Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 21, 2012, 06:59 PM   #26
Omnius
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
I installed the old ram, same problem. I suppose that isolates that the new SSD is the problem
Omnius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2012, 07:53 PM   #27
Omnius
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
I just resat the SSD. The problem is the same. It freezes after I've been using it for a few minutes. The mouse still moves but nothing else does. I was able to transfer my entire back up onto the SSD without any issue.

How can this be a bad disk?

Last edited by Omnius; Aug 21, 2012 at 08:01 PM.
Omnius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2012, 08:24 PM   #28
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
It could be a bad disk. Have you tried reinstalling Mac OS X from scratch?
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2012, 08:32 PM   #29
Omnius
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
No, I suppose that's really the last thing I have left to do. But it's mind boggling that it would work fine through firewire. Edit: is it possibly due to the fact that SSDs were non existent when the older mini and the OS were released?

Last edited by Omnius; Aug 21, 2012 at 09:32 PM.
Omnius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2012, 10:36 PM   #30
Omnius
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
I believe using a copy of lion did the trick. I had the older mini run in target disk mode and connected it to the newer mini via firewire 400-800. I then started the newer mini up from its recovery partition and used it to install a fresh copy of lion onto the older mini.

Right now it's operating pretty smoothly. I believe Lion is a bit of a ram hog but fortunately I just increased the ram. I can clearly see that the mini is utilizing 3 gbs of the 4gbs of ram installed.

The older mini appears to be running 64 bit.

So now its a 2007 mini with 4gb of ram installed, a 256gb SSD and lion. All i need to do is figure out how I'm going to handle the windows partition and I ought to be golden.

Last edited by Omnius; Aug 21, 2012 at 11:57 PM.
Omnius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 12:25 AM   #31
El Burro
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omnius View Post
The older mini appears to be running 64 bit.

So now its a 2007 mini with 4gb of ram installed, a 256gb SSD and lion. All i need to do is figure out how I'm going to handle the windows partition and I ought to be golden.
Don't forget to upgrade the CPU to either a T7200 or T7600 if you haven't already. It's arguably the best upgrade you can do for the computer. It's a very cheap and easy upgrade (the 2.00 Ghz Core 2 Duo T7200 is like $25.00 and a T7600 2.33 Ghz Core 2 Duo is about $65.00 on ebay if you are patient) - just yank out the old chip, and plug in the better one.

Also, your Mac Mini is still 32 bit even though it shows 64 bit in Lion. The chipset is 32 bit, so even though the processor can be 64 bit, your computer prevents it from being 64 bit. This is also why 3.1 GB is addressable through OS X and not the full 4 GB (which can be used by a true 64 big machine).

Last edited by El Burro; Aug 22, 2012 at 02:09 AM.
El Burro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 02:15 AM   #32
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
If the computer can boot and run Lion, it is a 64-bit computer because it can execute 64-bit binaries. The it lacks 64-bit memory addressing.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 06:32 AM   #33
Omnius
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Burro View Post
Don't forget to upgrade the CPU to either a T7200 or T7600 if you haven't already. It's arguably the best upgrade you can do for the computer. It's a very cheap and easy upgrade (the 2.00 Ghz Core 2 Duo T7200 is like $25.00 and a T7600 2.33 Ghz Core 2 Duo is about $65.00 on ebay if you are patient) - just yank out the old chip, and plug in the better one.

Also, your Mac Mini is still 32 bit even though it shows 64 bit in Lion. The chipset is 32 bit, so even though the processor can be 64 bit, your computer prevents it from being 64 bit. This is also why 3.1 GB is addressable through OS X and not the full 4 GB (which can be used by a true 64 big machine).
This computer already has 2ghz.

Does that mean I would be better off with snow leopard for performance purposes? Are there downsides to my 32 bit computer running 64 bit lion as opposed to 32 bit snow leopard?

Last edited by Omnius; Aug 22, 2012 at 06:57 AM.
Omnius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 07:26 AM   #34
El Burro
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
If the computer can boot and run Lion, it is a 64-bit computer because it can execute 64-bit binaries. The it lacks 64-bit memory addressing.
due to EFI (BIOS replacement) being 32-bit only your kernel gets booted in 32 bit mode, too despite having 64-bit capable CPU. It's a chip set/hardware limitation.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Omnius View Post
This computer already has 2ghz.

Does that mean I would be better off with snow leopard for performance purposes? Are there downsides to my 32 bit computer running 64 bit lion as opposed to 32 bit snow leopard?
Well, I personally like SL compared to the bastardization Apple did with Lion and Mountain Lion (have ML on laptop). They forced you to adopt to what they like and eliminated a lot of nice things like, "Save As" and they even removed the arrows on scroll bars without even giving you the choice to re-enable them. Apple really wants to micromanage you.

Also, SL can be run in 64 bit, but I'm not sure what performance benefits you'd get between 32 bit and 64 bit. I guess it also ahs to do with how the application you're using is optimized for which can impact performance i.e. VLC which is only currently in 32 bit.

SL, generally speaking, is a faster OS though because it doesn't have as much eye glitter like Lion does.
El Burro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 08:30 AM   #35
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Data moves through the machine at 64-bits per CPU cycle. The EFI is a software limitation. The only the memory addressing is 32-bit.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 04:29 PM   #36
weckart
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Burro View Post
Well, I personally like SL compared to the bastardization Apple did with Lion and Mountain Lion (have ML on laptop). They forced you to adopt to what they like and eliminated a lot of nice things like, "Save As" and they even removed the arrows on scroll bars without even giving you the choice to re-enable them. Apple really wants to micromanage you.
The first thing I did with my ML installation is to hide Duplicate and restore Save As, which fortunately was easy to do.
weckart is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 04:49 PM   #37
El Burro
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Data moves through the machine at 64-bits per CPU cycle. The EFI is a software limitation. The only the memory addressing is 32-bit.
I was under the impression that the processor was 64 bit, but it was both the chipset (hardware) and the EFI/BIOS equivalent (software) that it was 32 bit.

If it's really just a software limitation, then what enables the 64 bit? Going from Mac Mini 1,1 (2006) -> Mac Mini 2,1 (2007)?

And is there some sort of degradation in performance when you're pairing a 64 bit processor that's running a 64 bit OS (Lion), and matching it with memory that is at 32 bit?

Finally, can the Mac mini 1,1 that has Mac Mini 2,1 firmware read 4 GB of RAM if you apply some hack, rather than the 3.1 GB (or is it 3.3 GB???)? Why is it that Windows 32 bit can address up to 4 GB, but OS X 32 bit can't? There must be some way to enable the remaining unread RAM if it's a software issue as 32bit means up to 4GB. I read about one guy who had a mac mini 1,1 -> mac mini 2,1 and was able to show 4GB of RAM in his computer, supposedly, but I don't know if he knew what he was talking about.
El Burro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 05:41 PM   #38
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
To get 64-bit applications to run on a Mac Mini 1,1, you have to replace its CPU with a Core2Duo. There is no way to get the Mini to read more than 3.3GB of ram. Even a 32-bit Windows box can only use up to 3.3GB, even though it can see all 4GB of ram.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 08:10 PM   #39
Omnius
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Just as an update, ripping a DVD is now between 3 and 4 times faster than it was.

Last edited by Omnius; Aug 23, 2012 at 12:17 AM.
Omnius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2012, 12:04 AM   #40
Omnius
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Aside from the option of upgrading from 2 ghz to 2.33 ghz, is there anything else I can do?

Last edited by Omnius; Aug 23, 2012 at 12:42 AM.
Omnius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2012, 12:47 AM   #41
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omnius View Post
Aside from the option of upgrading from 2 ghz to 2.33 ghz, is there anything else I can do?
It's the fastest CPU Intell made with a 667Mhz Fbus.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2012, 12:53 AM   #42
Omnius
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
So really, any additional upgrades would have to be upgrading to the 2.33ghz chip.

Are there any more radical improvements I could make in upgrading the mini overall?
Omnius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2012, 05:29 PM   #43
El Burro
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omnius View Post
So really, any additional upgrades would have to be upgrading to the 2.33ghz chip.

Are there any more radical improvements I could make in upgrading the mini overall?
4GB of RAM if not done already. $25 bucks for 2 Samsung sticks on ebay.
El Burro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2012, 09:31 PM   #44
Omnius
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Burro View Post
4GB of RAM if not done already. $25 bucks for 2 Samsung sticks on ebay.
Ram was the first thing we discussed in the thread. The SSD and Ram.

I was wondering if it was possible to disconnect the optical drive and replace it with a big HD. I can't find any clear information on what connects the optical drive.
Omnius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2012, 09:43 PM   #45
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
The optical drive has a JAE-50 connection. This is the same connection used in early Macbook and Macbook Pros. It is a PATA type of connection. You can get a tray that will accept a SATA hard drive and convert it to the JAE-50/PATA for the Mini. Just look for an upgrade that will put a hard drive in an early Macbook's optical bay.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2012, 09:48 PM   #46
mfearon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
macmini1,1 firmware can be upgraded to macmini2,1

2GB memory modules will not work in the oldest Mac Minis (2006-7),
the firmware will simply not allow the computer to start powering on if
a 2GB SODIMM is placed in the slot!
These models can be identified as:
"About This Mac -> More Info -> Model Identifier: Macmini1,1".
I have two of these old 1,1 models upgraded to Core 2 Duo processors,
which work great, but I wanted to up the memory to 3GB.
I tried some memory that should have worked to upgrade to 3GB (not 4! -see below):
http://www.amazon.com/PNY-Channel-PC...cm_rdp_product "PNY OPTIMA 2GB SODIMM"
it was really inexpensive- price is often $25/pair- but I sent it back... Duh!
I got some 2GB memory that was sold as definitely Macmini compatible,
and when it didn't work, I knew something was up- the firmware.
The firmware upgrade from Macmini1,1 to Macmini2,1 is a bit of a leap of faith-
not an Apple-endorsed (or even developed!) process.
But some of us leap at the chance to do hair-raising firmware upgrades
in order to wring the last bit of performance out of an old computer-
especially if it lets us use the absolute cheapest hardware!
Here is a MacRumors thread that documents the
firmware upgrade Macmini1,1 to Macmini2,1 process well:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1197875
Note- Don't let the title of this thread (Keyboard?) throw you-
it gets around to firmware, and by 2011-11-20, the process is explained in detail.

I'm hoping that someone can verify that the 2GB modules I sent back
-"PNY OPTIMA 2GB SODIMM"- really work in Mac Minis-
I believe that they MUST be used alongside a 1GB in a Mac Mini.
It is possible to upgrade an older Mac Mini with 4GB - NOT with these PNY parts -
but a little less than half of one SODIMM is wasted,
as the Core 2 Duo processor can utilize ONLY slightly more than 3GB.
I have been led to believe -and would appreciate verification- that
"Core Duo or Solo" processors (the ones that shipped with these old Mac Minis!)
can only utilize 2GB at most --even with firmware updated to Macmini2,1.
Many Mac Mini owners already have a 1GB SODIMM installed there,
so adding the cheapest 2GB SODIMM that can co-exist with the
1GB SODIMM gives the best value, and fills the memory space nearly to the top.
These PNY OPTIMA parts are listed here as a "Dual Channel Kit",
which gives a performance boost in many computers -
but the pair will NOT function AT ALL in an older Mac Mini when
both are installed in the 2 memory slots.
The results of testing Core 2 Duo Mac Minis with 2x2G vs 3GB with
several benchmarks (Photoshop, Halo, Xbench, etc.) are shown here:
http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/apple...mance_testing/

Summary:
1. The firmware upgrade Macmini1,1 to Macmini2,1 process is complex and risky,
but necessary to use 2GB SODIMMS.
2. The processor in the Mac Mini may have to be a Core 2 Duo in order to
access the resulting 3GB total. (Can anyone verify?)
3. The combination of the 2GB and 1GB module is a good price/performance tradeoff,
especially as compared to adding 2x2GB modules.
4. A single "PNY OPTIMA 2GB SODIMM" from the set of 2x2GB,
when paired with a 1GB SODIMM, will operate in an older
Mac Mini computer only when the firmware is upgraded to
"Model Identifier: Macmini2,1". (Can anyone verify?)
(Reason: actually PC2-6400 SODIMM, and needs a PC2-5300 to slow it down!)
mfearon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2012, 09:54 PM   #47
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Two 2GB ram sticks for a total of 4GB (3.3 usable by the Mini) will work in a 1,1 Mini when the 2,1 firmware is flashed onto it. A Core2Duo CPU is not needed, just recommended. For best speed it is suggested to have two 2GB sticks for dual channel support and that extra 300MB to help off set the 64MB needed for video ram.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2012, 10:33 PM   #48
Omnius
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Two 2GB ram sticks for a total of 4GB (3.3 usable by the Mini) will work in a 1,1 Mini when the 2,1 firmware is flashed onto it. A Core2Duo CPU is not needed, just recommended. For best speed it is suggested to have two 2GB sticks for dual channel support and that extra 300MB to help off set the 64MB needed for video ram.
My thoughts exactly.

----------

On an odd note, The SSD still appears to unmount randomly. I don't think it's the hardware because I've not experienced any issues when booting from windows. Obviously It's only been a few days but it does appear that the issue may be entirely due to software.

To be clear, the SSD is a 256GB Kingston SSDNOW V200
Omnius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 12:33 AM   #49
mfearon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
2GB PC2-6400 SODIMM in a Mac Mini with Macmini2,1 firmware

I tested a 2GB PC2-6400 SODIMM in a Mac Mini with Macmini2,1 firmware and
Core 2 Duo processor, and it worked fine-
either with another PC2-5300 or all by itself!

The info from the SODIMM barcode label is:
Samsung 2GB 2Rx8 PC2-6400S-666-12-E3 M470T5663QZ3-CF7 0911
SPS: 506933-001 2048 Date Code: 7J0944 CT: RACXN7JS1XETS7
Chip: SEC 910 HCF7 K4T1G084QQ CTA543CAC -last number varies

The Mac mini identified the PC2-6400 module thru
System Profiler (Version 10.6.0 (217)) as:
BANK 0/DIMM0:
Size: 2 GB
Type: DDR2 SDRAM
Speed: 667 MHz
Status: OK
Manufacturer: 0xCE00000000000000
Part Number: 0x4D342037305435363633515A332D43463720
Serial Number: 0x6181282D

So the Mac Mini does not reveal the part is an 800MHz PC2-6400,
however, when I put this PC2-6400 in a D820 Hackintosh w/ OSX BIOS,
System Profiler (Version 10.6.0 (217) reveals the 800MHz:
DIMM_B:
Size: 2 GB
Type: DDR2 SDRAM
Speed: 800 MHz
Status: OK
Manufacturer: Apple Computer Inc.
Part Number: M470T5663QZ3-CF73Q
Serial Number: 6181282D

Activity Monitor ver 10.6 (212)- Memory with 2x 2GB SODIMM installed.
Mac Mini: Pie is 3GB big. adds up to 3.130GB (sys profiler:4GB)
D820 Hackintosh Pie is 3.25GB big. adds up to 3.276GB (sys profiler:4GB)
mfearon is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
About To Purchase a 2012 Mac Mini. What is most important Upgrades right away? FunkTechNician Mac mini 21 Sep 14, 2013 08:58 AM
Mac Mini 2009 model 3.1 - what upgrades ? Jambalaya Mac mini 10 Jun 29, 2013 01:56 PM
Mac mini mods/ upgrades Ngorkes Mac mini 21 May 25, 2013 09:20 AM
Mac Mini 2009 - SSD (Intel 520) and Memory (Kingston 2 x 4GB) Upgrades geoffreak Mac mini 1 Aug 15, 2012 09:25 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC