Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Niko91

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 13, 2011
Italy
Hi all! :)
I've just started studying HTML and CSS in these weeks and I was wondering which software should I use for web designing. (It's a kind of hobby, I love it)

I want a software to grow up with, that I can learn well while I'm studying the code and will become my "best friend" for making websites ;)

I know that the most "famous" are Coda 2, Dreamweaver and Sublime Text 2. I've also heard about Flux 4, Rapidweaver and Freeway.
So, what do you recommend to me?

Thank you!

driftless

macrumors 65816
Sep 2, 2011
Chicago-area
I use a combination of Dreamweaver, along with CS 6 suite, and Coda 2. If Dreamweaver is within your budget, I would start there.

Niko91

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 13, 2011
Italy
Thank you for your answer :)
Yeah, Dreamweaver is in my budget and I'm quite familiar with Adobe's product since I've used Photoshop for years, now.
Maybe I'll give it a try ;)

lucidmedia

macrumors 6502a
Oct 13, 2008
Wellington, New Zealand
There are two very different types of software you list: some are WYSIWYG editors, and some are text-only editors.

The WYSIWYG tools are fun, but (in my opinion) are more useful for hobbyists and tweakers. The code they output is overly verbose, inflexible, and lacks the semantic ordering that (currently) only human thought can produce. Yes, tons of people use them, but they are not used "in the industry" by any reputable front-end web designer or developer I know.

If you want a tool that you can grow into, I would jump right into a text editor like Coda, Espresso, Textmate or similar. This will make you focus on the markup you write and give a better understanding of what is happening (and why) when your HTML/CSS is rendered in a browser.