Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 30, 2012, 12:23 PM   #1
RafeDonson
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Bought an E-Mac, now a few more questions.

I've seen an eMac at my local pawnbroker store, going for 50.00, though I'm hoping I can get them down to 40.00 if I decide to buy it. It has a six month guarantee and I'm going to check the spec out first. I plan on plugging it into a monitor with a KVM switch so I can use it like a Mac Mini.

My questions are - if it's 1.00 GHZ +, is it work it for the money? Also, is there any way of getting a higher resolution out of it with my widescreen monitor? The highest resolution they support via VGA out seems to be 1280 x 960.

Last edited by RafeDonson; Sep 4, 2012 at 06:54 AM.
RafeDonson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2012, 12:57 PM   #2
ihuman:D
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
I'd say 50 is a good deal, not sure about your monitor issues though.
__________________
iMac G4 17'' 1.25GHz PowerBook G4 15'' Hi-Res 1.67GHz iMac 2012 21.5" 2.9GHz i5
It's spelled "Aluminium"
It's "Couldn't care less" not "Could care less"
ihuman:D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2012, 02:41 PM   #3
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by RafeDonson View Post
Also, is there any way of getting a higher resolution out of it with my widescreen monitor? The highest resolution they support via VGA out seems to be 1280 x 960.
You need Screen spanning doctor to enable desktop spanning and better resolutions on external. By default eMac can only mirror its desktop. It will work with all eMac models except these with GF2 MX (700 & 800 MHz).

I wouldn't pay 50.00 for any eMac except 1.42 one. But it depends on your local prices level. On my local market, you can get 1.42 with 1GB, AP, BT and alu kbd for equivalent of 55 - 60. PowerPC Macs are dirt cheap around here, maybe except Quads - those are highly overpriced. Kids here want to have the latest and greatest to run FB and YT, so they consider PowerPC as old crap
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2012, 08:27 PM   #4
MS Windows
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Geez...I could've hooked you up with a few eMacs a week ago...we were just throwing 80 of them out at work!
MS Windows is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2012, 06:03 PM   #5
RafeDonson
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MS Windows View Post
Geez...I could've hooked you up with a few eMacs a week ago...we were just throwing 80 of them out at work!
Curses, foiled again. Well, as it happens I got the eMac, which turned out to be a 1.25Ghz one with 256MB of memory and Panther. There was no password and no recovery disks, so I talked the shop into giving it me for 40. I got it back home and eventually managed to get past the password... shortly afterwards I spotted the password was written on the underside of the keyboard!

It's working okay - I've got a 6 month guarantee apparently - and I plan on upgrading the memory to 2GB pretty soon. However, I've still got a few issues - help would be appreciated.

1) Safari won't work - the icon bounces and won't open. The 'get info' function indicates it's version 2, so I gather the problem is that Panther - the OS that's on the E-Mac - doesn't support that. But 1.3 isn't downloadable, only the patches are. Is there any way of getting 1.3 back on their without doing a system restore? I'm using Camino for now but I'd prefer the highest version of Safari I can get, so not 1.2 either.

2) How do I figure out which restore discs I need? There seem to be a fair few on E-Bay, but I'm wary of getting the wrong ones. I could contact Apple but I suspect they don't keep discs that old around.

3) Is there any point upgrading to Leopard, once I've increased the memory? It might give me access to slightly newer software but will it be significantly slower?

4) Are software updates still online for OS X 10.3? If I do buy a set of recovery disks, and the updates aren't available, I'd be taking a step back from 10.3.9 which is where I am now.
RafeDonson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2012, 06:15 PM   #6
Lil Chillbil
macrumors 65816
 
Lil Chillbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by RafeDonson View Post
Curses, foiled again. Well, as it happens I got the eMac, which turned out to be a 1.25Ghz one with 256MB of memory and Panther. There was no password and no recovery disks, so I talked the shop into giving it me for 40. I got it back home and eventually managed to get past the password... shortly afterwards I spotted the password was written on the underside of the keyboard!

It's working okay - I've got a 6 month guarantee apparently - and I plan on upgrading the memory to 2GB pretty soon. However, I've still got a few issues - help would be appreciated.

1) Safari won't work - the icon bounces and won't open. The 'get info' function indicates it's version 2, so I gather the problem is that Panther - the OS that's on the E-Mac - doesn't support that. But 1.3 isn't downloadable, only the patches are. Is there any way of getting 1.3 back on their without doing a system restore? I'm using Camino for now but I'd prefer the highest version of Safari I can get, so not 1.2 either.

2) How do I figure out which restore discs I need? There seem to be a fair few on E-Bay, but I'm wary of getting the wrong ones. I could contact Apple but I suspect they don't keep discs that old around.

3) Is there any point upgrading to Leopard, once I've increased the memory? It might give me access to slightly newer software but will it be significantly slower?

4) Are software updates still online for OS X 10.3? If I do buy a set of recovery disks, and the updates aren't available, I'd be taking a step back from 10.3.9 which is where I am now.
1) that sucks that your screwed on internet without a system restore

2) don't buy restore discs just get a plain ole' panther disc set

3) leopard will run good on this system with max ram and I highly recommend it

4) yes software updates are still available but they are not updating panther anymore
__________________
Check out my youtube Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/TheKull101
Mac skinned pc Luna netbook
Lil Chillbil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2012, 06:27 PM   #7
Lil Chillbil
macrumors 65816
 
Lil Chillbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
and while your at it you might want to replace the pram battery as the originals in these have pretty much reached the end of the road
__________________
Check out my youtube Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/TheKull101
Mac skinned pc Luna netbook
Lil Chillbil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2012, 12:03 AM   #8
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
There's one answer for all 4 questions:
Forget it, get 10.4 or 10.5, get new HDD, install OS and enjoy your new eMac.
Panther was fine until Tiger was released.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2012, 06:40 AM   #9
RafeDonson
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
There's one answer for all 4 questions:
Forget it, get 10.4 or 10.5, get new HDD, install OS and enjoy your new eMac.
Panther was fine until Tiger was released.
I got Tiger in the end.. oddly, the EMac has 80GB, so I'm going to plug in a USB drive for storage and upgrade the memory ASAP.
RafeDonson is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got tired of waiting for AT&T Preorder and Bought off Ebay. Questions wifi442 iPhone 7 Sep 27, 2012 10:25 PM
Just Bought My 1st Iphone Ever [Many Questions] ImFromLA iPhone 16 Sep 16, 2012 10:10 PM
So I bought a 'Lamp' iMac...some questions GizmoDVD PowerPC Macs 30 Jun 23, 2012 01:08 PM
Bought The New Retina MB, Shipping Questions samuelabrooks MacBook Pro 5 Jun 16, 2012 10:46 AM
So i bought the Ipad3 but i have few questions about it greatone101 iPad 3 Jun 9, 2012 01:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC