Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 10, 2012, 01:18 AM   #1
Orange Furball
macrumors 65816
 
Orange Furball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Scranton, PA, USA
Send a message via AIM to Orange Furball
Power input help?

I have this cheap Android tablet that a "friend" left at the house. After the day they left it they don't answer calls or anything. Its been three months and they haven't tried to get this tablet back, so I figure its mine now morally wrong, but I don't even know where they live anymore so I might as well use it. Only problem is I don't have a power adapter for it.

On the back it says

Quite an odd combo I think.

Anyway I have one adapter with a plug that fits, but it says so that won't work. But I have another adapter that says only problem is that the plug not the right size.

Can I run the tablet if I switch the plugs on the adapters? I don't use them for anything. The amps are to low on the adapter, and I don't know what amps means, so maybe it won't work. The way I see it is it won't fry because there are less amps than it requires, so it will just charge slowly.
__________________
"I did it for me. I liked it. I was good at it. And I was really… I was alive" – Walter White ”
Orange Furball is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 02:03 PM   #2
Orange Furball
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Orange Furball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Scranton, PA, USA
Send a message via AIM to Orange Furball
Nothing?

Here is my question so you don't have to read the OP. Can I charge a tablet that requires 5v DC 2.5A on a charger that has 5v DC 1.5A?

Thanks!
__________________
"I did it for me. I liked it. I was good at it. And I was really… I was alive" – Walter White ”
Orange Furball is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 02:25 PM   #3
cynics
macrumors 603
 
cynics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Yeah, just use the 5v AC adapter with the plug that works.

Story seems suspicious though. Friend left it there, and moved away to an unknown to you location? Lol
cynics is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 03:00 PM   #4
Orange Furball
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Orange Furball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Scranton, PA, USA
Send a message via AIM to Orange Furball
Quote:
Originally Posted by cynics View Post
Yeah, just use the 5v AC adapter with the plug that works.

Story seems suspicious though. Friend left it there, and moved away to an unknown to you location? Lol
Haha believe me the whole story is quite messed up. It also involves him divorcing his wife and basically abandoning his son. Oh well!
__________________
"I did it for me. I liked it. I was good at it. And I was really… I was alive" – Walter White ”
Orange Furball is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 05:21 PM   #5
Orange Furball
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Orange Furball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Scranton, PA, USA
Send a message via AIM to Orange Furball
It works! Doesn't charge but I'll probably just stick it in the kitchen for recipes. Its not good for much else, there's no play store and its not very snappy, but simple text based pages should be fine
__________________
"I did it for me. I liked it. I was good at it. And I was really… I was alive" – Walter White ”
Orange Furball is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 07:45 PM   #6
Jessica Lares
macrumors 603
 
Jessica Lares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Near Dallas, Texas, USA
Does it not have a microUSB adapter?
__________________
Have You Hugged Your Mac Today?
Daily Expressions | iMac G4 | Late 2011 13" MacBook Pro | iPod Nano (7G) | iPad Mini | iPod Touch (5G) | iPhone 5S
Jessica Lares is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Input source selector does not show when switching the input source Raizen.Z09 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Mar 12, 2014 07:49 AM
Macbook Pro 15" late 2008 no power input bs180 MacBook Pro 7 Feb 18, 2014 02:18 AM
Can't power on early 2006 intel iMac, bad power supply or inverter? asterjj iMac 5 Feb 8, 2013 04:59 PM
Four New Lightning Adapters, Higher-Power iPad Power Adapter Coming Today MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 53 Oct 26, 2012 10:43 AM
Apple TV Power Input butterwm Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Jul 1, 2012 05:15 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC