Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tradman

macrumors member
Original poster
May 15, 2008
Galway, Ireland
Hi all,
Just thought I'd drop in to let you know that I purchased a crossover 27 inch IPS screen for my Macbook pro and I love it.

I am a photographer and have been looking to upgrade my computer gear for some time. Currently using a 2008 Macbook pro and was undecided as what the next computer would be. I had my mind set on an imac but then realised I'd need the portability of a laptop.
Long story short bought a new cMBP, 2 ssd drives to run in RAID 0 configuration, 16gb ram and the icing on the cake, my new monitor for $360.
I had looked at getting a thunderbolt display for my photography but couldn't justify spending 1000 euro here in Ireland for one.
I had been reviewing the Korean monitors on various boards and forums for some time and decided to invest. It came in at under 300 euro deliver via fed-ex.
I would advise any photographers out there who may be looking to add real estate to their viewing to seriously consider one of these. At less than one third the cost of a thunderbolt display they are a steal.
Cheers
Damien stenson

MCAsan

macrumors 601
Jul 9, 2012
Atlanta
But to compare "apples to apples" ;), you have to remember the Thunderbolt Display is also a laptop docking station with FW, USB 2 ports plus laptop power supply and amplified speakers. Does any other monitor deliver those along with IPS?

I agree the Thunderbolt Display is expensive. That is why I am waiting for a Retina one without FW and with USB 3 ports. I just hope they don't jack up the price past $1000 for the Retina version.

In the meantime I will hold on to my HP 2511x.

Policar

macrumors 6502a
Nov 21, 2004
How do you find the brightness, color gamut, color accuracy, and backlighting?