Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jonathanlaniado

macrumors member
Original poster
May 13, 2012
I have the 13" Macbook Air from 2011 and I updated the firmware. However, although Mail does work through Power Nap, Time Machine does not. Does anyone have a solution? Thank you.

macneubie

macrumors regular
Aug 8, 2011
Details here.

It says if the AC power is connected while PN is enabled, TM backups can be done. If it's running on battery, TM will not be executed.

drxcm

macrumors regular
Nov 2, 2010
I have a mid-2011 11" MBA.
I have never been able to get Power Nap to work in any way.

Glockron

macrumors member
Jun 16, 2012
PowerNap works like a charm for me. Keep in mind mail has to be running for PowerNap to work. You can open it up, then close the window with CMD+W, the app will still run. When you sleep, your mailbox will sync.

I haven't tried TM yet.

jonathanlaniado

macrumors member
Original poster
May 13, 2012
PowerNap works like a charm for me. Keep in mind mail has to be running for PowerNap to work. You can open it up, then close the window with CMD+W, the app will still run. When you sleep, your mailbox will sync.

I haven't tried TM yet.

My issue is odd, because Mail does work through Power Nap, but Time Machine does not.

Lara F

macrumors 6502a
May 5, 2005
Montreal, Quebec

I haven't tried TM yet.

Anyone know if it has to be Mail.app, or can Sparrow work as well?

Zetaprime

macrumors 65816
Dec 4, 2011
Ohio, US
I have the 13" Macbook Air from 2011 and I updated the firmware. However, although Mail does work through Power Nap, Time Machine does not. Does anyone have a solution? Thank you.

Same here. I think time machine only works if it's direct connect. Wireless backups probably use too much power. Since nothing is changing on the computer while it sleeps it doesn't make much sense to do additional backups at that time.

----------