Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rantingrich

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 10, 2009
Southern Illinois
The more I read the more confused I get....

I am an artist, 3d Anamator, Post edit, web-page guy! So I do it all .I am fixing on plunking down about 5 grand on a new MACPRO 12 core with ram and SSDs. This will probably be the last LARGE computer investment.

AS far as a monitor I was really leaning and had budgeted in for a 3011 Dell. Now I have read 1000s of reviews comments rants and harangues. Seem you either love it or hate it,,, BUT one thing that most say other and other is You better buy direct from DELL or if you have an issue getting it resolved will prove to be almost impossible. ALSO dell will not consider replacing it if it has 6 or less dead/stuck pixels. THEN if you do get it from DELL instead of say Amazon it will be almost $500 MORE! WTF! Almost 50% more to buy it from DELL? WTF?

SO I go looking at apples 27 and the reviews are very mixed. I do have my concerns about the SUPER HIGH GLOSS screen BUT people also have a conniption over DELLS aggressive Anti-glare coating as well.

ALSO there are 2 27 displays listed on APPLE one called a Apple LED Cinema Display (27" flat panel) and the other Apple Thunderbolt Display (27-inch)

I can not figure out any difference between the 2.

I would like a 30 inch BUT? I have about $1,000 - $1500 for this moniter.

Can anyone give me some advice here?

Also I have been told the SCREEN on the 30ich DELL is the same for the NEC 30 inch but the NEC is another $1000

inhalexhale1

macrumors 65816
Jul 17, 2011
PA

I am an artist, 3d Anamator, Post edit, web-page guy! So I do it all .I am fixing on plunking down about 5 grand on a new MACPRO 12 core with ram and SSDs. This will probably be the last LARGE computer investment.