Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 1, 2005, 04:06 PM   #1
4thWall
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
upgrading new ibook RAM

I understand that the new ibook RAM needs to be:
200 PIN SODIMM- DDR - PC 2700. Is that correct. I want to upgrade to the max at 1.5 and i will buy memory from one of the companys. Does anyone know which RAM works best in MAC Computers. Viking or Kingston? Crucial? Thanks
4thWall is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2005, 04:43 PM   #2
grapes911
Demi-God (Moderator emeritus)
 
grapes911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Citizens Bank Park
Like this hasn't been covered before. Try searching, but I'll answer it anyway. It uses PC2700 SODIMMs but not all RAM works in Macs. They are very picky. Assuming you are in the US, I'd look at datamem.com. Crucial is usually on the expensive side, but they are very good. Just make sure who ever you purchase it from guarantees it to work in your Mac.
__________________
grapes911 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2005, 05:12 PM   #3
BlizzardBomb
macrumors 68030
 
BlizzardBomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: England
Crucial is ever so slightly more expensive but they have a reallllly good guarantee.
__________________
Mid '09 13" MBP, Rev. B iMac G5
Retired: 4th Gen iPod 20 GB, 1st Gen iPod nano 2 GB, iPod classic 80 GB
BlizzardBomb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2005, 05:29 PM   #4
OryHara
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Bruno, CA
Send a message via AIM to OryHara
i third for crucial
__________________
1.25 G4 Power Mac
333 G3 iMac
AMD 3000+ (for gaming)
4G 20GB ipod
OryHara is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2005, 05:31 PM   #5
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by grapes911
Like this hasn't been covered before. Try searching, but I'll answer it anyway. It uses PC2700 SODIMMs but not all RAM works in Macs. They are very picky. Assuming you are in the US, I'd look at datamem.com. Crucial is usually on the expensive side, but they are very good. Just make sure who ever you purchase it from guarantees it to work in your Mac.
Thanks Grapes, saved me some wear and tear on the fingertips
Trevor
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2005, 06:17 PM   #6
dmw007
macrumors 603
 
dmw007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Working for MI-6
Crucial- enough said.
__________________
3.2 GHz Mac Pro Nehalem
PowerBook 1400cs/133, 450MHz G4 Cube, 500MHz Pismo
iPhone 3GS, 60GB iPod
dmw007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading RAM jkim3691 MacBook 2 Mar 17, 2014 05:53 PM
Upgrading Ram HamzaAlsadr MacBook Pro 5 Nov 17, 2013 03:20 PM
Upgrading RAM Gman021 Mac mini 14 Jul 23, 2013 12:37 PM
Upgrading from 1x1GB 200pin 1067Mhz RAM to 4x4GB 1333Mhz 204pin RAM aningbo MacBook Pro 10 Jul 7, 2013 07:07 PM
Help with Upgrading RAM? timiscute MacBook 6 Mar 9, 2013 08:00 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC