Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 5, 2012, 12:38 PM   #1
biquet82
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Powermac G5 start-up issues

Hello,
My Powermac G5 refuse to start normally: sometimes, it boots perfectly, sometimes it doesn't.

Switch on the G5: fans spin, no chimes, no keyboard, no video, fans accelerate few minutes after...I can just push the power button to switch off the G5.

So, I clean up the G5, disconnected firewire matérials, ram, replace it, disconnected video card, hardrives, I bought new pram battery. Nothing changes.

But, when it starts, the Mac is fully fonctionnal...

Please someone help me ?
biquet82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2012, 04:11 PM   #2
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Is it random or on cold boot only?
Did you notice one CPU disappear when it starts and works (if it's DP ofc)?

Either could indicate bad logic board (second one bad CPU too).
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2012, 07:23 PM   #3
Zeke D
macrumors 6502a
 
Zeke D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Arizona
I have noticed that g5s don't like soft boots. I disable sleep mode and only shutdown then start up.
__________________
[ 32gb iPod Touch ] [ 16gb iPad ] [ 40gb TV ]
[ PMG5 DP2.0ghz | 8gb RAM | 128MB 9600XT ]
[ 2012 MBA | 1.8ghz | 4gb RAM | 128gb SSD ]
Zeke D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2012, 02:00 AM   #4
biquet82
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Thank you for your answers.

Quote:
Is it random or on cold boot only?
Yes, it's random. There is two days ago, in the evening, it start up 3 times.
Yesterday, it can't boot...the white front led illuminate, but no boots.

Quote:
Did you notice one CPU disappear when it starts and works (if it's DP ofc)?
I don't know how to do to get this information. Can you explain more about this, please?

Quote:
I have noticed that g5s don't like soft boots. I disable sleep mode and only shutdown then start up.
Sorry, but what is soft boot?

Another point I used to get, I don't know if it's very important for G5 trouble, I try to explain :

For example, I'm running with leopard 10.5.8, and I want to quit/restart.
2 choices: reboot, or shut down.
- With shut down, no problem.
- With reboot option, it will crash on start up, with black screen, no chimes, no video, like the big problem in this subject.
If I want to reboot, I must to shut down, then switch on the G5, after waiting few minutes.

Sorry, I hope someone understand..
biquet82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2012, 03:51 AM   #5
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by biquet82 View Post
I don't know how to do to get this information. Can you explain more about this, please?
Under About this Mac -> More info -> Hardware -> Number of processors

I had this exact issue in two G5 2.0 DP, and sometimes when it finally booted one CPU was missing in System Profiler. I assume that one of CPUs was bad in either case because I've tried two different logic boards and it didn't help. Unfotunately I had no working matching CPUs to test it in reverse way.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2012, 04:55 AM   #6
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
If a CPU went out that should trip a red diagnostic LED.

My guess is video card going out.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2012, 05:25 AM   #7
biquet82
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
OK, thanks, now it's hard to see "about this mac" section, because it doesn't start everyday .. I need to be lucky

Just video card, would be a great news !
Do you think I may replace video card first?

I guess this is AGP 8X video card (?), can you suggest a video card or where to find a nice one somewhere? On eBay? It's for music editing.
biquet82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2012, 10:46 AM   #8
Zeke D
macrumors 6502a
 
Zeke D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Arizona
A soft boot is when you hit restart. A hard boot is when you do shutdown, then press the button to power it back on.
__________________
[ 32gb iPod Touch ] [ 16gb iPad ] [ 40gb TV ]
[ PMG5 DP2.0ghz | 8gb RAM | 128MB 9600XT ]
[ 2012 MBA | 1.8ghz | 4gb RAM | 128gb SSD ]
Zeke D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 03:14 PM   #9
biquet82
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Some news from my Powermac G5:

today I was able to copy data with my iBook G4, and firewire cable.
I moved the graphic card (it seems to be ATI Radeon X800XT, but I'm not sure) and reconnected it.
The G5 started and ran all the afternoon.
This evening I shut it down, and when I wanted to start it, no response again ...

Please can you advise me video card I have to buy, because a friend tells me the motherboard's bios can make trouble with some video card.

Thank you.
biquet82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need to start over with Powermac G5 cjbarton PowerPC Macs 3 Nov 30, 2013 08:12 AM
Start up issues GraniteStuart iMac 1 Jul 5, 2013 07:52 AM
Start up issues. Outkast27 MacBook Pro 26 May 5, 2013 02:36 PM
Powermac G5 Issues r6mile PowerPC Macs 4 Apr 27, 2013 10:08 AM
Issues with Safari on start up EmeraldEyes29 MacBook Pro 3 Nov 21, 2012 07:09 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC