Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

LittleGwen

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 25, 2012
USA
So.... I had to say goodbye to my much loved macbook that I've been using for 6 years... and purchased the macbook air because it's very light and easy for me to carry around. Plus, I don't need as much firepower as I would get with Macbook Pro since I just need an everyday light laptop. However, when I brought it to work after purchasing it, all my coworkers were asking me why on earth I bought the Macbook Air instead of the Macbook Pro. When I attend classes at my school, all the students there are carrying Macbook Pro as well. I thought since the Air was lighter, it would be more popular with students. I haven't seen one student (besides me) who has the Air and the majority of students here use a macbook. Am I missing something here? Is the Macbook Air looked down upon by Apple fans or what?:confused:

plucky duck

macrumors 6502a
Jan 5, 2012
So long as it meets your needs at a price point you're willing to accept, why does it matter to you what others deem as value or poor value? Value is in the eye of the beholder.

May 8, 2008
The only thing that matters is your need(s). If the MBA meets your needs then it's a great buy.

stchman

macrumors 6502a
Jul 16, 2012
St. Louis, MO
What are the other students doing that the MBA is inadequate?

One opinion is that the students are carrying older MBPs. When the MBA first came out it was pretty expensive.

Now that the MBA is priced very well, the MBP isn't really that much more powerful.

knarzie

macrumors regular
Aug 5, 2008
Yes regular mac users point and laugh at people like you. And ffs, you NEED a pro. An MBA is not made for tasks such as emailing, web browsing and using office.

stchman

macrumors 6502a
Jul 16, 2012
St. Louis, MO