Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 5, 2012, 03:46 PM   #1
letscopro
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC
Velocity Solo X2 Now Available

I just ordered the new Velocity Solo X2. I'll be using it with an Adata SX900 SSD as my boot drive.

Hopefully I'll get it this week. Performance results to follow.

http://www.apricorn.com/products/des...el-solox2.html
letscopro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2012, 05:40 PM   #2
R.OG
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by letscopro View Post
I just ordered the new Velocity Solo X2. I'll be using it with an Adata SX900 SSD as my boot drive.

Hopefully I'll get it this week. Performance results to follow.

http://www.apricorn.com/products/des...el-solox2.html
Thanks, i have been waiting for the release of the x2.
R.OG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2012, 09:53 PM   #3
K6-III
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Of course it launches just after I buy the original.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro 3.33 hex with 5.1 firmware, 32 gb RAM, GTX660Ti 2gb
K6-III is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2012, 10:04 PM   #4
JavaTheHut
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Yes please do!
Will you run it with 2 SSD ?
JavaTheHut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2012, 09:07 AM   #5
TableSyrup
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Hmmmm....

Wonder if they fixed the flaws

I bought one for my 1,1 (Now sold)

Mounting the drive flexes the PCB

The SATA connector/header sits too far off the PCB - farther than the drive does when mounted.... so, they should have shortened it a little, or provided washers for between the drive and PCB to avoid the flex

I'm concerned that the flex will cause premature failure of the card due to connections/solder joints of the surface mount components on the rear failing

Also, the rear of the card was laid out for SATA headers that are not installed.... wondering why they are not making this with another sata header on the rear for a 3rd drive... maybe some day???

Not sure the speed difference really justified the price differential ??? (Costs more than double)
TableSyrup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2012, 11:27 AM   #6
pprior
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
I guess I'm not really sure what the attraction to this product is. Does it increase speed vs. just attaching to a mac pro drive bay? Can you attach 2 ssd to it and raid them?

Says limited to 500mb/sec, so doesn't seem as robust as excellsior from OWC.

However, at least in my mac pro (3.1) due to having graphics card and adapcted raid card I'm out of 16 lane slots anyway so the excellsior can't help me.

I would very much like to get a reliable ~1TB SSD partition/drive going however for my photo editing catalog.
__________________
2013 nMP 6core 16GB RAM, Promise Pegaus2 R6 12TB RAID; uMBP 17/Matte
pprior is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2012, 11:34 AM   #7
paulrbeers
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by pprior View Post
I guess I'm not really sure what the attraction to this product is. Does it increase speed vs. just attaching to a mac pro drive bay? Can you attach 2 ssd to it and raid them?
.
Maybe because no Mac Pros have a SATAIII port and this one basically gives you two (550MBps is basically maxing out SATAIII) and allows you to use all of your hard drive bays for 3.5" drives. It's a bit of a glorified SATAIII card really, but with the added feature that it doesn't take up a bay in your Mac Pro.
__________________
rMBP 11,2 15" 2.0Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
MBA 6,2 13" 1.7Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
Mac Mini 6,2 2.3ghz w/ 240GB SSD + 1TB
Mac Pro 1,1 w/ 8 cores @ 2.66 w/ 240GB SSD
paulrbeers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2012, 01:12 PM   #8
Einz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Too bad it doesn't support 2008 model.
Einz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2012, 01:23 PM   #9
TableSyrup
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Einz View Post
Too bad it doesn't support 2008 model.
It does. Supports ALL Mac Pro's - but will only be BOOTABLE in the 4,1 and 5,1

Still an attractive product for data drives for those who need the performance.

But the price jump is making it less attractive - go buy a 256 SSD and the VSX2, and you may as well have just bought a Revodrive or similar

The one that bums me out is this one:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Mac-Array-SS...ht_1803wt_1399
Would be perfect if it was bootable, and if it was 64 bit kernel compliant. Fail.
I hope someone updates a version of this. Would be a heck of a way to go

Last edited by TableSyrup; Aug 6, 2012 at 01:34 PM.
TableSyrup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2012, 01:46 PM   #10
rantingrich
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Foregive on this

So if I use this in a NEW MACPRO using 2 SSDs its gunna fly?
rantingrich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2012, 02:27 PM   #11
JavaTheHut
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by TableSyrup View Post

The one that bums me out is this one:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Mac-Array-SS...ht_1803wt_1399
Would be perfect if it was bootable, and if it was 64 bit kernel compliant. Fail.
I hope someone updates a version of this. Would be a heck of a way to go
I actually contacted Apricorn about that 4 array and asked in 2011 when the Sata III would be available and they said around the Fall of 2012? We will see - - Would be a good route as long as the chip is stable??
4x SSD RAID 0 = sweet
if
Bootable:P
JavaTheHut is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2012, 06:45 PM   #12
TableSyrup
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Yeah, I just asked them if it's coming back. It's not on their site, but they show the photo of it in a Mac Pro right on the page the velocities are listed on....

I really really want to run one of them jokers in my 5,1 for data. For me, seems like my best option

(They're doing an RMA for me, they said my situation with the pcb flexing when the drive is mounted is an isolated incident)

Last edited by TableSyrup; Aug 6, 2012 at 06:51 PM.
TableSyrup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2012, 09:31 PM   #13
JavaTheHut
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
The array is still there but not in the main menu , to see the link you need to nav. to the footer - not sure why they have it buried?
http://www.apricorn.com/products/pci...ive-array.html
JavaTheHut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2012, 06:28 PM   #14
TableSyrup
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reply from Apricorn today:

We previously sold the PCIe Drive Array which was a 4 drive card but the market was very small for it and we ended up discontinuing the line. This product was replaced in essence by the Velocity Solo card. Unfortunately because of the lack of demand we will probably not release another 4 card array in the future.

Sincerely,

(Name Anonymized)
Apricorn Support
TableSyrup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2012, 11:27 PM   #15
JavaTheHut
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by TableSyrup View Post
Reply from Apricorn today:

We previously sold the PCIe Drive Array which was a 4 drive card but the market was very small for it and we ended up discontinuing the line. This product was replaced in essence by the Velocity Solo card. Unfortunately because of the lack of demand we will probably not release another 4 card array in the future.

Sincerely,

(Name Anonymized)
Apricorn Support
Dash it!
JavaTheHut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 10:56 AM   #16
matthewtoney
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by TableSyrup View Post
Hmmmm....

Wonder if they fixed the flaws

I bought one for my 1,1 (Now sold)

Mounting the drive flexes the PCB

The SATA connector/header sits too far off the PCB - farther than the drive does when mounted.... so, they should have shortened it a little, or provided washers for between the drive and PCB to avoid the flex

I'm concerned that the flex will cause premature failure of the card due to connections/solder joints of the surface mount components on the rear failing

Also, the rear of the card was laid out for SATA headers that are not installed.... wondering why they are not making this with another sata header on the rear for a 3rd drive... maybe some day???

Not sure the speed difference really justified the price differential ??? (Costs more than double)
Ok I have my new X2 model now and its in the machine so I thought I'd comment on how it's working:

- I have 2 Crucial M4 256GB SSDs on it (in RAID0) with 10.8 installed and its working and booting just fine

- I don't notice and flex on the PCB at all with the one drive installed on it - don't know it thats a difference in design or just you had a bad one.

- I still have more benchmarks to run but preliminary ones I've done definitely show some good speeds with the two in RAID0 - I personally don't think it would really be worth it for performance alone if you are only planning on using one drive with it.
matthewtoney is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 11:11 PM   #17
VirtualRain
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthewtoney View Post
Ok I have my new X2 model now and its in the machine so I thought I'd comment on how it's working:

- I have 2 Crucial M4 256GB SSDs on it (in RAID0) with 10.8 installed and its working and booting just fine

- I don't notice and flex on the PCB at all with the one drive installed on it - don't know it thats a difference in design or just you had a bad one.

- I still have more benchmarks to run but preliminary ones I've done definitely show some good speeds with the two in RAID0 - I personally don't think it would really be worth it for performance alone if you are only planning on using one drive with it.
So what speeds are you seeing? (Just download the BlackMagic Disk Speed Test from the App store for free and post a screen)
__________________
tools: nMP for photography, rMBP for working, iPad for surfing, iPhone for communicating, Mac Mini for entertaining
Canon tools: 5D Mark III 24-105L/70-300L/35L/50L/85L for capturing
VirtualRain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2012, 04:07 AM   #18
chiefroastbeef
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dallas, Texas/ Hong Kong
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthewtoney View Post
Ok I have my new X2 model now and its in the machine so I thought I'd comment on how it's working:

- I have 2 Crucial M4 256GB SSDs on it (in RAID0) with 10.8 installed and its working and booting just fine

- I don't notice and flex on the PCB at all with the one drive installed on it - don't know it thats a difference in design or just you had a bad one.

- I still have more benchmarks to run but preliminary ones I've done definitely show some good speeds with the two in RAID0 - I personally don't think it would really be worth it for performance alone if you are only planning on using one drive with it.
Did you get two x2 cards? Or did you use the sata 3 connection and power source from optibay to power the second raid 0 m4 drive?

I definitely want to get this, great price point as well. Right my crucial m4 boot drive is connect to my second optibay connection.
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33GHZ 24GB Ram Nvidia GTX 670
Macbook Pro 15" 2.4 Penryn Macbook Air 11" 1.6GHZ C2D
Apple Cinema Display 30", 20"
Nikon D700
chiefroastbeef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2012, 12:25 PM   #19
letscopro
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by letscopro View Post
I just ordered the new Velocity Solo X2. I'll be using it with an Adata SX900 SSD as my boot drive.

Hopefully I'll get it this week. Performance results to follow.

http://www.apricorn.com/products/des...el-solox2.html
I installed the Velocity x2 yesterday and I have to say I'm not that impressed with what I'm seeing. There is a definite increase in the read time, but the write time is almost the same as the internal sata as you can see from the image. The ADATA SX900 maximum sequential read and write speeds are 550/530 MB per second.

I was expecting closer to 500 MB per second on both read and write speeds.

I'm waiting to hear back from Apricorn about this.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SSD Before & After.jpg
Views:	708
Size:	219.6 KB
ID:	352568  
letscopro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2012, 01:50 PM   #20
VirtualRain
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by letscopro View Post
I installed the Velocity x2 yesterday and I have to say I'm not that impressed with what I'm seeing. There is a definite increase in the read time, but the write time is almost the same as the internal sata as you can see from the image. The ADATA SX900 maximum sequential read and write speeds are 550/530 MB per second.

I was expecting closer to 500 MB per second on both read and write speeds.

I'm waiting to hear back from Apricorn about this.
That's disappointing for sure... let us know what Apricorn has to say for themselves.

It will be interesting to see what matthewtoney has to report with his dual M4s.
__________________
tools: nMP for photography, rMBP for working, iPad for surfing, iPhone for communicating, Mac Mini for entertaining
Canon tools: 5D Mark III 24-105L/70-300L/35L/50L/85L for capturing
VirtualRain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2012, 05:58 PM   #21
Kierkegaard
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Made in Quebec
Quote:
Originally Posted by letscopro View Post
I installed the Velocity x2 yesterday and I have to say I'm not that impressed with what I'm seeing. There is a definite increase in the read time, but the write time is almost the same as the internal sata as you can see from the image. The ADATA SX900 maximum sequential read and write speeds are 550/530 MB per second.

I was expecting closer to 500 MB per second on both read and write speeds.

I'm waiting to hear back from Apricorn about this.
Did you noticed that the boot of your Mac was much slower with this card as native SATA II to your computer?
Kierkegaard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2012, 07:03 PM   #22
matthewtoney
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualRain View Post
That's disappointing for sure... let us know what Apricorn has to say for themselves.

It will be interesting to see what matthewtoney has to report with his dual M4s.
For some reason the Black Magic Test is refusing to run on my RAID0 stripe on the X2. (tells me that drive is read-only, although it plainly is not - anyone with any idea on that?)

I've just run a bunch of tests on all my disks though in Xbench and I'm getting read/writes on it with the X2 very similar to what the other person was seeing. In my case - 566MB/s read and 579MB/s write.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by chiefroastbeef View Post
Did you get two x2 cards? Or did you use the sata 3 connection and power source from optibay to power the second raid 0 m4 drive?

I definitely want to get this, great price point as well. Right my crucial m4 boot drive is connect to my second optibay connection.

No this is just on 1 X2 card and yes I'm using the power from the optical bay to power the second drive connected to it.
matthewtoney is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2012, 08:58 PM   #23
Einz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by TableSyrup View Post
It does. Supports ALL Mac Pro's - but will only be BOOTABLE in the 4,1 and 5,1

Still an attractive product for data drives for those who need the performance.

But the price jump is making it less attractive - go buy a 256 SSD and the VSX2, and you may as well have just bought a Revodrive or similar

The one that bums me out is this one:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Mac-Array-SS...ht_1803wt_1399
Would be perfect if it was bootable, and if it was 64 bit kernel compliant. Fail.
I hope someone updates a version of this. Would be a heck of a way to go
No point of getting one, if you can't boot it.
Einz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 08:54 AM   #24
TableSyrup
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Einz View Post
No point of getting one, if you can't boot it.
Of course there is a point.... The disk speed of up to 4 drive raid? For DATA access?? Of course..... if you need more storage, this is a killer way to add 4 drives, at pretty awesome speed, for DATA - think Audio/Video

But..... no 64 bit. To me, that's the killer. I'd go $200 for one of them jokers in 64 bit - even if it wasn't bootable..... I don't need it bootable.
TableSyrup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 09:18 AM   #25
paulrbeers
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by letscopro View Post
I installed the Velocity x2 yesterday and I have to say I'm not that impressed with what I'm seeing. There is a definite increase in the read time, but the write time is almost the same as the internal sata as you can see from the image. The ADATA SX900 maximum sequential read and write speeds are 550/530 MB per second.

I was expecting closer to 500 MB per second on both read and write speeds.

I'm waiting to hear back from Apricorn about this.
All sand force drives perform poorly in black magic. Sand force drives (unless using toggle NAND) do poorly in incompressible data writes which I believe is what black magic uses. Check these benchmarks out from Anandtech.,,,

http://www.anandtech.com/show/5710/the-adata-xpg-sx900-128gb-review-maximizing-sandforce-capacity/3
paulrbeers is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apricorn Velocity V2 solo in 2012 MP Marty62 Mac Pro 13 Feb 27, 2014 02:37 PM
Resolved: Velocity Solo x1 and BootCamp NOTNlCE Mac Pro 31 Jan 4, 2014 02:52 AM
AHCI bootcamp with Velocity solo x2 Gav Mack Mac Pro 52 Dec 23, 2013 06:45 AM
Velocity Solo X2 - Two SSD's costabunny Mac Pro 22 Nov 22, 2013 06:46 PM
Velocity solo x2 boot issue pyzon Mac Pro 26 Sep 25, 2013 08:09 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC