Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 3, 2012, 10:16 AM   #1
GarrettL1979
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
DVDs - HB Preset

I've been using the HB ATV3 preset for blu rays which has worked great. I tried using the same preset for a DVD the other day and noticed a little bit of judder. Not unwatchable, but not ideal either.

Should the ATV3 setting be used in HB for DVDs, or should i select a different one?
GarrettL1979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2012, 11:05 AM   #2
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GarrettL1979 View Post
I've been using the HB ATV3 preset for blu rays which has worked great. I tried using the same preset for a DVD the other day and noticed a little bit of judder. Not unwatchable, but not ideal either.

Should the ATV3 setting be used in HB for DVDs, or should i select a different one?
I've been using the preset for both dvd and BR and have not noticed anything.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2012, 11:44 AM   #3
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by GarrettL1979 View Post
I've been using the HB ATV3 preset for blu rays which has worked great. I tried using the same preset for a DVD the other day and noticed a little bit of judder. Not unwatchable, but not ideal either.
Make sure you are using 0.9.8 which among other things fixes a pfr bug that was present in 0.9.7 which may rear its ugly head on a dvd.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2012, 12:19 PM   #4
heisenberg123
macrumors 603
 
heisenberg123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by GarrettL1979 View Post
I've been using the HB ATV3 preset for blu rays which has worked great. I tried using the same preset for a DVD the other day and noticed a little bit of judder. Not unwatchable, but not ideal either.

Should the ATV3 setting be used in HB for DVDs, or should i select a different one?
i always use ATV2 settings for SD DVDs just because i dont see the need for 1080p settings for a DVD that is nowhere near 1080p and im sure the ATV3 will make the file larger too again for no added value
__________________
15" i7 Quad Core MBP (Early 2011) 2.0GHz, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD and 1TB HD, AMD Radeon HD 6490M(Intel HD Graphics 3000) OSX 10.9
64GB iPhone 6 Gold
heisenberg123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2012, 12:34 PM   #5
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by iisforiphone View Post
i always use ATV2 settings for SD DVDs just because i dont see the need for 1080p settings for a DVD that is nowhere near 1080p and im sure the ATV3 will make the file larger too again for no added value
Um, no it shouldn't. The atv 3 preset *allows* for up to 1080p. that said if the source is less it will stick to the source max, which in the case of standard dvds is 480p. b-adapt 2 in the atv 3 preset should keep file sizes the same or smaller. The rf values are the same for each (20) .
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2012, 02:02 PM   #6
heisenberg123
macrumors 603
 
heisenberg123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by dynaflash View Post
Um, no it shouldn't. The atv 3 preset *allows* for up to 1080p. that said if the source is less it will stick to the source max, which in the case of standard dvds is 480p. b-adapt 2 in the atv 3 preset should keep file sizes the same or smaller. The rf values are the same for each (20) .
so are you saying i will achieve better quality for SD DVDs using ATV3 preset than ATV2 preset?

or are you correcting my thought that the ATV3 preset will make the files size larger than ATV2 preset
__________________
15" i7 Quad Core MBP (Early 2011) 2.0GHz, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD and 1TB HD, AMD Radeon HD 6490M(Intel HD Graphics 3000) OSX 10.9
64GB iPhone 6 Gold
heisenberg123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2012, 02:15 PM   #7
GarrettL1979
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by iisforiphone View Post
so are you saying i will achieve better quality for SD DVDs using ATV3 preset than ATV2 preset?

or are you correcting my thought that the ATV3 preset will make the files size larger than ATV2 preset
My understanding is that it shouldn't make any difference.

----------

p.s. thanks for the help!
GarrettL1979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Handbrake now has an AppleTV 3 preset jayhawk11 Apple TV and Home Theater 239 Dec 13, 2014 03:09 AM
Handbrake Apple TV 3 Preset best? VideoBeagle Apple TV and Home Theater 30 Nov 5, 2014 06:35 AM
What preset in Handbrake? boatcapt Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Dec 13, 2013 09:24 AM
No more iphone 3G preset on Handrake 0.9.9 ? FrenchPB Apple TV and Home Theater 7 Jul 27, 2013 08:20 AM
Apple TV 3 preset settings? miksterman Apple TV and Home Theater 5 Nov 4, 2012 12:39 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC