Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 25, 2012, 04:44 PM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Adobe and Avid Report Only Minor Issues With Mountain Lion






Adobe and Avid have reported only minor issues with their applications on Mountain Lion, in a pair of posts on their respective websites.

The main issue with Avid's software is related to the Gatekeeper security feature:
Quote:
Avid is in the process of preparing code-signed versions of our applications and plug-ins that are compatible with Mountain Lion. We realize that users will temporarily wish to work with versions that are not yet signed. Unsigned software can trigger warning messages from Gatekeeper which Avid users can easily bypass, then proceed to install and run their software.
Avid does report a few small problems when using Pro Tools 10.2 and lower, including a problem with Core Audio and another regarding some commands ceasing to function.

Adobe says that there are no known issues with Adobe CS apps and Mountain Lion.
Quote:
Adobe and Apple have worked closely together to test Adobe® Creative Suite® 5, 5.5 and CS6 editions and individual products for reliability, performance and user experience when installed on Intel® based systems running Mac OS X Mountain Lion (v10.8). Earlier versions of Adobe Photoshop® (CS3 and CS4) software were also tested with Mountain Lion and there are currently no known issues.
Adobe requests that users discovering problems report them to Adobe.

Article Link: Adobe and Avid Report Only Minor Issues With Mountain Lion
MacRumors is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 04:53 PM   #2
Artful Dodger
macrumors 68020
 
Artful Dodger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: In a false sense of reality...My Mind!
I'm making sure about my Topaz plug-ins for PS & Aperture 3 not to mention making sure my printers are supported and no issues before I take the plunge this round.
__________________
27" iMac, 3.4GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, 1TB HDD + 256GB SSD, AMD Radeon HD 6970M 2GB; Quad G-Drive; 12" Wacom Cintiq
Artful Dodger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 04:56 PM   #3
Baklava
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Germany
I'll use Snow Leopard as my work OS anyway. It is just stable and works perfectly.
__________________
MacRumors 'iOS 7 Beta Suggests Non-Retina [...] iPad Mini in Development' - NutsNGum 'These are going to sell like hot cacks. Pun very much intended.' - bjsterilite 'Wut?.'
Baklava is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 05:01 PM   #4
timshundo
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Francisco, CA
Send a message via AIM to timshundo
Fireworks CS6 is pretty buggy under ML. Every time you export a document, you get a dialog box that says "File could not be found" even though it saves. Doesn't make sense. Not to mention a bunch of random, unfamiliar crashes that don't take advantage of Firework's File Recovery on crash. :/
timshundo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 05:01 PM   #5
unobtainium
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Isn't this the whole point of providing developer previews? They've had months to prepare for Mountain Lion.
unobtainium is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 05:03 PM   #6
adildacoolset
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lusaka, Zambia(If you know where it is)
sometimes it's best to leave things alone and let the problem solve itself
__________________
Last edited by adildacoolset; Tomorrow at 09:42 AM. Reason: grammar error
adildacoolset is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 05:06 PM   #7
cargath
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by unobtainium View Post
Isn't this the whole point of providing developer previews? They've had months to prepare for Mountain Lion.
Exactly my thoughts. Why does Adobe always wait till the actual release instead of using the developer previews?
cargath is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 05:07 PM   #8
jpitcairn
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
surprised how quickly Avid made a comment!
__________________
13" Macbook (2.4GHz, 8GB RAM, 500GB HD, Nvidia 320M), iPhone 4 16GB, iPad 2 16GB WiFi, iPod Nano 4G
jpitcairn is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 05:08 PM   #9
jrlcopy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by unobtainium View Post
Isn't this the whole point of providing developer previews? They've had months to prepare for Mountain Lion.
Based on my experience for working for a major software company, things can ~sometimes~ change fairly drastically between each developer preview, especially when the company shipping the updates tends to never share any specific direction with where things are going. So to save time/money devs find it better to wait till after the GM ships.
__________________
15" Macbook Pro i7 / 8gb ram / Lion / Windows 8
Avid Symphony 6.5
jrlcopy is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 05:20 PM   #10
pubwvj
macrumors 68000
 
pubwvj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Mountains of Vermont
There should be no issues. If an application works under MacOS 1.0 (not X) then it should also run fine under MacOSX10.7 what ever. Apple should not be breaking our tools. Same goes for the hardware side. The modern computer has the capability, the power, to do any necessary emulation. All old software all the way back should work on any new Apple hardware including using it on the iOS.
__________________
-Walter Jeffries
Sugar Mountain Farm
Pastured Pigs, Chickens & Kids in the mountains of Vermont
http://SugarMtnFarm.com
pubwvj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 05:24 PM   #11
skellener
macrumors 65816
 
skellener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: So. Cal.
http://roaringapps.com

CS5 & 5.5 After Effects report "Some problems in 10.8"

I don't see CS6 listed.
__________________
2013 nMP iPhone 5 S⃣ iPad 2
skellener is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 05:32 PM   #12
KnightWRX
macrumors Pentium
 
KnightWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Quebec, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by cargath View Post
Exactly my thoughts. Why does Adobe always wait till the actual release instead of using the developer previews?
What makes you think they waited ? Seems to me if they can report this today, they've been testing for quite a while, which means they have been following the developer previews.

Or do you think testing is done in a few hours ?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by pubwvj View Post
There should be no issues. If an application works under MacOS 1.0 (not X) then it should also run fine under MacOSX10.7 what ever. Apple should not be breaking our tools. Same goes for the hardware side. The modern computer has the capability, the power, to do any necessary emulation. All old software all the way back should work on any new Apple hardware including using it on the iOS.
Not the way it works unfortunately. APIs and subsystems get deprecated and replaced with better, more robust code. Bugs get fixed and application that were written under the assumptions that these bugs exist might break on working versions of system calls or API methods/functions.

To go forward, sometimes you just have to break with the past. It's how computing works. Systems that drag around legacy code and bit rot suffer greatly from degraded performance and bloat.

I don't think you quite understand how modern computers work if you think you can just emulate old code paths indefinitely and you don't quite understand software if you think that is even something that's desired.
__________________
"What you leave behind is not what is engraved in stone monuments, but what is woven into the lives of others."
-- Pericles
KnightWRX is offline   9 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 05:37 PM   #13
Saturn1217
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Does anyone know if cs4 illustrator and InDesign work on mountain lion? I only have access to these old versions for work. Don't require them to run perfectly. Just hoping they function OK considering I have no trouble with them in lion.
Saturn1217 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 06:38 PM   #14
sweetbrat
macrumors 65816
 
sweetbrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Redford, MI
Quote:
Originally Posted by pubwvj View Post
There should be no issues. If an application works under MacOS 1.0 (not X) then it should also run fine under MacOSX10.7 what ever. Apple should not be breaking our tools. Same goes for the hardware side. The modern computer has the capability, the power, to do any necessary emulation. All old software all the way back should work on any new Apple hardware including using it on the iOS.
I can't believe this is even a serious post. Systems change, and pulling a bunch of legacy stuff into an updated operating system so that absolutely nothing breaks is ridiculous. That's how things get crazily bloated.

It's not all that often that I agree with KnightWRX, but this is one of the times when I do. In order for operating systems to progress, they can't be saddled with 10 years of legacy stuff. Every once in a while you need to update your software. Get used to it.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 2.2GHz i7, Crucial M4 SSD (Early 2011); 15" MacBook Pro (late 2008); Mac Pro 1,1 2.66GHz Dual-Core Xeon; 32GB iPad Mini; iPhone 4S 32GB; 6th gen iPod Nano
sweetbrat is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 06:47 PM   #15
firedept
macrumors Demi-God
 
firedept's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturn1217 View Post
Does anyone know if cs4 illustrator and InDesign work on mountain lion? I only have access to these old versions for work. Don't require them to run perfectly. Just hoping they function OK considering I have no trouble with them in lion.
Have CS4 on one iMac and CS5.5 on other iMac. Both are working fine. Both versions of Master Collections seem to be working fine. I use Dreamweaver, Indesign, Illustrator, Photoshop and After Effects the most and have had no issues so far on either version. Been using them all day since I upgraded to ML. Have opened the other programs as well but not used them for any length of time.
firedept is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 06:58 PM   #16
milo
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by unobtainium View Post
Isn't this the whole point of providing developer previews? They've had months to prepare for Mountain Lion.
You obviously haven't dealt with Pro Tools (Avid).

I don't see why people are complaining about Adobe, they're saying things are fine for the most part.
milo is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 06:59 PM   #17
AriX
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Send a message via AIM to AriX Send a message via Skype™ to AriX
Quote:
Originally Posted by pubwvj View Post
There should be no issues. If an application works under MacOS 1.0 (not X) then it should also run fine under MacOSX10.7 what ever. Apple should not be breaking our tools. Same goes for the hardware side. The modern computer has the capability, the power, to do any necessary emulation. All old software all the way back should work on any new Apple hardware including using it on the iOS.
I do agree that Apple should try a bit harder with backwards compatibility; certainly I think that the latest versions of Safari, Xcode, iWork, and iCloud should run on Snow Leopard (the OS just isn't that old; the last update for it came a year ago today), and not supporting iOS 6 for the original iPad just sucks.

But Apple generally handles transitions extremely well. Think of the OS 9->OS X move, which was well executed with the Classic/Carbon/Cocoa strategy. Plus the PowerPC->Intel transition, which, save for Intuit products and maybe Microsoft and Adobe, end users really didn't need to worry about thanks to Rosetta and Universal Binaries. We're also currently in a transition between 32-bit and 64-bit, which Apple is handling deftly and quietly, also thanks to Universal/fat binaries. (When was the last time you had to worry about whether you should run a 32-bit or 64-bit app on your Mac? Probably never. These are things Windows users have to deal with.)

But sometimes, it's time to move on. Removing Rosetta from OS X saved a lot of time and effort for Apple; they no longer had to compile the entire operating system for three different platforms (ppc, i386, x86_64). Removing 32-bit support in Lion similarly saved Apple from having to target the kernel for two platforms (or three, if you include iOS) every build. I wish they had waited an extra year or two before getting rid of Rosetta, but such is life. It's Apple's decision, and other than Quicken, it hasn't been a huge deal for most users.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro with Retina display. iPhone 5. Mac/iOS developer.
@AriX
AriX is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 07:21 PM   #18
Cursor
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Anybody know if QuarkXpress 8.5.1 works? I know it's not an Adobe product, but I figured designers might be scanning this thread for compatibility issues.
__________________
#^@$*%!!
Cursor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 07:27 PM   #19
Yamcha
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
I can confirm no issues with Adobe Photoshop, Fireworks, Illustrator or Dreamweaver CS6..
Yamcha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 08:19 PM   #20
jpine
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by pubwvj View Post
There should be no issues. If an application works under MacOS 1.0 (not X) then it should also run fine under MacOSX10.7 what ever. Apple should not be breaking our tools. Same goes for the hardware side. The modern computer has the capability, the power, to do any necessary emulation. All old software all the way back should work on any new Apple hardware including using it on the iOS.
If it were only so. A good friend watched his ProTools recording software (only two years or so old) cease to function with Lion.
jpine is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 08:59 PM   #21
newagemac
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamcha View Post
I can confirm no issues with Adobe Photoshop, Fireworks, Illustrator or Dreamweaver CS6..
Somebody else mentioned Fireworks throws an error message on every file export. So you're not seeing that? I do web design so Photoshop I don't care about. But I can't switch to ML if Fireworks isn't working.
newagemac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 09:32 PM   #22
Yamcha
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by newagemac View Post
Somebody else mentioned Fireworks throws an error message on every file export. So you're not seeing that? I do web design so Photoshop I don't care about. But I can't switch to ML if Fireworks isn't working.
I'm a Web Designer as well =), I've switched over to Fireworks for the vast majority of my works a while back, but yes I can confirm that exporting works without issue.. I'm not getting any errors using Fireworks CS6..
Yamcha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 10:28 PM   #23
Alex72
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artful Dodger View Post
I'm making sure about my Topaz plug-ins for PS & Aperture 3 not to mention making sure my printers are supported and no issues before I take the plunge this round.
I'm with you. Running CS4 + a bunch of Topaz plug-ins under 10.6.8, and waiting for a good, solid 'all clear' -- especially as I can't remember where all my install media are.
__________________
G5/2.0DP 7GB/1TB/2TB/, ATI 9600/128
Quadra 605, 20MB/80MB
iPods: 32GB 4G "Touch"; "Photo" 20GB; "Mini" 4GB (Silver)
Alex72 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 11:28 PM   #24
batchtaster
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpine View Post
If it were only so. A good friend watched his ProTools recording software (only two years or so old) cease to function with Lion.
So, why did he upgrade then? Audio/video professionals never upgrade until the vendor comes out with a support statement and any patches, because that software is core to that person's job.

Apple may have broken Pro Tools, but your friend broke his own computer by upgrading carelessly.
batchtaster is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 11:40 PM   #25
Sylon
macrumors 68000
 
Sylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Michigan/Ohio, USA
I don't have any of the CS programs, can't afford them. I do, however, have the Elements 10 Suite with Photoshop and Premiere.

I'll be able to test their compatibility tomorrow morning.


Unless someone already has???
__________________
2013 13" Retina MacBook Pro | 32GB iPhone 4S | 32GB iPad Air | TV
16GB Samsung GS4 | 16GB Nexus 4 | 16GB Nexus 7
Sylon is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mountain Lion Server causing Adobe Acrobat and Reader to crash on viewed PDFs Makosuke Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 9 Sep 11, 2013 03:14 PM
mid '10 MBP on Lion, does new Mountain Lion 10.8.2 fixes issues found on older models amyangel OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Sep 19, 2012 10:00 PM
Some minor Mountain Lion problems Holte139 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Sep 14, 2012 07:41 AM
Adobe Elements 10 and Mountain Lion mxrver OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Aug 12, 2012 02:00 PM
report a mountain lion bluetooth file exchange bug! lordrings OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jul 12, 2012 02:54 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC