Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 5, 2012, 08:15 PM   #1
HadItWithWindow
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Why Does Apple Assign Alias To OS X?

Whenever I want to check for updates I get totally confused about the operating systems.

When you click on the Apple and access "About This Mac" it never says you have Leopard or Lion or Mountain Lion. It is the OS X.x. A little uniformity would help.

I wished they would adopt the alias and drop the OS X.x for simplicity.
__________________
24" iMac, 2.8GHz, Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB 800 Mhz, DDR2 SDRAM, MPB, iPhone, iPad (1st edition) and AppleTV.
HadItWithWindow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2012, 08:20 PM   #2
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
Because they need to differentiate between the OS X software updates. If you just had Snow Leopard you wouldn't know if you were on 10.6, 10.6.5 or 10.6.8.
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2012, 08:21 PM   #3
djtech42
macrumors 65816
 
djtech42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Chester, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by HadItWithWindow View Post
Whenever I want to check for updates I get totally confused about the operating systems.

When you click on the Apple and access "About This Mac" it never says you have Leopard or Lion or Mountain Lion. It is the OS X.x. A little uniformity would help.

I wished they would adopt the alias and drop the OS X.x for simplicity.
It's important to have the version number so you know which one you have installed, but they could change "OS X" to Mountain Lion in About This Mac because it is implied that it is OS X.
__________________
2012 15" rMBP, 16 GB RAM, OS X Mavericks ; 2009 24" iMac C2Duo, 8 GB RAM ; 32 GB Black Verizon iPhone 5 ; 32 GB White iPad rMini ; Apple TV (2nd Gen) ;
djtech42 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2012, 08:28 PM   #4
pdjudd
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Plymouth, MN
They need to have the version number since all the OS's have various version updates - Lion for example encompasses 10.7.0 to 10.7.4. Knowing the precise version number is very important.
pdjudd is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2012, 08:46 PM   #5
HadItWithWindow
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Thx

So when Customer Support asks which operating system you are running they would rather you say OS X 10.8 than Mountain Lion.

From the replies above it appears the 10.6, 10.7 and 10.8 have various updates. Leopard, Lion and Mountain Lion.
__________________
24" iMac, 2.8GHz, Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB 800 Mhz, DDR2 SDRAM, MPB, iPhone, iPad (1st edition) and AppleTV.
HadItWithWindow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2012, 08:46 PM   #6
brand
macrumors 68040
 
brand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by HadItWithWindow View Post
I wished they would adopt the alias and drop the OS X.x for simplicity.
Why, how often do you look at it for it to matter?

Learn the the versions of Mac OS X and then it doesn't matter.
brand is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2012, 08:50 PM   #7
djtech42
macrumors 65816
 
djtech42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Chester, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by HadItWithWindow View Post
So when Customer Support asks which operating system you are running they would rather you say OS X 10.8 than Mountain Lion.

From the replies above it appears the 10.6, 10.7 and 10.8 have various updates. Leopard, Lion and Mountain Lion.
They would rather have you say OS X 10.8.4. (Doesn't exist yet, but I'm using it for my point) They would also be fine with Mountain Lion 10.8.4. As long as they know the version number, everything's fine. But, About This Mac needs to show the number. If you don't want it to say OS X, it could say Mountain Lion, Lion, or Snow Leopard depending on what you have so it is easier for the user to know which major version they have.
__________________
2012 15" rMBP, 16 GB RAM, OS X Mavericks ; 2009 24" iMac C2Duo, 8 GB RAM ; 32 GB Black Verizon iPhone 5 ; 32 GB White iPad rMini ; Apple TV (2nd Gen) ;
djtech42 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2012, 09:11 PM   #8
Icy1007
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Lion says OS X Lion 10.7.4 in the "About this Mac" More info section, but 10.8 doesn't say Mountain Lion anywhere in the OS. Little strange, but not really important.
__________________
15" 2011 MacBook Pro, 2.2 GHz i7 Quad, 8GB DDR3, 1GB Radeon HD 6750M, 750GB HDD; 32GB iPhone 5
Icy1007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2012, 09:37 PM   #9
VTECaddict
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Icy1007 View Post
Lion says OS X Lion 10.7.4 in the "About this Mac" More info section, but 10.8 doesn't say Mountain Lion anywhere in the OS. Little strange, but not really important.
Mine never said Lion. It said "Mac OS X", then "Version 10.7.4" underneath it.

ML just says "OS X" instead of "Mac OS X". And obviously the version is 10.8 instead of 10.7.4.

The cat names used to be internal code names, but they became so widely known that they began using them as marketing names too. It's catchy easier for lay people to refer to and remember. "Hey man, you got that Mountain Lion installed already?" Instead of "hey dude, did you upgrade to the new Mac OS X 10.8?"

It's the same thing for phones and many other electronics...like Galaxy S III instead of I9300.
VTECaddict is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2012, 09:47 PM   #10
Sylon
macrumors 68000
 
Sylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Michigan/Ohio, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by VTECaddict View Post
Mine never said Lion. It said "Mac OS X", then "Version 10.7.4" underneath it.

ML just says "OS X" instead of "Mac OS X". And obviously the version is 10.8 instead of 10.7.4.


Actually, it did in Lion, if you clicked the button that says "More Info", as shown here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...postcount=2460


However, when done in 10.8, it does not say "Mountain Lion", it just says: Software OS X 10.8 (12A269)
__________________
2013 13" Retina MacBook Pro | 32GB iPhone 4S | 32GB iPad Air | TV
16GB Samsung GS4 | 16GB Nexus 4 | 16GB Nexus 7
Sylon is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Mail - Assign favorite folders ozaz Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Feb 10, 2013 11:15 AM
How To Assign A Silent Ringtone? wrkactjob iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Nov 12, 2012 09:42 AM
Apple's Lightning Connector Uses Adaptive Technology to Dynamically Assign Pin Functions MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 390 Oct 16, 2012 12:29 AM
An app to assign shortcuts? Akarin Mac Basics and Help 3 Aug 14, 2012 05:36 AM
Assign Text to a Key lwien OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Aug 13, 2012 05:20 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC