Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 28, 2012, 08:21 AM   #1
MacNoobGuy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Does Mountain Lion use less RAM?

anyone know? i'm struggling with 5GB on Lion.

thanks
MacNoobGuy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2012, 08:31 AM   #2
Ulf1103
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
well, I can tell you that it definitely caches less than Lion.

I've got a rMBP witch 16GB RAM,
under Lion it would use 8GB's.

Under ML, it uses only 4.5GB.

But don't worry, there's 1.55GB wired RAM (that's RAM that the OS can trow away, but haven't yet, 'cause OS X likes to cache it :P),
and 850MB Inactive.

So I'm only using 2.16GB of RAM (active RAM)

(ps: Safari takes 750 MB RAM)


ANd if you're still worried,
Mountain Lion minimum system requirement for the RAM is only 2GB :O



So, just download and enjoy
Ulf1103 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2012, 08:33 AM   #3
ugp
macrumors 65816
 
ugp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Inverness, Florida
Send a message via AIM to ugp Send a message via Yahoo to ugp Send a message via Skype™ to ugp
At times I have noticed it sits idle using a little more RAM than Lion did.

I have 8GB on my MBP and I use to sit around 22% idle after I closed all Apps. Now it seems to stay at 33-35% usage. kernel_task seems to be eating up most of my RAM all the time.
__________________
iPhone 5 16GB Black
2nd Gen 16GB iPad Mini
ugp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 10:49 AM   #4
MacNoobGuy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
so there's not a big difference?
MacNoobGuy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 10:52 AM   #5
michael_aos
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
On my 16GB Mac Pro & Lion, I used to see some "Swap used:" after a couple days.

Haven't seen that yet with Mountain Lion.
--
michael_aos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 10:54 AM   #6
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacNoobGuy View Post
Does Mountain Lion use less RAM?
How much RAM is used is directly related to what you have running at any point in time. It will vary widely as your workload varies, no matter which version of Mac OS X you're running.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 10:59 AM   #7
Drew017
macrumors 65816
 
Drew017's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: East coast, USA
Send a message via Skype™ to Drew017
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacNoobGuy View Post
anyone know? i'm struggling with 5GB on Lion.

thanks
I seem to have a lot more free ram with the same amount of apps open. I think that with your 5GB you should be fine.
__________________
Who'll put on my shoes while I'm walking slowly down the hall of fame?
MacBook Air 13 inch (Mid 2013); Intel Core i5; 4GB RAM; OS X 10.10 Yosemite
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Drew017 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 10:59 AM   #8
Lvivske
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
I dunno, I have 16gb of ram and in total it was using up 12+gb last night and all I was doing was surfing the web

granted, i have some background apps running like hiss and bowtie, but come on, 8 was in active use
Lvivske is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 11:00 AM   #9
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lvivske View Post
I dunno, I have 16gb of ram and in total it was using up 12+gb last night and all I was doing was surfing the web

granted, i have some background apps running like hiss and bowtie, but come on, 8 was in active use
Mac OS X will use whatever RAM is available. That doesn't mean you would have page outs with less RAM. Free memory is wasted memory.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 12:37 PM   #10
CodeBreaker
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sea of Tranquility
Just one day after a restart. A few apps open, and it has eaten almost 6 GB RAM. For me, it is same as Lion. And yes, 1.2 GB is inactive

Although I have observed wired memory after boot is significantly lower (600-700 MB) compared to Lion (900 - 1 GB).
__________________
.
CodeBreaker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 12:41 PM   #11
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by CodeBreaker View Post
Just one day after a restart. A few apps open, and it has eaten almost 6 GB RAM. For me, it is same as Lion. And yes, 1.2 GB is inactive

Although I have observed wired memory after boot is significantly lower (600-700 MB) compared to Lion (900 - 1 GB).
It doesn't matter how much RAM is used. Mac OS X will use all available memory. Free and inactive memory are both available to any app that needs additional memory. The only thing to watch for is page outs.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 12:45 PM   #12
ivnj
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
I have lion and 8gb of ram. Hardly ever go below 4gb. And even with 10 tabs open in safari half is the most I ever used. I only went below 4gb one time. Not sure why. 3.6 or 7 something I think. Not much but I did.
__________________
Mac mini 2011 2.3ghz i5 2gb ram.
ivnj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 01:48 PM   #13
DaffyDuck
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
Mac OS X will use whatever RAM is available. That doesn't mean you would have page outs with less RAM. Free memory is wasted memory.
This argument has never made sense to me. If the program has reserved some "extra" memory and is actively using it, then it's bloated. If it has reserved some "extra" memory just in case it needs it, then it may be preventing another program from using it. Memory should be reserved when it is needed. It's not like it takes much longer to do that than if it had pre-reserved it.
DaffyDuck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 01:50 PM   #14
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaffyDuck View Post
This argument has never made sense to me. If the program has reserved some "extra" memory and is actively using it, then it's bloated. If it has reserved some "extra" memory just in case, then it may be preventing another program from using it. Memory should be reserved when it is needed. It's not like it takes much longer to do that then if it had pre-reserved it.
Apps don't "reserve" memory. Apps simply send requests to Mac OS X, which manages all memory usage.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 02:19 PM   #15
andy8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
VMware Fusion on Mountain Lion



My VMware Fusion was taking up so much RAM on Mountain Lion, I stopped using it (vmware-vmx). I have the latest version too - Version 4.1.3 (730298). Hopefully there will be an update soon from the team.
andy8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 05:43 PM   #16
progx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Western NY
Presently, while running Spotify, iTunes, Mail, Messages and Activity Monitor, I have 3.25 GB free of 8. Mountain Lion has done wonders for performance on my end.

Check your activity monitor and see what you have free. Go from there!
__________________
Late 2012 iMac 21.5", 8 GB RAM, 1 TB HD; 160GB 2007 iPod Classic
iPhone 5 32GB Verizon; iPad 3 32GB Verizon
Xbox: realdt85; Wii U: realdt; 3DS: 4527-7770-2241; Steam: progx
progx is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reinstalling Mountain Lion took up 4 GB of RAM? khunter122 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Jun 11, 2013 02:28 PM
Mountain Lion and RAM. It is possible to use different pairs of RAM? diegobgr OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Oct 24, 2012 10:39 AM
Rember in Mountain Lion (RAM testing) thermodynamic OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Sep 20, 2012 01:13 PM
Mountain Lion faster than Lion? (on Air with 2GB of RAM) littvay OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Aug 1, 2012 12:17 PM
RAM and Mountain Lion iPhoneApple OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 19 Jul 25, 2012 05:16 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC