Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ReDDs3D

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 14, 2012
Hi, recently my 60w magsafe adapter for my school macbook 7.1 (2010) broke down. I was having some trouble with it the past month where it wouldn't charge and the only way to charge it was by twisting it. Yesterday, that method didn't work either, so I twisted a bit more than usual and well, the inside wires had ripped, rendering it useless.

School starts in a few days and I am genuinely screwed. My school is way to pretentious and will charge more than a $150 USD for a new adapter, and my dad just won't pay for it. I also live in Shanghai and the official apple store is about an hour and a half away, and even then it'll be around a $100 USD or so. I am short on cash since I am a student, and my only option really is to get a 3rd party magsafe, I've looked online at local shopping websites (amazon CN and tmall) and have found a few with very favourible reviews. They are also in my price range being about $20 - $30.

I'm just wondering if I should get one. I would have gotten one already since reviews and stuff for them are great, but I'm just paranoid that anything bad can happen :confused: , I don't wanna reck this laptop!

Help me out here, what should I do....

Nov 28, 2010
located
As far as I know, it is not recommended to use third party adapters, especially since they user lesser parts than the real ones and might damage your MB in the long run.
Strange though, that your school wants 150 USD when an original "only" costs 92 USD (588 RMB).
I guess your Mac is out of warranty?

ReDDs3D

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 14, 2012
As far as I know, it is not recommended to use third party adapters, especially since they user lesser parts than the real ones and might damage your MB in the long run.
Strange though, that your school wants 150 USD when an original "only" costs 92 USD (588 RMB).