Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 2, 2012, 07:57 AM   #51
b-rad g
macrumors 6502a
 
b-rad g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Looks like mine is finally working. Left it alone last night after I cleaned the cache and repaired the disk and permissions due to this problem... http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1416121

So all seems well, thanks guys!
b-rad g is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 12:54 PM   #52
Crazy Badger
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Scotland
Still can't get it to work on my 2010 MBA 13"

Do you reset the SMC by holding down the left shift-crtl-alt (option) and power key from off and then release and power only?

Do you have to hold the four buttons for any period of time or just press all together ands release?

Will try disk permissions and clearing cache as suggested in the linked thread too.
__________________
2013 MBA 13/1.7/8 2011 iMac 27/2.7/32 iPhone6 iPad rMini & 2 aTV2 & 3 16TB FreeNAS
Canon 5D Mk2, 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS Mk1, 24-105mm f/4 L IS, 50mm f/1.4
Crazy Badger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 01:04 PM   #53
slambert
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Rollback

Quote:
Originally Posted by Desmond-London View Post
Anyone know how to roll back to previous SMC Firmware? I'm worried that this will break something eventually.
Desmond-London asks a really good question.
I would really like to have a confirmed rollback option in place before I try it. If Apple does officially update the firmware for any reason installing this unofficial one could make things difficult then.

On thing that might make it difficult to rollback is it appears that this model has never had an SMC firmware update so there is no installer for the current/original firmware. See http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1237. Anyone want to take on the challenge?
slambert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 01:29 PM   #54
b-rad g
macrumors 6502a
 
b-rad g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by slambert View Post
Desmond-London asks a really good question.
I would really like to have a confirmed rollback option in place before I try it. If Apple does officially update the firmware for any reason installing this unofficial one could make things difficult then.

On thing that might make it difficult to rollback is it appears that this model has never had an SMC firmware update so there is no installer for the current/original firmware. See http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1237. Anyone want to take on the challenge?
If needed you can wipe and clean install and then restore from a Time Machine backup from before you installed the update. Just remember the day you installed it.
b-rad g is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 01:58 PM   #55
Kurthis
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by b-rad g View Post
If needed you can wipe and clean install and then restore from a Time Machine backup from before you installed the update. Just remember the day you installed it.
erm... no! The SMC is not some kind of software component sleeping on your HDD. It's a ROM-like part of the hardware. The process can't be reversed by doing a restore from a backup. Same for the EFI. And also a SMC reset or PRAM reset won't help you with it... If you do the update, you're stuck for the moment.

I've seen more of these kind of comments recently, and I'm somewhat concerned that the most out there don't really know what they're doing.

Be careful if you do such updates! And make sure you have the Mac the update was made for! I also already saw some guys trying these updates on 13" and 15" Macbook Pros with SSD installed... guess what happened... nice brick! *facepalm*
That's due to the fact, that these updates are not ment for the public and there are no checks built in them, which would prohibit the flashing process of the SMC. So be extra careful!

But the good news is: works like a charm on my 11" 2010 MBA
Kurthis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 02:19 PM   #56
kamuix
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: california
I tried it and it seems to be working on my 2010 13" macbook air.
kamuix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 09:04 PM   #57
surroundfan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Well, further to my earlier post it's definitely working here...

I fired up Google Chrome last night and it was already on version 21, despite me not having run it since version 20 was current. Lo and behold, looking at the logs in Console, Power Nap had run off to Google, grabbed the update and installed it...
__________________
Retina MacBook Pro: 13" 2.5GHz 8GB RAM 256GB SSD; Mac mini: i5 2.3GHz 8GB RAM 240GB SSD and 500GB HDD; iPhone: iPhone 5 64GB; iPad mini retina 64GB LTE
surroundfan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2012, 09:41 PM   #58
FabioR6
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
hello, first of all I apologize if there are spelling errors because I am French. I need your help because my brother had the great idea to install the update on his smc macbook pro mid 2010 !!! Yes !! Macbook Pro !!

except that the update has lost the lead straightforwardly to the mac. The only way to deliver it in good condition will submit its smc home that is: smc version origin 1,62F6

please said me that there is a way to retrieve the file smc a functional mac and put it back on his macbook because I counted well used to repurchase thank you in advance to you
FabioR6 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2012, 02:02 AM   #59
stiligFox
macrumors 6502a
 
stiligFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 10.0.1.3
Quote:
Originally Posted by FabioR6 View Post
hello, first of all I apologize if there are spelling errors because I am French. I need your help because my brother had the great idea to install the update on his smc macbook pro mid 2010 !!! Yes !! Macbook Pro !!

except that the update has lost the lead straightforwardly to the mac. The only way to deliver it in good condition will submit its smc home that is: smc version origin 1,62F6

please said me that there is a way to retrieve the file smc a functional mac and put it back on his macbook because I counted well used to repurchase thank you in advance to you
Unfortunately, you are, as they say, screwed. The firmware is something that, once updated, cannot be undone. Your best bet as far as I know would be to take it to either an Apple Store or local Apple retailer.

Malheureusement, vous êtes, comme on dit, vissé. Le firmware est quelque chose qui, une fois mis à jour, ne peut pas être annulée. Votre meilleur pari pour autant que je sais serait de le prendre soit à un Apple Store ou détaillant local Apple.

Désolé pour mon mauvais français!

Last edited by stiligFox; Aug 4, 2012 at 02:03 AM. Reason: Used Google Translate
stiligFox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2012, 06:35 PM   #60
Adriendod
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
What about Photostream? Does anybody got it to work?

Does iPhoto need to be open for it to work? It would be nice if it was working while iPhoto wasn't on cause nobody let's it on all the time..!
Adriendod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2012, 01:34 AM   #61
Toshibo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
I do to!!!

hello Fabio!
I nedd help to! I do same think in my macbook late 2008. You fix your macbook pro? please let me know.

thanks


Quote:
Originally Posted by FabioR6 View Post
hello, first of all I apologize if there are spelling errors because I am French. I need your help because my brother had the great idea to install the update on his smc macbook pro mid 2010 !!! Yes !! Macbook Pro !!

except that the update has lost the lead straightforwardly to the mac. The only way to deliver it in good condition will submit its smc home that is: smc version origin 1,62F6

please said me that there is a way to retrieve the file smc a functional mac and put it back on his macbook because I counted well used to repurchase thank you in advance to you
Toshibo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2012, 07:23 PM   #62
Toshibo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
You know hot to restore firmware back?




Quote:
Originally Posted by Reason077 View Post
Image



Yes, it's possible! You'll need to update your SMC Firmware using the following packages.

11" MacBook Air (Late 2010) - 2010MBA11.pkg
13" MacBook Air (Late 2010) - 2010MBA13.pkg

After installation, the Power Nap settings will appear in the Energy Saver preferences pane.

Disclaimer: Install at your own risk! These updates were pushed out during the Mountain Lion beta, but for whatever reason Apple has not yet made them generally available via software update. It's possible that issues were discovered with the updates during the ML beta, or maybe they just decided at the last minute not to release the update for older Macs.
Toshibo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2012, 07:44 PM   #63
bushido
macrumors 603
 
bushido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: España y Germany
oops delete pls, replied to the wrong topic
__________________
¡No hables a menos que puedas mejorar el silencio!
Don't judge me by my user name - I was young and stupid xD

Last edited by bushido; Aug 5, 2012 at 08:40 PM.
bushido is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2012, 08:00 PM   #64
bertopl
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
got mine working finally. I was mostly looking for a time machine backup but couldn't get it to work at first. I tried putting the notebook to sleep with the lid open and it finally completed a backup while sleeping. tried it again with the lid closed and it still worked!! I guess it just needed a kick-start. I'll see if it sticks after a reboot.
bertopl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2012, 07:40 AM   #65
Reason077
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toshibo View Post
You know hot to restore firmware back?
As far as I know, there's no way to roll back the SMC firmware, but I don't think there's any reason to want to do so. The update doesn't seem to cause any issues, and you can disable Power Nap easily in System Preferences if you don't want it.
Reason077 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2012, 12:02 PM   #66
stiligFox
macrumors 6502a
 
stiligFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 10.0.1.3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reason077 View Post
As far as I know, there's no way to roll back the SMC firmware, but I don't think there's any reason to want to do so. The update doesn't seem to cause any issues, and you can disable Power Nap easily in System Preferences if you don't want it.
The problem is that these people are installing this firmware on MacBook Pros, which it'll let them do since there are no checks
stiligFox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2012, 03:28 PM   #67
Reason077
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by stiligFox View Post
The problem is that these people are installing this firmware on MacBook Pros, which it'll let them do since there are no checks
Yikes! In that case you could see if an SMC firmware package is available for your model here:

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1237?v...S&locale=en_US
Reason077 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2012, 02:54 AM   #68
kklkn
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Exclamation

I downloaded the file for my 13" 2010 MBA, and it never worked until... I deactivated FileVault ! I don't know how but it must be related, but I thought FV only encrypted your HDD when you powered off your mac, not when you put it to sleep...
Anyway, if your powernap doesn't work and you have FileVault activated, try unchecking the box
kklkn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2012, 03:59 AM   #69
Troneas
macrumors 65816
 
Troneas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: At the alternatives section.
do apps such as mail need to be running in order to work?
Troneas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2012, 10:12 AM   #70
kennco
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
since update my MacBook Air Late 2010 with the SMC, I have a very high CPU usage. Is there a way to get the original SMC back?
Downloding the orig. EFI Update from Apple Support and tried to install is unfortunately not possible. There is a warning message that the software is not supported by my systen.
Hope somebody can help.
Thanks in advance.
kennco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2012, 01:48 PM   #71
Desmond-London
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Regarding the questions on whether app must be running in order to update while on power nap - yes. Only few apps are currently supported, including mail, calendar and contacts. Photo stream wi update on both; iPhoto and aperture, but they also must be runing.

There's more while your MacBook is plugged in - it'll then run hourly TM backups, check and download updates from app store etc...
Desmond-London is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2012, 06:23 PM   #72
eyeless
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Dark Wake

Somehow checking of e-mail while the MacBook Air late 2010 is closed works without installing Power Nap support. When I detach the charger in the morning the MBA performs a "Dark Wake" connects to the Airport network and downloads e-mails which is on the computer when I later open it (and already have deleted some of them on my iPhone). Unfortunately Dropbox does not sync until I open the lid ... . So guess I only need Power Nap if I also rely on long TM backups? ...
eyeless is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 06:00 AM   #73
dragon2611
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desmond-London View Post
Confirmed - power nap will only work on Intel Ivy Bridge processors.

Do you guys know of a way to roll back SMC Firmware, to whatever it was previously?
Will format do the job?

Its supported on Sandy Bridge as well AFAIK, My 2011 MBA got an SMC update via software update to support it after installing ML.
dragon2611 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 08:01 AM   #74
deeznutz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
late 2010 11" air. TM power nap working after using the OP's SMC update. I did fix disk permissions and reset SMC after the update and did 2 reboots.

after update before SMC reset and disk permission repair I was getting high CPU usage (25%). After SMC reset, disk permission repair and reboot CPU usage down to normal (3 - 6%).

thanks to OP!
deeznutz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 06:45 PM   #75
Toshibo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bertopl View Post
got mine working finally. I was mostly looking for a time machine backup but couldn't get it to work at first. I tried putting the notebook to sleep with the lid open and it finally completed a backup while sleeping. tried it again with the lid closed and it still worked!! I guess it just needed a kick-start. I'll see if it sticks after a reboot.
My macbook aluminium late 2008 is almost dead! i only can boot in snow leopard or windows, and my fan go crazy, and i need external monitor, if i don't have external monitor just go sleep. I take my mac to apple store to tray fix, but the can't fix there.
Toshibo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does late (2013) iMac support power nap? 212rikanmofo iMac 2 Oct 5, 2013 03:47 AM
Resolved: 2010 Late MacBook Air, 2012 MacBook Air Hexaedro MacBook Air 5 Jan 15, 2013 08:55 PM
Power Nap On The MacBook Air jonathanlaniado MacBook Air 34 Sep 22, 2012 12:57 AM
Does Air Server work in power-nap mode? Nova Sensei MacBook Air 2 Aug 2, 2012 01:54 AM
Power Nap Late 2010 MBA? John25 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Jul 25, 2012 11:10 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC