Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 29, 2012, 06:24 AM   #1
Sairo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Netherlands, Almere
Unable to cut and paste

So im running ML for a couple of days now and found out that the cut and paste command doesn't seem to work.
I can copy and paste, but when it comes to cutting it just cancels the selection wherever it is in its original place.

Anybody else ran into this and knows a fix?
__________________
13,3" MacBook Pro 7,1, 2.4 GHz, 8GB RAM, 256GB Samsung 830 SSD + 500GB Seagate Momentus XT HHD | iPhone 4S, 32GB | iPod Nano 3G, 8GB
flickr
Sairo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 07:03 AM   #2
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
It's woring for me on ML. Are you using Command+C to copy and then Command+Option+V to cut/paste?
__________________
••• SandboxGeneral.com •••
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 07:57 AM   #3
Sairo
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Netherlands, Almere
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
It's woring for me on ML. Are you using Command+C to copy and then Command+Option+V to cut/paste?
Im talking about command+x and then command+v. X for cutting and C for copying.
__________________
13,3" MacBook Pro 7,1, 2.4 GHz, 8GB RAM, 256GB Samsung 830 SSD + 500GB Seagate Momentus XT HHD | iPhone 4S, 32GB | iPod Nano 3G, 8GB
flickr
Sairo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 08:11 AM   #4
hdfatboy2003
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Cmd-X is working for me on Mt Lion.

oooppss .. missed the part about doing it in Finder. Doesn't work in Finder.

Last edited by hdfatboy2003; Jul 29, 2012 at 09:22 AM.
hdfatboy2003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 08:24 AM   #5
hafr
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sairo View Post
Im talking about command+x and then command+v. X for cutting and C for copying.
In Finder, you don't use cut/copy in that way. You select the file(s) you want, you press cmd+c. Then to move instead of copy, you press alt+cmd+v instead of cmd+v.
hafr is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 08:33 AM   #6
Sairo
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Netherlands, Almere
Quote:
Originally Posted by hafr View Post
In Finder, you don't use cut/copy in that way. You select the file(s) you want, you press cmd+c. Then to move instead of copy, you press alt+cmd+v instead of cmd+v.
They most of changed it then because in Lion I had absolutely no problems.
__________________
13,3" MacBook Pro 7,1, 2.4 GHz, 8GB RAM, 256GB Samsung 830 SSD + 500GB Seagate Momentus XT HHD | iPhone 4S, 32GB | iPod Nano 3G, 8GB
flickr
Sairo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 08:43 AM   #7
Mal
macrumors 603
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sairo View Post
They most of changed it then because in Lion I had absolutely no problems.
Nope, never worked in Lion. Either you're remembering wrong, or you installed a tweak of some type (although I don't recall any). Cut has never been enabled in the Finder in OS X.

jW
__________________
The Bearded Nerd
13" MacBook Pro; 64GB iPod touch
"It's a real burn, being right so often."
NoiseTrade.com/Walker
Mal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 08:54 AM   #8
hafr
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sairo View Post
They most of changed it then because in Lion I had absolutely no problems.
It was the exact same thing in Lion.
hafr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 09:46 AM   #9
Sairo
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Netherlands, Almere
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mal View Post
Nope, never worked in Lion. Either you're remembering wrong, or you installed a tweak of some type (although I don't recall any). Cut has never been enabled in the Finder in OS X.

jW
Then I must be sleeping then.
Thanks for enlightening me!
__________________
13,3" MacBook Pro 7,1, 2.4 GHz, 8GB RAM, 256GB Samsung 830 SSD + 500GB Seagate Momentus XT HHD | iPhone 4S, 32GB | iPod Nano 3G, 8GB
flickr
Sairo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 10:02 AM   #10
MMMalex
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I'm glad I found this thread. I had no clue you could c/p in ML before reading this haha. I recently started a pathfinder trial too just to be able to c/p. Guess I won't need to buy it anymore
MMMalex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 11:36 AM   #11
hafr
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MMMalex View Post
I'm glad I found this thread. I had no clue you could c/p in ML before reading this haha. I recently started a pathfinder trial too just to be able to c/p. Guess I won't need to buy it anymore
I'm the same way sometimes. If something doesn't work exactly like in Windows, it's like I don't even take the time to google it but just assume it's not doable and start looking for an alternative solution
hafr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 12:37 PM   #12
bushido
macrumors 603
 
bushido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Espańa y Germany
lol i did not know about alt+cmd+v either and ive been using a mac since the ibook days
__________________
ˇNo hables a menos que puedas mejorar el silencio!
Don't judge me by my user name - I was young and stupid xD
bushido is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 01:10 PM   #13
Alameda
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bushido View Post
lol i did not know about alt+cmd+v either and ive been using a mac since the ibook days
That's because it's utterly unintuitive.

MS Windows can Cut/Copy/Paste files and it works very well. The Cut only occurs if you make a Paste. Apple should copy this behavior; it's very useful.
Alameda is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 01:42 AM   #14
hafr
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alameda View Post
That's because it's utterly unintuitive.

MS Windows can Cut/Copy/Paste files and it works very well. The Cut only occurs if you make a Paste. Apple should copy this behavior; it's very useful.
Please elaborate on how ctrl+x is intuitive for "cut" and ctrl+v for "paste", and how it's more useful to press ctrl+x, ctrl+v than to press cmd+c, alt+cmd+v...

If you would have learned the Apple way of doing it first (i.e. cmd+c to choose the file(s), then cmd+v to copy or alt+cmd+v to move), you would have been all like "ctrl+x to CUT? It makes no sense!".
hafr is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can't cut and paste boynigel Mac mini 2 May 26, 2014 10:05 AM
How do you cut and paste files from one folder to another? Still100 OS X 7 Mar 22, 2013 09:53 AM
Cut /paste hyperlink in Excel bgsnmky Mac Applications and Mac App Store 14 Jan 7, 2013 01:18 PM
Cut paste darksiders Mac Basics and Help 6 Oct 5, 2012 03:05 PM
Unable to Paste from Terminal-run User2's Launched Applications. dbconfession OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Sep 20, 2012 07:52 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC