 06:13 AM   #16
MonkeySee....
macrumors 68040
 
MonkeySee....'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Game 161 View Post
Well this one is fairly newish... 2 years ago and it appears it is HD after doing some research.
Ahh ok. Yeah his was about 4/5 years old. You should be good
__________________
If you’re busy making everything, how can you perfect anything? - Apple

Always keep the rhythm in your feet and a little party in your shoulders. - Phil Dunphy
MonkeySee.... is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2012, 06:14 AM   #17
heisenberg123
macrumors 603
 
heisenberg123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Game 161 View Post
Well this one is fairly newish... 2 years ago and it appears it is HD after doing some research.
Just do you research the nba app is not even on my atv3 I'm in Canada so it might be US only
__________________
15" i7 Quad Core MBP (Early 2011) 2.0GHz, 16GB RAM, 1TB HD, AMD Radeon HD 6490M(Intel HD Graphics 3000) OSX 10.9
16GB Samsung Galaxy SIII with 32GB microSD
heisenberg123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2012, 09:25 AM   #18
The Game 161
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
The Game 161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by iisforiphone View Post
Just do you research the nba app is not even on my atv3 I'm in Canada so it might be US only
Well our nba.tv app you could watch every game live via league pass on iPhone and iPad. So,hopefully it would be fine on the tv via apple TV
The Game 161 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2012, 09:44 AM   #19
heisenberg123
macrumors 603
 
heisenberg123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Game 161 View Post
Well our nba.tv app you could watch every game live via league pass on iPhone and iPad. So,hopefully it would be fine on the tv via apple TV
http://www.apple.com/uk/appletv/whats-on/

does not list NBA as an app on the ATV on the UK apple site
__________________
15" i7 Quad Core MBP (Early 2011) 2.0GHz, 16GB RAM, 1TB HD, AMD Radeon HD 6490M(Intel HD Graphics 3000) OSX 10.9
16GB Samsung Galaxy SIII with 32GB microSD
heisenberg123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple TV question's Harp77 Apple TV and Home Theater 10 Mar 7, 2014 08:21 AM
Question on Apple 5C mirasango iPhone 4 Mar 1, 2014 12:42 AM
Apple id question/ Email domain question bigMAC28 Community Discussion 1 Sep 22, 2013 07:04 PM
Question regarding apple ID and apple email redhawk87 iCloud and Apple Services 3 Oct 25, 2012 02:32 PM
Another 'new to Apple TV' question kraftwerk Apple TV and Home Theater 7 Oct 10, 2012 09:33 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC