Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 31, 2012, 11:58 PM   #1
KingKen1986
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Send a message via AIM to KingKen1986
Just got my new eMac 1.25 GHz

Just got my eMac 1.25 GHz to add to my PowerMac G5, It's a very nice machine. 512 MB of ram, combo drive, 40 GB HDD, 10.5.8 leopard. I'm very impressed with the sound system on it. Music sounds very nice. I'm gonna order another 512 MB stick of ram to slap in it and I should be good. Long live PPC!!!
__________________
| 2.9 GHz i7 mid 2012 MacBook Pro, 8 GB ram, 750 GB HDD (amazing) | Retina iPad mini
KingKen1986 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2012, 06:51 AM   #2
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Nice choice. Your eMac can take 2GB of ram. When ordering, make sure you get low density ram. Otherwise you'll only see half of the actual size.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2012, 07:29 AM   #3
KingKen1986
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Send a message via AIM to KingKen1986
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Nice choice. Your eMac can take 2GB of ram. When ordering, make sure you get low density ram. Otherwise you'll only see half of the actual size.
Yeah I read that, but also read somewhere else that it only takes 1 GB. Good to know that it takes 2 GB so in the future I can upgrade it even more. It's a really nice little machine.
__________________
| 2.9 GHz i7 mid 2012 MacBook Pro, 8 GB ram, 750 GB HDD (amazing) | Retina iPad mini
KingKen1986 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2012, 09:05 AM   #4
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Apple states that the most is 1GB. But that's because at the time 1GB sticks of ram didn't exist. They now do and the eMacs that take DDR ram can take up to 2GB by using two 1GB sticks.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2012, 01:27 PM   #5
Zeke D
macrumors 6502a
 
Zeke D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Apple states that the most is 1GB. But that's because at the time 1GB sticks of ram didn't exist. They now do and the eMacs that take DDR ram can take up to 2GB by using two 1GB sticks.
What are the details on that? I have mine running on a pair of OCZ PC3500 two-sided sticks and no issues.
__________________
[ 32gb iPod Touch ] [ 16gb iPad ] [ 40gb TV ]
[ PMG5 DP2.0ghz | 8gb RAM | 128MB 9600XT ]
[ 2012 MBA | 1.8ghz | 4gb RAM | 128gb SSD ]
Zeke D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2012, 01:32 PM   #6
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Your eMac has DDR ram. Just put two low density 1GB sticks in it and it'll see and use 2GB worth of ram.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2012, 01:34 PM   #7
Zeke D
macrumors 6502a
 
Zeke D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Your eMac has DDR ram. Just put two low density 1GB sticks in it and it'll see and use 2GB worth of ram.
The only 1GB stiks I have have large copper heatsinks on them and won't both fit in there.
__________________
[ 32gb iPod Touch ] [ 16gb iPad ] [ 40gb TV ]
[ PMG5 DP2.0ghz | 8gb RAM | 128MB 9600XT ]
[ 2012 MBA | 1.8ghz | 4gb RAM | 128gb SSD ]
Zeke D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2012, 01:34 PM   #8
Aameiel
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Pic's !!!!!!!
__________________
iMac i7 16 gigs of ram 1TB Fusion 21.5" ~ iPad Air ~ iMac G4 20" 1.25ghz 2 gigs of ram

www.retrogameage.com
Aameiel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2012, 01:35 PM   #9
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeke D View Post
The only 1GB stiks I have have large copper heatsinks on them and won't both fit in there.
Guess you'll have to buy some new ram then.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2012, 01:40 PM   #10
Zeke D
macrumors 6502a
 
Zeke D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by Android4tw View Post
Pic's !!!!!!!
Absolutely! This is better than mowing the lawn or conjugating spanish 'ar' verbs or working on a research paper on ocean energy.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF7042.JPG
Views:	10
Size:	190.8 KB
ID:	355428  
__________________
[ 32gb iPod Touch ] [ 16gb iPad ] [ 40gb TV ]
[ PMG5 DP2.0ghz | 8gb RAM | 128MB 9600XT ]
[ 2012 MBA | 1.8ghz | 4gb RAM | 128gb SSD ]
Zeke D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2012, 10:42 PM   #11
tayloralmond
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Missouri, USA
Congrats on the new eMac. I've always been quite fond of the eMacs. Their CRT displays have a higher-refresh rate than the iMac G4's LCD display. It makes everything look much smoother.
__________________
Mac Pro: 1.86GHz (8 Core), 17GB RAM, Radeon 5770
PowerMac G5 Quad: 16GB RAM PowerMac G4: 2x1.5GHz PowerBook G4 12": 1.5GHz
iMac G3: 600MHz iBook G3: 466MHz
The Blog I Work At: MyMacCollection
tayloralmond is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2012, 03:07 AM   #12
Aameiel
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cape Coral, FL
nice man !!
__________________
iMac i7 16 gigs of ram 1TB Fusion 21.5" ~ iPad Air ~ iMac G4 20" 1.25ghz 2 gigs of ram

www.retrogameage.com
Aameiel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2012, 04:56 PM   #13
ryannel2003
macrumors 65816
 
ryannel2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Greenville, NC
Send a message via AIM to ryannel2003
One of my very first Mac's was an eMac 1.25GHz G4. I bought it brand new in October 2004 and it never let me down! It was very quick for it's day and I used it for 4 years before selling it to an Apple lover who wanted it for his son. I kind of regret selling it to be honest, but I still have fond memories of that machine.
__________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T410 | 2.4GHz Core i5 | 4GB RAM
iPhone 5S 16GB (Space Grey)
TV
ryannel2003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2012, 09:50 PM   #14
KingKen1986
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Send a message via AIM to KingKen1986
Yeah I love the little thing, just got back from out of town so i'm jjust getting a chance to play around with it more. Its a fun little computer. It has a lot of character which makes it all the more enjoyable to use. I'm really enjoying the ppc experience and you guys are one of those reasons. Thanks for the comments.
__________________
| 2.9 GHz i7 mid 2012 MacBook Pro, 8 GB ram, 750 GB HDD (amazing) | Retina iPad mini
KingKen1986 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does this RAM fit in an eMac 2005 1,42 Ghz? Mac Hammer Fan PowerPC Macs 4 May 6, 2013 03:08 PM
2.6 GHz vs 2.7 GHz Retina Macbook Pro Real World Difference dpnguye2 Buying Tips and Advice 40 Nov 15, 2012 02:21 PM
1.5 gigs of ram in 1.25 ghz emac KingKen1986 PowerPC Macs 2 Sep 23, 2012 03:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC