Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 1, 2005, 03:06 PM   #1
4thWall
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
upgrading new ibook RAM

I understand that the new ibook RAM needs to be:
200 PIN SODIMM- DDR - PC 2700. Is that correct. I want to upgrade to the max at 1.5 and i will buy memory from one of the companys. Does anyone know which RAM works best in MAC Computers. Viking or Kingston? Crucial? Thanks
4thWall is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2005, 03:43 PM   #2
grapes911
Moderator
 
grapes911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Citizens Bank Park
Like this hasn't been covered before. Try searching, but I'll answer it anyway. It uses PC2700 SODIMMs but not all RAM works in Macs. They are very picky. Assuming you are in the US, I'd look at datamem.com. Crucial is usually on the expensive side, but they are very good. Just make sure who ever you purchase it from guarantees it to work in your Mac.
__________________
grapes911 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2005, 04:12 PM   #3
BlizzardBomb
macrumors 68030
 
BlizzardBomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: England
Crucial is ever so slightly more expensive but they have a reallllly good guarantee.
__________________
Mid '09 13" MBP, Rev. B iMac G5
Retired: 4th Gen iPod 20 GB, 1st Gen iPod nano 2 GB, iPod classic 80 GB
BlizzardBomb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2005, 04:29 PM   #4
OryHara
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Bruno, CA
Send a message via AIM to OryHara
i third for crucial
__________________
1.25 G4 Power Mac
333 G3 iMac
AMD 3000+ (for gaming)
4G 20GB ipod
OryHara is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2005, 04:31 PM   #5
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by grapes911
Like this hasn't been covered before. Try searching, but I'll answer it anyway. It uses PC2700 SODIMMs but not all RAM works in Macs. They are very picky. Assuming you are in the US, I'd look at datamem.com. Crucial is usually on the expensive side, but they are very good. Just make sure who ever you purchase it from guarantees it to work in your Mac.
Thanks Grapes, saved me some wear and tear on the fingertips
Trevor
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2005, 05:17 PM   #6
dmw007
macrumors 603
 
dmw007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Working for MI-6
Crucial- enough said.
__________________
3.2 GHz Mac Pro Nehalem
PowerBook 1400cs/133, 450MHz G4 Cube, 500MHz Pismo
iPhone 3GS, 60GB iPod
dmw007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new iBook RAM runs at 266 and not 333 as described by the apple store lizard79 Macintosh Computers 5 Aug 15, 2005 12:58 PM
New ibook ram Cfly Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive) 4 Aug 1, 2005 01:11 PM
Testing new iBook ram upgrade? LARRY907 Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive) 5 Jan 8, 2005 05:36 PM
New iBook ram amount... 768MB or 1.25GB iBunny Macintosh Computers 6 Apr 23, 2004 11:57 AM
New iBook ram 128Megs tliptak Marketplace Archive 1 (Posts count) 0 Mar 10, 2003 05:20 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC