Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 13, 2012, 11:14 PM   #1
Rjensen
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Georgetown
how to get dictator to rip with handbrake?

having problem with my copy of dictator usa, handbrake new version does not work exits right quick

many others tonight worked fine dictator does not

can someone please give me a hand
Rjensen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 06:29 AM   #2
heisenberg123
macrumors 603
 
heisenberg123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rjensen View Post
having problem with my copy of dictator usa, handbrake new version does not work exits right quick

many others tonight worked fine dictator does not

can someone please give me a hand
This has happened to me some movies are just a pain
heisenberg123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 07:51 AM   #3
powaking
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Try either RipIt or MDRP to rip the disc first.
__________________
White/Silver 32gb iPhone 5 iOS 7.0.4 jb 2007 MacBook Pro 2014 13" rMBP
powaking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 08:39 AM   #4
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Try Open Source Title Specific to bypass the fake titles in Handbrake.

https://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/Suppo...lespecificscan
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 09:22 AM   #5
The DRis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Oceanside, CA
You can also try makeMKV, it's free right now.
__________________
01001101 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101110 00100000 01001100 01100001 01100010 01100101
The DRis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 08:51 PM   #6
MDI
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Alexandria, VA
Try this...

You need to find out which of 99 titles is actually the movie. I found the next paragraph on macworld.com that explains how to do it.

Just insert the DVD and let Apple’s DVD Player application play it. Skip through the previews, commercials, and whatever else crops up before you can watch the movie. When the main feature finally begins playing, push your cursor to the top of the display to reveal the menu bar. From that menu bar choose Go -> Title. Scan down the long list of titles and you’ll see a check next to one of the titles. This is the title number of the real main feature. Make a note of it.

You can now return to HandBrake and instruct it to rip this title as the main feature. All should now be well.

When you start Handbrake click cancel (don't select a source).
Click "File", then "Open Source (Title Specific)..., then the box pops up that normally does looking for you to select the source. Select "The Dictator" as you would normally.
Now another window pops up asking you which title you are looking for. For my copy of "The Dictator", it looks like it's #59. Mine is running at the moment.

Hope this helps.

Mike

Last edited by MDI; Aug 22, 2012 at 11:27 PM. Reason: Added easy instruction on how to identify actual movie.
MDI is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2012, 10:37 PM   #7
jackandjill
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Need to restart Handbrake first

The above report about opening title 59 works fine as long as you do it as soon as you start handbrake. Fooling around with different methods leaves Handbrake in a state where it cannot open any title. Restarting handbrake and following the procedure worked fine.
jackandjill is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't rip Blu-ray using Handbrake DeafRaiders Mac Applications and Mac App Store 20 Dec 14, 2013 02:19 PM
Blu-ray Handbrake Rip is 720p jetmaster114 Apple TV and Home Theater 5 Sep 26, 2013 01:30 PM
Still cannot rip 3:10 To Yuma with Handbrake ttx336 Apple TV and Home Theater 7 Apr 4, 2013 02:30 PM
How to rip subtitles in handbrake Supernerd Digital Video 1 Jan 1, 2013 09:06 AM
Handbrake rip problem Big Stevie Mac Basics and Help 1 Aug 19, 2012 06:21 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC