Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 15, 2012, 03:30 PM   #1
rantingrich
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
I got Mine. CLONE yours!

AM working on my NEW 12 core Mac Pro! WOO HOO! Not one bust bunny inside. I ordered a 240 gb SSD from OWC last week and it came BUT did NOT include a Adapter bracket for the 3.5 HD Bay. I was thinking i could just plug in the wire harnesses into it and leave it hanging.. NOPE! SO OWC sent me a bracket that UPS say is out for delivery! So here I sit.....

I thought most of not all SSDx came with a adapter bracket! Had to pay another 40 bucks for it. BUT when it gets here I will need to clone the 7200 HD to the SSD... Does anyone know of any good CLONING SW preferably FREE!
rantingrich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 03:33 PM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by rantingrich View Post
Does anyone know of any good CLONING SW preferably FREE!
Carbon Copy Cloner isn't free, but it's highly recommended. There is a free trial.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 03:34 PM   #3
danny_w
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin, TX
SuperDuper! is what I have always used and trust; it is free for the basics. You pay to get extras like "smart" backups which is worth it to me for a continual bootable clone in case anything goes wrong. I have tried CCC (Carbon Copy Cloner) in the past but never had good luck with it.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini i7 2.3 GHz Samsung 840 ssd 10.8.5, LG G2 KitKat & iPhone 4 (T-Mobile) 6.1, TV2 (2), iPad2 16GB, iPad Air 16GB
danny_w is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 03:50 PM   #4
paulrbeers
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by rantingrich View Post
I thought most of not all SSDx came with a adapter bracket! Had to pay another 40 bucks for it.
Most of use use the ICY Dock plastic case to convert our 2.5" SSD to 3.5" drives. Cost me about $15 from Amazon (but I have read some reliability issues with them so hard to say). Further, yes many SSD's come with converters, but none of the 3-4 I had sitting in my drawer of "computer crap" worked with the Mac Pro Sleds since the converters were designed to be held in place by side screws and not the bottom screws (if that makes sense?). I actually plugged my SSD into the 1st slot, and held it "upright" by putting a small box between the top of the front fan shroud and the bottom of the SSD until my ICY Dock arrived (when I realized none of the SSD converters would work).
__________________
rMBP 11,2 15" 2.0Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
MBA 6,2 13" 1.7Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
Mac Mini 6,2 2.3ghz w/ 240GB SSD + 1TB
Mac Pro 1,1 w/ 8 cores @ 2.66 w/ 240GB SSD
paulrbeers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 04:10 PM   #5
Garen
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Los Angeles Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by rantingrich View Post
... Does anyone know of any good CLONING SW preferably FREE!
Big congrats on your new MACPRO, I use CCC but you could use Disk Utility to clone it and it is free and included with all OSX versions that I'm aware of.

Garen
__________________
2010 Hexacore 3.3 24GB 120 SSD 24 ACD, 2007 3.0 Octocore 24GB 256 SSD 30 ACD, G5 2.0 Dual 23 ACD, 2.4 Ghz 15 MBP.
Garen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 04:26 PM   #6
rantingrich
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Du

Quote:
Originally Posted by Garen View Post
Big congrats on your new MACPRO, I use CCC but you could use Disk Utility to clone it and it is free and included with all OSX versions that I'm aware of.

Garen
I am looking at Apples DU and dont see any CLONE options
rantingrich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 04:29 PM   #7
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rantingrich View Post
I am looking at Apples DU and dont see any CLONE options
I have never been able to make a working clone with apples disc utility. superduper works it is free. the basic program is good enough.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 04:30 PM   #8
danny_w
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by rantingrich View Post
I am looking at Apples DU and dont see any CLONE options
It's not obvious:

http://www.macinstruct.com/node/147

SuperDuper! is my preferred method by far, and it's free too for basic use. Much more straightforward than DU and much better IMHO.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini i7 2.3 GHz Samsung 840 ssd 10.8.5, LG G2 KitKat & iPhone 4 (T-Mobile) 6.1, TV2 (2), iPad2 16GB, iPad Air 16GB
danny_w is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 04:46 PM   #9
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
If you clone with DU you have to be booted from an external source. SuperDuper and CCC can clone while booted in the environment I believe.
But yes, CCC and Disk Utility are free! Unless you want to throw down something to bombich as it is technically shareware.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 04:51 PM   #10
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by derbothaus View Post
But yes, CCC and Disk Utility are free! Unless you want to throw down something to bombich as it is technically shareware.
Not anymore. With version 3.5, CCC is no longer free.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 04:53 PM   #11
Loa
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Québec
Quote:
Originally Posted by derbothaus View Post
But yes, CCC and Disk Utility are free!
Not anymore for CCC. But if you ever donated to them, you get a free activation code.

Loa
Loa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 05:25 PM   #12
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
That must be why every backup cycle no matter what nag option I choose it wants me to "upgrade"
OK. Totally worth it and he deserves it. Saved many rear ends.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 05:28 PM   #13
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by derbothaus View Post
That must be why every backup cycle no matter what nag option I choose it wants me to "upgrade"
OK. Totally worth it and he deserves it. Saved many rear ends.
You can disable that:
Quote:
Can I continue using the older version of CCC for free?
Yes, absolutely. Note, however, that previous versions of CCC are not qualified against Mountain Lion. Choose "Update CCC..." from the Carbon Copy Cloner menu to see options for disabling the CCC software update checks.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 05:47 PM   #14
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
This looks like a great way to mount a SSD in the original drive sled slot:

http://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/MMP35T25/




-howard
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 06:21 PM   #15
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
You can disable that:
Thanks I didn't see it in usual Prefs.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to back-up/reinstall OS - to clone or not to clone pianoman88 Mac mini 5 Apr 10, 2014 04:54 PM
I bet you I get mine before you! tmanto02 iPhone 13 Sep 20, 2013 12:02 PM
What's mine is mine - Using Lion on multiple computers dswallace Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 1 Dec 17, 2012 02:31 AM
Finally got mine! locomotive282 Mac mini 35 Nov 24, 2012 12:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC