Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 7, 2012, 08:37 AM   #26
Codyak
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by inlinevolvo View Post
How do I install this on my retina macbook?
Duct Tape
Codyak is offline   15 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 09:08 AM   #27
Rocketman
macrumors 603
 
Rocketman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Claremont, CA
It has been interesting to watch the capacity and pricing of above consumer graphics cards for the past 10-15 years. This slight blip up in price seems to reflect not only high capacity, speed, and power savings, leading edge features, but reduced yields and market size so the development cost is spread among fewer users. One of the consequences of shrinking and dumbing down end user devices I suppose.

I was hoping the article was about a GPU processor as a standalone process server. Oh well, I guess we aren't there yet.

HDMI plugs support 4K, so it is a matter of displays arriving later next year at a prosumer price and a year or two after that at a consumer price. I have posted to another thread I suspect AppleTV Screen will debut at 4K and they will call it retina.

As for this unit, 4xHD all at once and the ability to install two cards in a single MacPro, so 8xHD would be great for a TV channel control center or an editing suite or a bar or office where you need to display content on multiple screens with differing feeds.

The dumb content replay or relay is fine, but the data intensive stuff like stock charting and such will be interesting.

Rocketman
__________________
Think Different-ly!
All 357 R or D House jobs bills over 4 years died in the D Senate, ordered by the D President. Buy a model rocket here: http://v-serv.com/usr/instaship-visual.htm Thanks.
Rocketman is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 09:25 AM   #28
cambox
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: omnipresent
Quote:
Originally Posted by bedifferent View Post
Well stated. While I use a multitude of platforms, I've preferred OS X for over a decade. I am very saddened by Apple's focus on mobile devices while those of us who depend on Mac's for our living are left in the dust. This is not a "post-PC era", and while I love my iPhone and iPad, I cannot use them for HD rendering, AutoCAD, etc. and need desktop screen real estate. Apple has enough money in cash alone to cover both markets and make a profit. If 2013 is more of the same, I will have no recourse but to leave OS X.
I agree with what you are saying totally, we are left behind and Apple are so focusing on IOS they have left us to wither on the vine. It's a shame they have shafted the people who supported them from the early days, but I can see that as a business they are after the consumer market place and rightly so.. But did they have to do it in such a crap awful way? I like many who use Mac for editing and post production have limited time left with Mac, so Windows seems the only alternative for that in the future. Not a choice I was expecting when I invested so much with Mac some years ago. Shame on Apple.
cambox is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 09:48 AM   #29
SolarisBSDman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
4k

Nice to see Apple investing a bit to get a updated Quadro card to OSX but will there be any dedicated drivers for CAD/MCAE ? this was the issue with the 4000 and therefore may features in pro tools did not work.
Also Let's hope with the introduction of a new Mac Pro we might have new Cinema Displays? The current one is absolute only for consumers not pro users and any way we might see an apple 4K 30" :P , I have my eye on a set of Eizo FDH3601but at a price of 25K Euro it's not really value for money.
Also the hope that Apple TeleVision set's will be 4K is not that realistic, there is only minimum content available. and Transport of H264/4K is a nightmare. I have installed several Cisco Telepresence systems which use several Sharp 80" 4K screens and a 1GbE pipe is just sufficient to carry a single duplex stream,
SolarisBSDman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 10:16 AM   #30
Ryth
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by q64ceo View Post
Two thousand dollars, for a graphics card?

Is this a joke?
Come work as a motion graphics artist...you'll see really quickly time is $$$ and these things pay for themselves in a job or two (or even part of a job).
Ryth is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 11:08 AM   #31
Pegamush
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
yeah sure, what mac pro?
Pegamush is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 11:48 AM   #32
chatfan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: in mah cribb yo
Mid 2010 12core with 32GB memory, Performance of the 4000 is pretty good but not the big jump you would expect from a $6.5K dedicated system. For most edits I can use my 17MBP and get almost the same speeds.

Sure playback quality is not always 100% but it is pretty damn close and good enough for cutting. Even on the MacPro I need to render more complex timelines. The MBP get's me decent multi layer project speeds with a thunderbolt drive. With Resolume it let's me play 12 layers of real time fullHD for VJ fun.

On the Mac Pro I would have to go fibre to edit multi layer RED projects, but because most is DVCPro HD100 / XDCAM I'll wait before throwing more money at a platform with a dubious future. Right now I use a SSD for RED or RAW footage, it's a bit of copying back and forth but works out.

Compared to the ATi card that came with the system the Quadro 4000 was a bit dissapointing, I was expecting real-time heaven in all CUDA apps.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoak View Post
What version is your Mac Pro?
I was thinking of getting the 4000, now maybe the 5000 to speed up the workflow in Premiere for my RED EPIC footage.

Other people I work with are very happy with the performance of the 4000 in Premiere
__________________
Arguing other peoples choices will change nothing.
chatfan is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 12:06 PM   #33
chatfan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: in mah cribb yo
Same here, also switched completely to OSX about 10 years ago, from microsoft certified to apple fanboi to mildly dissapointed computer user. Interesting to see what Windows 8 is going to bring us. With Adobe being multi platform I'm looking at learning a full creative suite workflow and perhaps back to AVID. Next year FCPS is going to be a really old beast, FCPX shows how fast they could have made it but where too busy with eye candy, being Xciting and innovative to produce a usable successor.

It's the same old story: Even if it can do 90% of FCPS, when most of the work you do needs the other 10% as well it doesn't matter how innovating or n00ber friendly the product is. I don't mind learning new stuff, even after 28 years it is still fun to look at all the new possibilities. But it also has to deliver what the customer wants, and not what apple thinks is important (hipster proof) right now. Planning on doing this for at least another 30 years and want it to be a happy experience.

So yep, 2013 is the cut off date, Premiere is just going to get better and got myself a copy of AVID MC5.5 just to re-learn some of the old stuff in case premiere doesn't get me all the things I want asap :P (although avid is a slap in the face, it feels like an antique, even the 6.0 version has a dated interface)

I want the FCPX speed and FCP7 workflow, without background rendering or Prores conversions unless I want them.

"Hi I'm a user, I bought my computer to have fun and work on cool projects… you know do the stuff i love to do the way I want them to"

"Hi, I'm a Apple app maker, we know how you should work, we figured out some really cool and fun ways for you to be creative and use your unlimited imagination, see? We made you 30 cool templates so you can be totally different then all the other 40 million users. We even let you adjust some parameters in those templates so you can change the colors!"

Anyway, Quadro K5000… hope it comes with a shiny new Mac Pro ultracore and Final Cut 11 in a few months!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bedifferent View Post
Well stated. While I use a multitude of platforms, I've preferred OS X for over a decade. I am very saddened by Apple's focus on mobile devices while those of us who depend on Mac's for our living are left in the dust. This is not a "post-PC era", and while I love my iPhone and iPad, I cannot use them for HD rendering, AutoCAD, etc. and need desktop screen real estate. Apple has enough money in cash alone to cover both markets and make a profit. If 2013 is more of the same, I will have no recourse but to leave OS X.
__________________
Arguing other peoples choices will change nothing.
chatfan is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 12:25 PM   #34
Derpage
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Expensive drivers...
Derpage is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 12:28 PM   #35
Freyqq
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by daneoni View Post
Yeah but can it play Chess?
chess = yes
crysis = no



----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spacedust View Post
Will Apple make screen like this ?
possible, but thunderbolt will prob need to be upgraded to support that much bandwidth
Freyqq is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 01:13 PM   #36
zorinlynx
macrumors 68030
 
zorinlynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida, USA
Why doesn't anyone make a gfx card with a Thunderbolt port so we can add it to older Mac Pros?
__________________
Old-school Apple ][ expert! Ask me if you have a ][ question!
Apple user 1983-1992, 2003-Present -- Linux user 1995-Present
Windows-free since 2003! Though I still have to deal with it at work.
zorinlynx is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 01:25 PM   #37
herr_neumann
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco
Send a message via AIM to herr_neumann
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spacedust View Post
Will Apple make screen like this ?
You could always use this Sony TV:
http://news.cnet.com/8301-1023_3-57507096-93/sony-puts-a-price-on-its-4k-tv-$25000/
herr_neumann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 01:45 PM   #38
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Peace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
Anybody find it odd that they can make native drivers for this card but seem to not be able to make native drivers for their newest normal graphics cards ?
Peace is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 01:50 PM   #39
strausd
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by bearda View Post
Why would Apple make a screen at that resolution when they don't produce a video card that can drive it? If it only works with a third-party card chances are you'd need a third-party screen.
It is my understanding that this card supports real time editing on footage of that resolution. It would be weird to see a Quadro card just now support 4K resolution when Ivy Bridge integrated graphics technically support screens of that resolution.
strausd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 02:44 PM   #40
Rocketman
macrumors 603
 
Rocketman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Claremont, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolarisBSDman View Post
Also the hope that Apple TeleVision set's will be 4K is not that realistic, there is only minimum content available. and Transport of H264/4K is a nightmare. I have installed several Cisco Telepresence systems which use several Sharp 80" 4K screens and a 1GbE pipe is just sufficient to carry a single duplex stream,
Thunderbolt is that hope.

Digital theatrical release is 4K now. It would be trivial to rent those files to prosumers at a wild price.

4K 4096p
rMBP is about 2880p
So 4K is only about 42% wider @ 220ppi
Roughly 20" diagonal so a low end iMac could offer 4k.

I think my living room HDTV is about 22 ppi or so.
It looks like your Sharp 80" 4K is around 52 ppi.

Rocketman
__________________
Think Different-ly!
All 357 R or D House jobs bills over 4 years died in the D Senate, ordered by the D President. Buy a model rocket here: http://v-serv.com/usr/instaship-visual.htm Thanks.

Last edited by Rocketman; Sep 7, 2012 at 02:59 PM.
Rocketman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 03:30 PM   #41
RhymeAnimal
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
BAM
just ordered, I'm a serious gamer (minecraft, simcity, mario kart BAM) so can't wait for speed boost.
RhymeAnimal is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 04:31 PM   #42
petsounds
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Does Nvidia know something we don't? Why would they bother porting a new Quadro to a platform if most signs point to Apple abandoning the Mac Pro? Fingers crossed...
petsounds is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 04:59 PM   #43
Ryth
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by zorinlynx View Post
Why doesn't anyone make a gfx card with a Thunderbolt port so we can add it to older Mac Pros?
http://www.magma.com/thunderbolt

You don't make a card with a TB port. You make a case that the card can plug into.

Though this has 3 slots...wish they had a 2 or 1 slot option. (and PCI3)
Ryth is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 05:01 PM   #44
24Frames
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by RhymeAnimal View Post
BAM
just ordered, I'm a serious gamer (minecraft, simcity, mario kart BAM) so can't wait for speed boost.
Performance for gaming is likely to be inferior to a GTX 680.
The Quadro series cards have drivers tweaked for high end CG applications, such as Maya, NUKe, Houdini etc.

NVidia have been busy.
24Frames is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 05:03 PM   #45
Ryth
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by 24Frames View Post
Performance for gaming is likely to be inferior to a GTX 680.
The Quadro series cards have drivers tweaked for high end CG applications, such as Maya, NUKe, Houdini etc.

NVidia have been busy.
I think he was being sarcastic in terms of a serious gamer (if you look at the games he listed).
Ryth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 05:32 PM   #46
foijord
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Norway
Anyone know if you're stuck with Apple's OpenGL driver, or does the MacPro come with an NVIDIA driver for this card? It would be a shame to have a K5000 and be stuck with OpenGL 3.2, and no compute shader, tessellation shader etc.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by RhymeAnimal View Post
BAM
just ordered, I'm a serious gamer (minecraft, simcity, mario kart BAM) so can't wait for speed boost.
Excellent trolling, made me lol
foijord is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 05:38 PM   #47
inscrewtable
macrumors 6502a
 
inscrewtable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacsRgr8 View Post
OTOH, the pro-cards are not the best gaming cards. But, 4 GB of VRAM does help X-Plane 10!
Not really VRAM is not the problem with X-Plane, it needs processor power. With max setting, x-plane never uses more than 1.5GB of Vram.
inscrewtable is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 05:49 PM   #48
foijord
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by foijord View Post
Anyone know if you're stuck with Apple's OpenGL driver, or does the MacPro come with an NVIDIA driver for this card? It would be a shame to have a K5000 and be stuck with OpenGL 3.2, and no compute shader, tessellation shader etc.
Never mind, it says on nvidia.com that OpenGL version is 3.2 on Mac, 4.3 on Windows with bootcamp... that's no good!

Last edited by foijord; Sep 7, 2012 at 06:02 PM.
foijord is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 06:04 PM   #49
Anonymous Freak
macrumors 601
 
Anonymous Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cascadia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryth View Post
http://www.magma.com/thunderbolt

You don't make a card with a TB port. You make a case that the card can plug into.

Though this has 3 slots...wish they had a 2 or 1 slot option. (and PCI3)
Since Thunderbolt is only PCIe 2.0, and only 4 lanes per connector, it's not a loss.

The case provides two PCIe 2.0 x8 slots and one x4 slot, so they're already multiplexing bandwidth to more than Thunderbolt provides. (One of the x8 slots is physically a x16, so you can put a video card in one slot. And if you use the x4 slot, the second x8 slot drops to x4.)

Finally, the chassis only provides slot power to the tune of 75 Watts. For a video card, you'd need to provide extra power to the power ports on the card somehow independent of the expansion chassis. (It does provide two Molex connectors, but those likely aren't rated to provide the kind of power a high-end video card would need.)
__________________

20" Aluminum iMac 7,1 (mid-2007, Santa Rosa,) upgraded to 2.6 GHz Penryn, 6 GB RAM, 1 TB HD, 4 TB total external hard drive
Anonymous Freak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 06:12 PM   #50
chirpie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocketman View Post
HDMI plugs support 4K, so it is a matter of displays arriving later next year at a prosumer price and a year or two after that at a consumer price. I have posted to another thread I suspect AppleTV Screen will debut at 4K and they will call it retina.
And in the TV and projector realm, 4k is already here. Heck, there are already 8k prototypes at the convention shows.
chirpie is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia Announces Quadro K6000 NickRichyRich Mac Pro 7 Jul 24, 2013 07:26 PM
Latest OS X 10.8.3 Beta Adds NVIDIA Quadro K5000 Graphics Card Drivers MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 63 Mar 24, 2013 08:47 PM
NVIDIA Quadro K5000 VS Quadro FX 4800 BrioBriss Mac Pro 3 Jan 22, 2013 08:06 AM
NVIDIA Quadro K5000 anisatam Mac Pro 3 Jan 14, 2013 11:08 AM
Nvidia Quadro K5000 announced for Mac Pro Cindori Mac Pro 46 Sep 10, 2012 12:04 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC