Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TotalNewbie

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 8, 2012
Hi,

As my anem suggests I am an absolute n00b and basicly what happened if I brought a Power Mac G4 at an auction for a bargain price of £8.50 :cool: and as it didn't come with a hdd I brought and installed one. I'm now trying to install Tiger 10.4 but evertime I get to select an install disc no ahrdrive shows up even though I've got two installed. I think it's because I need to format them both but when I try to bring up disk utility I get the spinning beach ball of death :( .

Is there any way of formating a harddrive for a mac in windows? Or do I have to make a linux live disk or something? :confused: Any help or insight would be appreciated. Although I'm no expert with mac I like to think fo myself as pretty good with PC's. :eek:

Regards,

Zeke D

macrumors 65816
Nov 18, 2011
Arizona
the disk needs to have APM (apple partition map) if your drive is MBR (windows) it wont install to it. when you are booting the tiger install disc use disk manager from the utilities menu to repartition it apm.

eyoungren

macrumors Penryn
Aug 31, 2011
the disk needs to have APM (apple partition map) if your drive is MBR (windows) it wont install to it. when you are booting the tiger install disc use disk manager from the utilities menu to repartition it apm.
The way I'm reading the OP's post, he's getting SBBOD when he accesses Disk Utility after booting from the Tiger disk. Which means he can't partition or format the drive.

Unfortunately, I don't know anything that would help.

Intell

macrumors P6
Jan 24, 2010
Inside
Try it with just one hard drive in the machine. You may have their master/slave jumpers set incorrectly.

TotalNewbie

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 8, 2012
Tried it this morning and still no luck, :( Any other ideas guys? Thanks for all the help so far.

Regards,

TotalNewbie