Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 25, 2012, 09:12 PM   #1
Sybrant
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
ATV3 & OSX Mountain Lion display issue

Soon after upgrading to my newly acquired OSXML, I instantly started play around with the Airplay mirroring. I come to find out that whenever I mirror my screen to my television, it only shows my desktop screen in the top left corner of the screen and a bit of the left is cut off from view. Anyone having these issues, or are there any remedies?
Sybrant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 09:53 PM   #2
Stolz25
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
I haven't played with it much but I noticed there was an option to choose which display to set the resolution to. I had mine set to the apple tv and it worked great.
Stolz25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 10:03 PM   #3
dericks0n
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
To my amazement after purchasing the upgrade to ML today, the AirPlay feature I was looking forward to more than any other was unavailable. Apparently Apple is trying the same trick they did with mobile phones. AirPlay is unavailable for an Macbook purchased before 2011. What a joke!!!!
dericks0n is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 10:20 PM   #4
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dericks0n View Post
To my amazement after purchasing the upgrade to ML today, the AirPlay feature I was looking forward to more than any other was unavailable. Apparently Apple is trying the same trick they did with mobile phones. AirPlay is unavailable for an Macbook purchased before 2011. What a joke!!!!
You wouldn't be amazed if you took the time to read the specs, which clearly state:
Quote:
AirPlay Mirroring
Requires a second-generation Apple TV or later. Supports the following Mac models:
  • iMac (Mid 2011 or newer)
  • Mac mini (Mid 2011 or newer)
  • MacBook Air (Mid 2011 or newer)
  • MacBook Pro (Early 2011 or newer)
Apple - OS*X Mountain Lion - Read the technical specifications.
Now, what's the joke?
GGJstudios is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 10:30 PM   #5
Sybrant
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
You wouldn't be amazed if you took the time to read the specs, which clearly state:

Apple - OS*X Mountain Lion - Read the technical specifications.
Now, what's the joke?
That is unbelievable, I can't believe that they would blind side macbook owners like that - oh well.

On another note, the resolution problem fixed itself - just needed to reboot
Sybrant is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 10:41 PM   #6
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sybrant View Post
That is unbelievable, I can't believe that they would blind side macbook owners like that -
They didn't "blind side" anyone. They published the requirements for anyone to see. If someone didn't read it, that's their fault. Apple can't be held responsible for anyone's failure to gather facts before making decisions.
GGJstudios is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 09:44 AM   #7
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
They didn't "blind side" anyone. They published the requirements for anyone to see. If someone didn't read it, that's their fault. Apple can't be held responsible for anyone's failure to gather facts before making decisions.
Not to mention it's been discussed at multiple websites. Frankly, if you do any investigation at all, no matter how cursory, I have to believe you would see that ML mirroring would not work on pre-2011 macs.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 09:51 AM   #8
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
AirPlay mirroring uses Intel QuickSync, which is a realtime encoder/decoder for H264 (which is what Apple uses to send a feed to the Apple TV).

This technology is only available to Intel processors after Sandy Bridge.

So if you have an MBP from 2011 and up, you will get AirPlay mirroring.

Use AirParrot if you want to use mirroring on an older mac.

http://airparrot.com/
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 09:59 AM   #9
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDAVE View Post
AirPlay mirroring uses Intel QuickSync, which is a realtime encoder/decoder for H264 (which is what Apple uses to send a feed to the Apple TV).

This technology is only available to Intel processors after Sandy Bridge.

So if you have an MBP from 2011 and up, you will get AirPlay mirroring.

Use AirParrot if you want to use mirroring on an older mac.

http://airparrot.com/
AirParrot is a poor substitute, laggy, juddery, pixelated and you can cook dinner on your Mac's CPU while using it (even worse when trying to mirror flash video, which is also CPU intensive)...but I guess it's the best option out of the other mirroring apps that mirror directly from the mac to the aTV.

Edit: I need to qualify my statement. Apparently it works better on multi-core processors...at least that's what some people say.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR

Last edited by mic j; Jul 26, 2012 at 10:03 AM. Reason: additional info
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 10:03 AM   #10
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
AirParrot is a poor substitute, laggy, juddery, pixelated and you can cook dinner on your Mac's CPU while using it (even worse when trying to mirror flash video, which is also CPU intensive)...but I guess it's the best option out of the other mirroring apps that mirror directly from the mac to the aTV.
Um that's the whole point.

AirPlay is super smooth because Apple uses Intel QuickSync and the CPU takes care of the realtime hardware encoding/decoding.

If you don't have Intel QuickSync, then your best option is AirParrot or a direct connection to your HDTV.
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 10:09 AM   #11
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDAVE View Post
Um that's the whole point.

AirPlay is super smooth because Apple uses Intel QuickSync and the CPU takes care of the realtime hardware encoding/decoding.

If you don't have Intel QuickSync, then your best option is AirParrot or a direct connection to your HDTV.
I know that's the point and agree with you 100%. I just see multiple posts on the forum that AirParrot is a solution and I suppose it is...a poor solution though if you don't have a multicore mac. The best recommendation that I can make is to use the trial and really challenge it by trying to play flash video, bluray files, etc before giving them money. I tried it and thought it looked fairly good, but I didn't really challenge it.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 10:52 AM   #12
j4mbo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Hi guys,

I know this is a pretty naive question but I don't remember when I got my laptop. Is there anyway of finding out if my MBP is suitable for airplay mirroring before I shell out the 100 bucks for Apple TV?


Thanks
j4mbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 10:59 AM   #13
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by j4mbo View Post
Hi guys,

I know this is a pretty naive question but I don't remember when I got my laptop. Is there anyway of finding out if my MBP is suitable for airplay mirroring before I shell out the 100 bucks for Apple TV?


Thanks
click on the apple in the upper righthand corner. click on About This Mac, then More Info. If it does not state the year made, there is a website you can go to, put in the serial # (also found in the About This Mac info) and it will give you more information about your mac than you thought possible. Google for the website as I don't remember it off hand. Also, if it's core duo anything, don't bother looking anything up...your hosed.

Edit: http://www.appleserialnumberinfo.com/Desktop/index.php (I'm in a good mood so I did it for you.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR

Last edited by mic j; Jul 26, 2012 at 11:05 AM. Reason: updated info
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 11:19 AM   #14
bearda
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germantown, MD
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sybrant View Post
Soon after upgrading to my newly acquired OSXML, I instantly started play around with the Airplay mirroring. I come to find out that whenever I mirror my screen to my television, it only shows my desktop screen in the top left corner of the screen and a bit of the left is cut off from view. Anyone having these issues, or are there any remedies?
I'm having the same problem. Even when I tell it to match the desktop size to the apple TV all I get is a portion of my iMac's display. I can't select the iMac as an option. It's there, but when I clock on it nothing happens and the shceck box stays on the apple tv.

I've noticed a lot of odd little bugs when playing with the settings, too. If I enable airplay mirroring from the menu bar it still shows Off in System Preferences. Then when I click on the dropdown in System Preferences both Off and the AppleTV are selected. If I turn it off in the preferences dropdown, then turn it back on the same way the menu bar icon goes from blue to black, then stays that way even though mirroring is on.

I'm not impressed so far.
bearda is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 12:29 PM   #15
Outrigger
macrumors 68000
 
Outrigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDAVE View Post
AirPlay mirroring uses Intel QuickSync, which is a realtime encoder/decoder for H264 (which is what Apple uses to send a feed to the Apple TV).

This technology is only available to Intel processors after Sandy Bridge.

So if you have an MBP from 2011 and up, you will get AirPlay mirroring.

Use AirParrot if you want to use mirroring on an older mac.

http://airparrot.com/
mid 2011 air uses sandy bridge and airplay works, so I'm not sure what you mean by only available AFTER Sandy Bridge.
__________________
iMac | Intel i7 3.4GHz | 32GB RAM | 1TB Fusion | GTX 680MX
Mini | Intel i5 2.5GHz | 8GB RAM | 750GBSSD | AMD 6630M
rMBP 13 | Intel i5 2.6Ghz | 8GB RAM | 512GB SSD
Outrigger is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 02:45 PM   #16
Bfarmer38119
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bearda View Post
I'm having the same problem. Even when I tell it to match the desktop size to the apple TV all I get is a portion of my iMac's display. I can't select the iMac as an option. It's there, but when I clock on it nothing happens and the shceck box stays on the apple tv.

I've noticed a lot of odd little bugs when playing with the settings, too. If I enable airplay mirroring from the menu bar it still shows Off in System Preferences. Then when I click on the dropdown in System Preferences both Off and the AppleTV are selected. If I turn it off in the preferences dropdown, then turn it back on the same way the menu bar icon goes from blue to black, then stays that way even though mirroring is on.

I'm not impressed so far.
I think this is a Mountain Lion bug. Check out the crash report from your console. I reported it to Apple support.
Bfarmer38119 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 08:34 PM   #17
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by Outrigger View Post
mid 2011 air uses sandy bridge and airplay works, so I'm not sure what you mean by only available AFTER Sandy Bridge.
?? Was my statement that unclear?

What does AFTER Sandy Bridge mean? That means anything after Sandy Bridge and above.

Sandy Bridge, Ivy Bridge (current), and in the future.

Your Air 2011 with SB will work as well.

God, this forum makes me lose faith in humanity sometimes.
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 11:36 PM   #18
Outrigger
macrumors 68000
 
Outrigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDAVE View Post
?? Was my statement that unclear?

What does AFTER Sandy Bridge mean? That means anything after Sandy Bridge and above.

Sandy Bridge, Ivy Bridge (current), and in the future.

Your Air 2011 with SB will work as well.

God, this forum makes me lose faith in humanity sometimes.
Are you serious? AFTER sandy bridge means EXCLUDING sandy bridge. its OK if english isn't your first language. And please, this isn't day time soap, so there's no drama needed.
__________________
iMac | Intel i7 3.4GHz | 32GB RAM | 1TB Fusion | GTX 680MX
Mini | Intel i5 2.5GHz | 8GB RAM | 750GBSSD | AMD 6630M
rMBP 13 | Intel i5 2.6Ghz | 8GB RAM | 512GB SSD
Outrigger is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2012, 01:10 AM   #19
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by Outrigger View Post
Are you serious? AFTER sandy bridge means EXCLUDING sandy bridge. its OK if english isn't your first language. And please, this isn't day time soap, so there's no drama needed.
Oh lord. Are you seriously telling me you have never heard the saying "After so and so?"

Let's not get into semantics. It's understandable that the capability to understand a simple sentence is not there, but it's best to try to cope with reading more, listening (especially listening), maybe watching a bit more television. Just to increase your readership ability in the English language.

It's well known that the U.S. Education system is failing to teach it's graduates the means of understanding the English language, but I hope readers such as yourself have had a higher education...but if the latter is true, then I would go back and complain to your teachers that they weren't able to teach you basics of the language and/or corrected you when you made the mistake.

Good luck !
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2012, 08:00 AM   #20
hipnetic
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDAVE View Post
Oh lord. Are you seriously telling me you have never heard the saying "After so and so?"
Your insulting tone isn't warranted. Your original statement *was* worded poorly. You should have stated something like "as of Sandy Bridge" or "Sandy Bridge and newer".
hipnetic is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2012, 08:12 AM   #21
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by hipnetic View Post
Your insulting tone isn't warranted. Your original statement *was* worded poorly. You should have stated something like "as of Sandy Bridge" or "Sandy Bridge and newer".
It was not. It might be because you're from a rural area and you have never heard of a similar sentence. It happens. You're in the wrong, here. Let it go
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2012, 09:02 AM   #22
hipnetic
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
I love it. By all means, please continue to argue in favor of using 'after' in a way contrary to common sense and Webster's definition of the word. So, if I asked you to list all of the numbers that come after 8, you would include the number 8 in your list?
hipnetic is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2012, 09:32 AM   #23
Outrigger
macrumors 68000
 
Outrigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDAVE View Post
Oh lord. Are you seriously telling me you have never heard the saying "After so and so?"

Let's not get into semantics. It's understandable that the capability to understand a simple sentence is not there, but it's best to try to cope with reading more, listening (especially listening), maybe watching a bit more television. Just to increase your readership ability in the English language.

It's well known that the U.S. Education system is failing to teach it's graduates the means of understanding the English language, but I hope readers such as yourself have had a higher education...but if the latter is true, then I would go back and complain to your teachers that they weren't able to teach you basics of the language and/or corrected you when you made the mistake.

Good luck !
You're right. I shouldn't blame you for your lack of understanding of basic english, but place the blame on the US education system. Don't worry though, I'm not upset with you, I just feel sad for you, like in the old days when certain people insisted the earth was flat.
__________________
iMac | Intel i7 3.4GHz | 32GB RAM | 1TB Fusion | GTX 680MX
Mini | Intel i5 2.5GHz | 8GB RAM | 750GBSSD | AMD 6630M
rMBP 13 | Intel i5 2.6Ghz | 8GB RAM | 512GB SSD
Outrigger is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2012, 09:37 AM   #24
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by hipnetic View Post
I love it. By all means, please continue to argue in favor of using 'after' in a way contrary to common sense and Webster's definition of the word. So, if I asked you to list all of the numbers that come after 8, you would include the number 8 in your list?
Incorrect.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Outrigger View Post
You're right. I shouldn't blame you for your lack of understanding of basic english, but place the blame on the US education system. Don't worry though, I'm not upset with you, I just feel sad for you, like in the old days when certain people insisted the earth was flat.
Incorrect.
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium

Last edited by SDAVE; Jul 27, 2012 at 09:46 AM.
SDAVE is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How can I get rid of Lion Osx after mountain lion works ? ramram55 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Sep 18, 2012 12:32 PM
ATV3 and Mountain Lion - random pausing/not playing DS-21 Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Sep 16, 2012 09:48 AM
Display Issue after installing Mountain Lion cooky560 iMac 0 Aug 31, 2012 12:06 PM
Mountain Lion & Google Calendar Sync issue Pritch70 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 6 Aug 21, 2012 01:27 AM
Apple TV: Will Mountain Lion negate the need for a ATV3 jailbreak? satchmo Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 11 May 31, 2012 12:51 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC