Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

FlorenceArt

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 29, 2012
Montreuil, near Paris, France
Hello All,

I would like to make an iPad app to promote my visual art works and sell some of them. I am not a developer, I only know some HTML and CSS. My website uses PHP but I didn't do the coding, it's managed by a CMS called SPIP.

After looking at a few forums and tutorials, it's obvious that this project will take several months, since I need to learn practically everything. I'm willing to invest the time, but first I would like to outline my project to you and get some feedback on how complex the coding part might be. I don't want to find out after reading a pile of books and tearing off my hair for months, that this is just too much for me after all. I don't think that what I want to do is very complicated (but what do I know?), but on the other hand I am a perfectionist and I will want to do it right.

The app I have in mind would have two main parts: one to present myself and my works with text, images and videos, plus a dynamic part integrating the rss feed from my site. So far, I don't think that's very complicated.

The second part is the one I'm worried about, it's the media management part. The idea is to allow users to download media files, some for free and some through in-app purchases. The files will be videos, books (probably in PDF format) and images. The user should be able to view the files of course, but also to delete them (videos take up precious storage space), recover purchased files previously deleted, and open files in other apps, for instance a PDF book in iBooks, or copy an image to their photo album.

So, my question is: is it realistic to hope that I can manage to develop such an app after a few weeks/months of learning? Bearing in mind that I am not a developer, and that I will be doing this in my spare time.