Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 2, 2012, 04:11 PM   #1
Silverrune
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Execute .bat Files OS X 10.8

The Batch file in question executes a process of sorting to find select texture files for Skyrim. It can be found here: http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/mods/20801/#
I was wondering if there was anyway to execute the batch file in question?
Silverrune is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 04:12 PM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverrune View Post
The Batch file in question executes a process of sorting to find select texture files for Skyrim. It can be found here: http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/mods/20801/#
I was wondering if there was anyway to execute the batch file in question?
.bat files are Windows batch files and will not run on Mac OS X.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 04:17 PM   #3
Silverrune
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
.bat files are Windows batch files and will not run on Mac OS X.
Is there anyway to convert it to a terminal executable file?
Silverrune is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 04:18 PM   #4
meme1255
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Czech Republic
Could you send me / post here (content of) the *.bat file?
__________________
MacBook Pro 2008 Late 2,53 GHz, MBA 2012, iPad 2 iOS 7.1.1 64GB 3G, iPhone 4S 16GB iOS 7.1.1
PSPad for Mac Cider games [ C&C 3 etc.]flicker fix
meme1255 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 04:18 PM   #5
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverrune View Post
Is there anyway to convert it to a terminal executable file?
No, as the command structure is completely different between Windows and Mac OS X. If the commands even have Mac equivalents, you'd have to create new commands for the Mac. Nothing will "convert" a .bat file to a usable format for Macs.
GGJstudios is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 04:21 PM   #6
meme1255
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Czech Republic
Post the bat here, I'll not download whole texturepack which is useless for me.
__________________
MacBook Pro 2008 Late 2,53 GHz, MBA 2012, iPad 2 iOS 7.1.1 64GB 3G, iPhone 4S 16GB iOS 7.1.1
PSPad for Mac Cider games [ C&C 3 etc.]flicker fix
meme1255 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2012, 05:15 PM   #7
Alameda
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
No, as the command structure is completely different between Windows and Mac OS X. If the commands even have Mac equivalents, you'd have to create new commands for the Mac. Nothing will "convert" a .bat file to a usable format for Macs.
Well... it could be converted. It would have to be re-written, of course, but depending upon what it does, it may not be any problem. If he could simply paste in the contents of the .bat file here, we could determine whether it can be converted or not.

In general, Mac OSX Bash scripts can be a lot more powerful than Windows .bat files, but if the .bat file calls a Windows binary which has no equivalent, then we can't do much.
Alameda is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2012, 09:07 PM   #8
Silverrune
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by meme1255 View Post
Post the bat here, I'll not download whole texturepack which is useless for me.
The texture pack isn't in the file download, you have to download them separately and insert them yourself.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alameda View Post
Well... it could be converted. It would have to be re-written, of course, but depending upon what it does, it may not be any problem. If he could simply paste in the contents of the .bat file here, we could determine whether it can be converted or not.

In general, Mac OSX Bash scripts can be a lot more powerful than Windows .bat files, but if the .bat file calls a Windows binary which has no equivalent, then we can't do much.
Ya.... It's kind of long. To long to post actually.
Silverrune is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xCute - exeCute Remotely martinRR iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 May 11, 2014 04:22 AM
Working Bat Files for Gaming on the rMBP Newfiejudd MacBook Pro 0 Mar 15, 2013 02:26 PM
Apple BT Keyboard - 2 Bat. vs 3 Bat. Version? Tucom Mac Peripherals 3 Dec 8, 2012 05:23 PM
Run .exe files on a bat file? Ryukouki Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 5 Aug 28, 2012 02:22 AM
Execute shellscript at login (after) Corex Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 0 May 31, 2012 01:54 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC