Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 28, 2012, 12:20 PM   #1
johnfitzuk
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Big Problem with Mountain Lion

I installed Mountain Lion on my iMac and the wifi connection only lasts for 15/20 minutes. I then have to restart, except that after the new installation, my machine will not restart. I have to Shut down and start again.

My macBook Air does not seem to be effected by this.

Pretty poor show after all the hype. You would expect it to be right before they release it.

This also effects the Time Capsule back up which is wireless.
johnfitzuk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2012, 12:23 PM   #2
this is funah
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnfitzuk View Post
I installed Mountain Lion on my iMac and the wifi connection only lasts for 15/20 minutes. I then have to restart, except that after the new installation, my machine will not restart. I have to Shut down and start again.

My macBook Air does not seem to be effected by this.

Pretty poor show after all the hype. You would expect it to be right before they release it.

This also effects the Time Capsule back up which is wireless.
you are not alone... check out these threads.
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1374694
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1410516
__________________
iPhone 4 iPad 2
Property is only a product of scarcity. Therefore, there is no such thing as intellectual property.
this is funah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2012, 12:26 PM   #3
dbyway
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Utah
Try this:

Open network preferences
Click 'Advanced'
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-07-28 at 11.22.48 AM.png
Views:	299
Size:	1.28 MB
ID:	350384  
__________________
MacBook Pro w/ Retina Display, iPhone 5, iPad 3
dbyway is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2012, 12:30 PM   #4
this is funah
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbyway View Post
Try this:

Open network preferences
Click 'Advanced'
this doesn't work for me. my only (temporary) solution was to keep a ping constantly running via network utility.
__________________
iPhone 4 iPad 2
Property is only a product of scarcity. Therefore, there is no such thing as intellectual property.
this is funah is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC