Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 3, 2005, 12:43 PM   #1
Leeloo the 5th
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Belgium
How to change a comma in a dot?

Hey all, I hope I've posted this in the right forum! Here is my "problem": when pressing the "dot" key in the numeric pad on my Apple keyboard (next to the "0" and right under the "3"), a comma appears. Now when typing in numbers, I much more often need the dot than the comma, and I find it slows me down quite a bit to go and press shift+; to make the dot (I have a Belgian keyboard).
What can I do in order to have a dot appear instead of a comma when I use the key in the num pad?
Thanks!
Leeloo the 5th is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2005, 01:14 PM   #2
Le Big Mac
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leeloo the 5th
Hey all, I hope I've posted this in the right forum! Here is my "problem": when pressing the "dot" key in the numeric pad on my Apple keyboard (next to the "0" and right under the "3"), a comma appears. Now when typing in numbers, I much more often need the dot than the comma, and I find it slows me down quite a bit to go and press shift+; to make the dot (I have a Belgian keyboard).
What can I do in order to have a dot appear instead of a comma when I use the key in the num pad?
Thanks!
I think Preferences-->International-->Format should fix it. If you change the preferences for decimal and separator to the U.S. version (. for decimal, comma for separator) as opposed to the Euro version (reverse of that), that might get the problem fixed.

Alternatively, change the keyboard type to U.S. You may have to adjust on other keys, but that woudl get the english approach.
Le Big Mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2005, 02:59 PM   #3
Leeloo the 5th
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Belgium
Thanks for the suggestions, I tried them but unfortunately they didn't help. Changing the international format doesn't change the comma into a dot. Changing the keyboard layout however does make that change, but then the rest of the keyboard is hell to use (Belgian keyboards are azerty, not qwerty, ...).
Isn't there an app to change the character that is assigned to individual keys?
Leeloo the 5th is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2005, 03:47 PM   #4
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
There used to be a program that let you re-map any key, but I'm not sure it supports Tiger:

http://gnufoo.org/ucontrol/ucontrol.html

There also appear to be ways to make a custom keyboard layout that is almost identical to the US one, but has the re-mapping you want, but it doesn't seem to be so easy:

http://www.snark.de/index.cgi/0007
__________________
Mira C. Krishnan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2005, 05:11 AM   #5
Leeloo the 5th
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Belgium
Thanks for the help! Finally - and by chance - I found a very simple solution! I'm writing it down here, so if people have a similar problem and search the forums, this might help.
To change the comma, that appears when using the numeric pad, in a dot, I just press Shift at the same time. I do that with my left hand, which leaves my right hand free to quickly type numbers and dots, which is what I usually do.
Leeloo the 5th is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2005, 09:32 AM   #6
michaelrjohnson
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: 54140
Great tip, thanks!
__________________
Designer
michaelrjohnson.com
michaelrjohnson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2011, 06:08 AM   #7
Jemain
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
THX!!!

Was looking for this, every time i had to type in an IP address (which I have to do a LOT) i had to go type in the numbers and dots on left side of keyboard.
This will save me hours

Thx man
Jemain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2011, 09:58 PM   #8
Halcyon
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
There's an app called UKELELE that lets you easily remap your keyboard to whatever you desire.

HTH
__________________
20" Alum 2.4 GHz iMac
20" Alum 2.66 GHz iMac
13" 2.4 GHz MacBook
8GB iPod Touch
Halcyon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2013, 04:34 PM   #9
jcvanderwal
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
I use KeyRemap4macbook [1] to reassign the dot on the numeric keypad. Select the "Swap Dot and Shift+Dot" option.

[1] https://pqrs.org/macosx/keyremap4macbook/
jcvanderwal is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: Exclamation point instead of comma when I type flyersgl iPad 1 Dec 28, 2013 04:01 AM
Any thoughts on the comma operator (C/C++/Obj-C?) ArtOfWarfare Mac Programming 12 Feb 26, 2013 05:46 AM
convert comma to decimal point in excel userjoy Mac Applications and Mac App Store 5 Feb 14, 2013 07:54 AM
Removing comma from a list fhill2 Mac Programming 8 Jun 25, 2012 01:07 PM
".Camera" can change anything into "dot painting". thinkingfrog iPhone and iPod touch Apps 3 Jun 23, 2012 12:05 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC