Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 1, 2012, 10:46 PM   #1
milbournosphere
macrumors 6502a
 
milbournosphere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Fresh Upgrade of Mountain Lion is using 100% VRAM

Is anybody else seeing this problem? Straight from boot it's using 100% of the graphic card's video ram, and I see no reduction. Screenshot attached, taken from atMonitor on my Mac Pro.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Russian roulette linux style : dd if=/dev/urandom of=/dev/kmem bs=1 count=1 seek=$RANDOM
milbournosphere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 01:49 AM   #2
Blue Sun
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
There are known problems with atMonitor and Mountain Lion, so what you're seeing could merely be a bug.
Blue Sun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 02:12 AM   #3
jcampbell1070
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NC
istat menus shows thing same on mine

Last edited by jcampbell1070; Aug 2, 2012 at 02:13 AM. Reason: misspelling
jcampbell1070 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 09:57 AM   #4
milbournosphere
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
milbournosphere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Yeah, I've seen a few different monitors all reporting the same thing. Either they all use the same\similar back-end and have the same bug, or ML is wiring all of the card's video memory at boot. Does anybody else see this happening on their box?
__________________
Russian roulette linux style : dd if=/dev/urandom of=/dev/kmem bs=1 count=1 seek=$RANDOM
milbournosphere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 10:09 AM   #5
mabaker
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
The real question is are you experiencing choppy animations and poor app performance?
__________________
„Integrated Intel graphics chip steals power from the CPU and siphons off memory from system-level RAM. You'd have to buy an extra card to get the graphics performance of Mac Mini [..]” - Apple.com
mabaker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 10:13 AM   #6
milbournosphere
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
milbournosphere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Not particularly. I also haven't had the time to try any more graphically intensive tasks (gaming, PS openGL stuff, etc.). The system is also very slow to login and kick off my login items, so maybe a clean-restore is in order anyway. I'm usually wary of upgrading OS's...this is my first time taking the upgrade path.
__________________
Russian roulette linux style : dd if=/dev/urandom of=/dev/kmem bs=1 count=1 seek=$RANDOM
milbournosphere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 10:20 AM   #7
mabaker
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I definitely would opt for clean install. Start a fresh new install. I bet it will be like night and day.
__________________
„Integrated Intel graphics chip steals power from the CPU and siphons off memory from system-level RAM. You'd have to buy an extra card to get the graphics performance of Mac Mini [..]” - Apple.com
mabaker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 12:32 PM   #8
concernedone
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mabaker View Post
I definitely would opt for clean install. Start a fresh new install. I bet it will be like night and day.
OK, there are people saying that:
-they are still experiencing bugs/issues even after clean install
-clean install vs. upgrade won't affect performances on a MAC as oppose to Windows
-there's no discernible real life difference between a clean install vs. upgrade
-clean install will solve all the bugs/issues or most of them

Also, when people say clean install they tends to mean different things.
1. ppl can wipe the disk clean and reinstall os and apps and put back only the files
2. ppl can wipe the disk clean and reinstall os and time machine it back which includes all the apps and the old preferences

So, I'm getting a LOT of conflicting opinions. So, can we have an guru or expert on this issue please?
I want to know if clean install make any real life difference? Not just housekeeping sake.
__________________
MacBook Pro Retina 13"; 2011 iMac 27 i5
How to Geek your Mac Desktop
My Designs
concernedone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 12:34 PM   #9
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by concernedone View Post
So, I'm getting a LOT of conflicting opinions. So, can we have an guru or expert on this issue please?
I want to know if clean install make any real life difference? Not just housekeeping sake.
Sticky thread at the top of this forum: How to Properly Migrate With a Clean Install to OS X Mountain Lion (From Lion/SL)
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 12:36 PM   #10
milbournosphere
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
milbournosphere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
FWIW, it is possible to discern what you want restored from a Time Machine Backup. Usually I will move my data back and not restore System Settings/Applications. This usually brings back preferences from 3rd party applications, but most of the low-level stuff is nice and clean. I still haven't found anything regarding my issue; I am going to try a clean install this weekend, mainly to see if my login times are quicker. I am leaning towards this being a reporting bug from iStat/atMonitor.
__________________
Russian roulette linux style : dd if=/dev/urandom of=/dev/kmem bs=1 count=1 seek=$RANDOM
milbournosphere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2012, 05:43 PM   #11
milbournosphere
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
milbournosphere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Okay, clean installed. System is performing better overall, boot times are much faster. iStat and atMonitor still show 100% vram usage. I've yet to see any other info about this probably-bug...does anybody else know of iStat or atMonitor fixes in the works?
__________________
Russian roulette linux style : dd if=/dev/urandom of=/dev/kmem bs=1 count=1 seek=$RANDOM
milbournosphere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2012, 05:48 PM   #12
The JTizzle
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Maine
Send a message via AIM to The JTizzle Send a message via MSN to The JTizzle Send a message via Skype™ to The JTizzle
I spoke iStat devs right after 10.8 came out and they said it was a bug with apples video drivers and most likely can't be fixed on their end, but they reported the bug to apple and are keeping their fingers crossed for a fix. Your video card isn't going to explode, so no worries.
__________________
27' i7 iMac & 15' MacBook Pro
iPhone 5s (Space Grey), 64 GB
iPad Air (Space Grey), LTE 128 GB
TV 2 & 3
The JTizzle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 12:36 PM   #13
Yury
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I've noticed this bug too on clean 10.8 install after 2 weeks on ML. Last few days I see slow performance in VLC playing 1080p and some app animations. I decided to install atMonitor and check VRAM usage and got 100% without decreasing even right after fresh boot.

It's not only view stats bug, this is a real trouble in using VRAM depended apps.
Yury is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 12:39 PM   #14
milbournosphere
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
milbournosphere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
It's strange that you're seeing a performance decrease. I have the bug, but am not really suffering any problems because of it. Perhaps it's another issue unrelated to the driver bug to which JTizzle is referring.
__________________
Russian roulette linux style : dd if=/dev/urandom of=/dev/kmem bs=1 count=1 seek=$RANDOM
milbournosphere is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mountain Lion fresh install MacMan988 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Sep 18, 2012 11:41 PM
Upgrade to Mountain Lion or fresh install Lastmboy OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 11 Jul 26, 2012 01:50 PM
Fresh install of Mountain Lion AppleFan115 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Jul 25, 2012 11:52 AM
Should I do a fresh install of Mountain Lion? pizzafootbal OS X 3 Jul 19, 2012 11:25 AM
Cannot seem to fresh install Mountain Lion bobbytomorow OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 8 Jul 18, 2012 04:35 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC