Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 31, 2012, 05:29 PM   #1
xav8tor
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Fastest CPU Upgrade Possible for 4.1 Mac Pro

I know many have flashed 4.1 to 5.1 and installed the W3680 in '09 Pro's replacing CPU's like mine had - the 2.93 quad. A few apps I use have the need for speed, not cores. What's the best option for a CPU upgrade with a high clock/turbo boost when using one core maxed and maybe a 2nd running at 30% or less?

Secondly, is there any way to overclock the CPU when running Win 7 in boot camp? I'd like to hit 4.5 GHz on air if possible. Intel did make a dual core OEM Xeon a couple of years ago stock at 4.4 GHz, but it was for limited release special purpose dual proc machines and the cost was a little high: 44,000 USD for a pair.
xav8tor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2012, 05:45 PM   #2
PowerPCMacMan
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: PowerPC land
Hi, in answer to your questions.. The w3690 which is 3.4 ghz 6-core is going to be the fastest for the Quad based 5,1 and 4,1-5,1 firmware converted Mac Pros. PLEASE NOTE: You CANNOT run any w36xx series unless you have applied the 4,1-5,1 firmware. I assume you have NOT applied the firmware at this point to make your 4,1 into a 5,1? For the 4,1 or 2009 Mac Pro, I believe the 3.33 Ghz Quad-core w3580 is the fastest for the 4,1 series. I might have read somewhere there was a w3590 possibly, also at 3.4 Ghz.

If it were me I would future proof for the time being my machine by getting the w3690 or w3680 both take the same 1333 mhz memory and have the same turbo boost up to 3.6 Ghz. As for overclocking, yes.. Under Windows 7 you can download a program called crystalcpuID and there are others too which can be used to overclock the processors, but I wouldn't recommend it as it could shorten the life of the processors. Just realize that OS X will ignore the overclocked frequency.

Hope this all helps you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xav8tor View Post
I know many have flashed 4.1 to 5.1 and installed the W3680 in '09 Pro's replacing CPU's like mine had - the 2.93 quad. A few apps I use have the need for speed, not cores. What's the best option for a CPU upgrade with a high clock/turbo boost when using one core maxed and maybe a 2nd running at 30% or less?

Secondly, is there any way to overclock the CPU when running Win 7 in boot camp? I'd like to hit 4.5 GHz on air if possible. Intel did make a dual core OEM Xeon a couple of years ago stock at 4.4 GHz, but it was for limited release special purpose dual proc machines and the cost was a little high: 44,000 USD for a pair.

Last edited by PowerPCMacMan; Jul 31, 2012 at 05:47 PM. Reason: Added more info
PowerPCMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2012, 07:01 PM   #3
xav8tor
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerPCMacMan View Post
Hi, in answer to your questions.. The w3690 which is 3.4 ghz 6-core is going to be the fastest for the Quad based 5,1 and 4,1-5,1 firmware converted Mac Pros. PLEASE NOTE: You CANNOT run any w36xx series unless you have applied the 4,1-5,1 firmware. I assume you have NOT applied the firmware at this point to make your 4,1 into a 5,1? For the 4,1 or 2009 Mac Pro, I believe the 3.33 Ghz Quad-core w3580 is the fastest for the 4,1 series. I might have read somewhere there was a w3590 possibly, also at 3.4 Ghz.

If it were me I would future proof for the time being my machine by getting the w3690 or w3680 both take the same 1333 mhz memory and have the same turbo boost up to 3.6 Ghz. As for overclocking, yes.. Under Windows 7 you can download a program called crystalcpuID and there are others too which can be used to overclock the processors, but I wouldn't recommend it as it could shorten the life of the processors. Just realize that OS X will ignore the overclocked frequency.

Hope this all helps you.
Very helpful. Intel never released a W3590, 2009 was a slow year for clock speeds. I haven't flashed to 5.1 yet but have 1333 RAM in anticipation of the upgrade. Turbo was limited on the W35XX but the 36XX looks better and I might find a use for the extra cores. With the same turbo, the 3680 seems like the sweet spot. I'll try the app you cited in BC and see what a half a GHz or so will give me. Your warning is duly noted. I'll try to be careful.

One app I use can't get enough of anything. 5 GHZ would be nice and I really like the specs on the 1620 and 1280/1290 v2' Xeons, especially the latter - 4.1 turbo. I use X-Plane Professional at work and have the need for (clock) speed, and would like to keep the Pro for another two years, rather than going back to M$, especially now that I have a GTX 670 and USB 3.0 card, 1000mw wireless adapter, along with a couple SSD's in it. 10.8 runs all of it well now that I got the drivers and a hack or two up and running. CPU and maybe throughput on the Mobo is the only holdup now.

Will crystalcpuID let me play with the W3540 on 4.1 firmware? Like trying to get 3.5 or so?
xav8tor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2012, 08:02 PM   #4
chiefroastbeef
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dallas, Texas/ Hong Kong
Also note that the w3680 is available here for $586USD with warranty, many members buy from this vendor: http://www.provantage.com/intel-bx80...0~7ITEP374.htm

I am going to make the upgrade in my 4.1 when my applecare expires in a couple months.
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33GHZ 24GB Ram Nvidia GTX 670
Macbook Pro 15" 2.4 Penryn Macbook Air 11" 1.6GHZ C2D
Apple Cinema Display 30", 20"
Nikon D700
chiefroastbeef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2012, 12:18 AM   #5
dongiorgio1959
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
W3680 6core

I have already upgraded my macpro from 4.1 to 5.1 and have added the W3680 xeon works well .this upgrade also allows me to use standard memory 8gb x 4 total 32gb.i have also added the pci-e ssd card from OWC as the sata drives running at 3gb speed only.It is faster then my standard dual 2.4ghz 5.1 macpro.the upgrade is very easy to do.
dongiorgio1959 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2012, 05:06 AM   #6
Concorde Rules
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I'm 99% sure you can't overclock the CPU. I've been searchIng for years on ways to do it.

By all means try it but I doubt you will get anywhere!
Concorde Rules is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2012, 05:57 AM   #7
COINcoin77
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by xav8tor View Post
What's the best option for a CPU upgrade with a high clock/turbo boost when using one core maxed and maybe a 2nd running at 30% or less?
Maybe the xeon X5698 - 2 cores 4.4GHz, if you ca find one.
COINcoin77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2012, 09:31 AM   #8
Denmaru
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dongiorgio1959 View Post
I have already upgraded my macpro from 4.1 to 5.1 and have added the W3680 xeon works well
By all means, please tell me wether you used a Stepping D0 or Stepping B1 processor! It need to know because a user named "fairbanx" said that

Quote:
Originally Posted by fairbanx View Post
Mac Pro 5,1 supports D0 and B1 stepping, Mac Pro 4,1 does only D0.
Please have a look using CPU-Z or whatever else and tell us!
Denmaru is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2012, 05:14 PM   #9
xav8tor
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by COINcoin77 View Post
Maybe the xeon X5698 - 2 cores 4.4GHz, if you ca find one.
I found one, sold as a pair, for 44 grand!

Also, anyone know if you do the 4.1 to 5.1 flash, will an X5687 work in a single CPU MP? I know it is made for two chip machines, but I have a bead on one for a great price and it is a fast chip. Does the 2 QPI v 1 QPI (whatever that is) spec matter? I need clock speed not cores.

Last edited by xav8tor; Aug 1, 2012 at 06:02 PM.
xav8tor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2012, 06:31 PM   #10
Tutor
macrumors 65816
 
Tutor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Suburb of Birmingham, AL - Home of the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
I am not sure those 5689 chips will work, but believe that the 5687's may, although I don't know of any one who has tried either of them. Make sure that you can return them if they don't work because that's a lot of money.
__________________
21 tweaked/multiOS rendering systems: oTitan RD TE>58; 86K+ CUDA cores; 13K+ ATI Stream PUs; 206 CPU cores. CB11.5-48.5 Win; CB15-3,791 Win; GB2-58K+ Lnx; GB3-71K+ Lnx/49K+ OSX; LuxMark's Sala-12K+.

Last edited by Tutor; Aug 1, 2012 at 06:43 PM.
Tutor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2012, 07:15 PM   #11
xav8tor
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tutor View Post
I am not sure those 5689 chips will work, but believe that the 5687's may, although I don't know of any one who has tried either of them. Make sure that you can return them if they don't work because that's a lot of money.
You are SO right. Anyone else tried an X56XX in a single socket? Also I tried that crystal cpu app and nothing I did changed the speed on the 3540 in Win7. Did I do something wrong or is the Mac 3540 locked even in boot camp?

Thanks guys for the help.
xav8tor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 11:29 AM   #12
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by xav8tor View Post
I found one, sold as a pair, for 44 grand!
Wow, that's way too expensive. I wouldn't pay a penny over $41,623.79.

http://www.shopblt.com/item/hewlett-...643411b21.html
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 01:36 PM   #13
xav8tor
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Concorde Rules View Post
I'm 99% sure you can't overclock the CPU. I've been searchIng for years on ways to do it.

By all means try it but I doubt you will get anywhere!
Even in Windows via Boot Vamp? There isn't anything on the chip (multiplier, voltage, etc.) I can crank up a notch or two, or more? Is the Xeon totally locked somehow? What if I upgraded the CPU with the i7 equivalent to the Xeon? Could I OC that or is the board stopping me? I an not very savvy on this stuff. I built a Windows machine once with a top of the line Asus board and OC on that thing was easy with the provided software. Somebody on here got a 9XX Extreme running on his Pro after going to 5.1 and sys profiler even called it a Xeon.
xav8tor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 02:40 PM   #14
El Awesome
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Zurich
Well, you can overclock the CPU in both systems. There exists a OC-app for OS X, you have to search for it in the internet.

In Windows, oc'ing the CPU is no problem.
El Awesome is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 02:48 PM   #15
Concorde Rules
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by xav8tor View Post
Even in Windows via Boot Vamp? There isn't anything on the chip (multiplier, voltage, etc.) I can crank up a notch or two, or more? Is the Xeon totally locked somehow? What if I upgraded the CPU with the i7 equivalent to the Xeon? Could I OC that or is the board stopping me? I an not very savvy on this stuff. I built a Windows machine once with a top of the line Asus board and OC on that thing was easy with the provided software. Somebody on here got a 9XX Extreme running on his Pro after going to 5.1 and sys profiler even called it a Xeon.
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Awesome View Post
Well, you can overclock the CPU in both systems. There exists a OC-app for OS X, you have to search for it in the internet.

In Windows, oc'ing the CPU is no problem.
The OS X app doesn't work for 4,1 or 5,1 or 6,1 Mac Pro's. Period.

You also can't do ANY over clocking in windows. Unless you want to prove otherwise.
Concorde Rules is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 04:04 PM   #16
xav8tor
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Concorde Rules View Post
The OS X app doesn't work for 4,1 or 5,1 or 6,1 Mac Pro's. Period.

You also can't do ANY over clocking in windows. Unless you want to prove otherwise.
OS X: I saw that app weeks ago. It was a ZD Net or Cnet or somebody net app released in Germany years ago and nope, it doesn't work on a 4.1 or 5.1.

Win 7: I downloaded the suggested CrystalCPU app and cranked up voltage and multipliers half the night. The clock (CPU speed and time clock, since on a Mac the latter would speed up as well) didn't increase 1/10 of a GHz.

Looks like 3.46 is all I am going to see unless I spring for the X5687, which I read, although intended for dual machines, will work on a single CPU board (in Windows anyway). I'd get almost 3.9 out of it in turbo.

But again, the i7X equivalents aren't locked, so what's stopping us from OCing those on a Mac in Windows?

Last edited by xav8tor; Aug 2, 2012 at 04:09 PM.
xav8tor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 10:51 PM   #17
demonangel
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
sorry for joining in this thread a little bit late... but my 2.66Ghz Quad Core Mac Pro with 8Gb of RAM is starting to feel really slow, so I was looking for a way to boost it, and found that the best upgrade would be a w3690 CPU but the w3680 would be a better buy...

will i feel a real difference in performance if I upgrade my CPU to a 3.4 W3680 Intel Xeon?

I am planning on putting 32GB of RAM too, if I only upgraded the RAM I would already feel a good boost right? will the CPU upgrade be worthwhile? I work mainly with Logic Pro 9, some 3D Interior design software, and a little of Photoshop and Final Cut... I kno wthat for AUdio the RAM would definitely be the best boost, so I am really wondering if it is worth putting an extra 600$ for the CPU upgrade?

Thanks for your input !
demonangel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 11:05 PM   #18
SadChief
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Montpellier, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by demonangel View Post
sorry for joining in this thread a little bit late... but my 2.66Ghz Quad Core Mac Pro with 8Gb of RAM is starting to feel really slow, so I was looking for a way to boost it, and found that the best upgrade would be a w3690 CPU but the w3680 would be a better buy...

will i feel a real difference in performance if I upgrade my CPU to a 3.4 W3680 Intel Xeon?

I am planning on putting 32GB of RAM too, if I only upgraded the RAM I would already feel a good boost right? will the CPU upgrade be worthwhile? I work mainly with Logic Pro 9, some 3D Interior design software, and a little of Photoshop and Final Cut... I kno wthat for AUdio the RAM would definitely be the best boost, so I am really wondering if it is worth putting an extra 600$ for the CPU upgrade?

Thanks for your input !
Read this and this.
__________________
MacPro5,1 6-Core 3.33GHz/24GB RAM/GTX680 MacEd/VelocitySoloX2+Samsung 840Pro 256GB/
NEC PA271W
Powerbook G4 15"/1.5GHz/2GB RAM/160GB
SadChief is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro 3,1 CPU Upgrade DawgBone Mac Pro 36 Aug 10, 2014 08:37 PM
Mac Pro 4.1 CPU upgrade BrioBriss Mac Pro 80 Jun 3, 2014 09:22 AM
Mac Pro 1,1 CPU upgrade ohh epic fail Mac Pro 24 Sep 18, 2013 01:13 PM
Can I upgrade a Mac Pro 4,1 CPU with a 3,1 CPU? cbt3 Mac Pro 11 Jul 30, 2012 08:54 AM
Mac Pro 1,1 CPU upgrade michael_aos Mac Pro 5 Jun 13, 2012 04:11 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC