Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 7, 2012, 03:11 PM   #1
bbasra
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Upgrading RAM on a Late 2009 iMac

Hi,

I have a iMac Late 2009 which has 4GB RAM and takes 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM.

Your Mac contains 4 memory slots, each of which accepts a 1067 MHz DDR3 memory module.
2 memory slots in use, 2 available.

I would like to upgrade the ram another 8gb and ideally get the same Manufacturer. How can i find out without opening the iMac to see what RAM i currently have installed.

Thanks.
__________________
Retina Macbook Pro 2.6 16gb 512Gb SSD
iMac Quad i5 2.66 16GB 1TB
iPad 2 & 3 64GB 3G
iPhone 4 16Gb ATV1 Crystal
bbasra is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 03:15 PM   #2
oosk2k8
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
well 4gb ram in 2 slots would be 2x2GB.. so to make it 8gb, you just need 2x4gb in the 2 available slots.

EDIT: you mean what manufacturer of ram? If so, search System Information in Spotlight, navigate to Memory, click on a Memory module and the Manufacturer information should be there. If it's a wierd string of numbers/letters such as '0x02FE' then maybe this will help:

0x014F - Transcend Information
0x2C00—Micron Technology, Inc.
0x802C—Micron Technology, Inc.
0x80AD—Hynix Semiconductor Inc.
0x80CE—Samsung Electronics, Inc.
0xAD00—Hynix Semiconductor Inc.
0xCE00—Samsung Electronics, Inc.

(Source: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1159737)

Last edited by oosk2k8; Sep 7, 2012 at 03:21 PM.
oosk2k8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 03:22 PM   #3
bbasra
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Crucial, Kingston, Corsair etc etc all make RAM thats compatible with my iMac.

I'd just like to upgrade it with the same memory that is currently installed rather than mix it up.

I understand it shouldn't make a difference but the price is marginal between the Crucial, Kingston, Corsair.
__________________
Retina Macbook Pro 2.6 16gb 512Gb SSD
iMac Quad i5 2.66 16GB 1TB
iPad 2 & 3 64GB 3G
iPhone 4 16Gb ATV1 Crystal
bbasra is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 03:24 PM   #4
oosk2k8
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
did you see my edited post?
oosk2k8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 03:28 PM   #5
bbasra
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Thanks for that.

BANK 0/DIMM0:

Size: 2 GB
Type: DDR3
Speed: 1067 MHz
Status: OK
Manufacturer: 0x80CE
Part Number: 0x4D34373142353637334548312D4346382020
Serial Number: 0x79D1CF2E

Looks like i have Samsung. Oh well, not sure to go with Crucial, Kingston, or Corsair.

----------

Also, is there a memory limit? Will my iMac work with 12gb RAM?
__________________
Retina Macbook Pro 2.6 16gb 512Gb SSD
iMac Quad i5 2.66 16GB 1TB
iPad 2 & 3 64GB 3G
iPhone 4 16Gb ATV1 Crystal
bbasra is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 03:31 PM   #6
marzer
macrumors 65816
 
marzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbasra View Post
Also, is there a memory limit? Will my iMac work with 12gb RAM?
The memory limit for those machines is 16GB. And yes, 12GB will work (2x2GB and 2x4GB).
marzer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 03:41 PM   #7
oosk2k8
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Yeah, all alleged Apple proprietary RAM is Samsung. Despite their war with the company over patents, they do seem to get on their knees a lot for their RAM and iPad processor lol.

To be honest, if there's not much between them in price, I'd go for Crucial, that's what I've used in my iMac and MBP for the past 5 years, they're reliable I've found.
oosk2k8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 05:14 PM   #8
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I owned that mac you are better off with the samsung. I could give a long set of reasons why but that machine worked with every possible combination of samsung ram

1 x x x
1 x x 1
1 x x 2
1 x x 4

1 1 x x and so on all the way up to 4 4 4 4


I have had it not like some crucial sticks /
I have had it not like some gskill sticks and that machine has had more then 50 sticks placed in and out of it.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 05:54 PM   #9
rkaufmann87
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Folsom, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by oosk2k8 View Post
Yeah, all alleged Apple proprietary RAM is Samsung. Despite their war with the company over patents, they do seem to get on their knees a lot for their RAM and iPad processor lol.

To be honest, if there's not much between them in price, I'd go for Crucial, that's what I've used in my iMac and MBP for the past 5 years, they're reliable I've found.
http://www.macrumors.com/2012/09/06/...-from-samsung/
__________________
27" iMac i5, 24 GB RAM; MBA 11.6" 1.4GHz 4GB RAM 128GB SSD; Multiple HP Printers; Lacie Quadra D2 external HDs; 4S iPhone; Nikon DLSR
rkaufmann87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 06:02 PM   #10
oosk2k8
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
and good riddance
oosk2k8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2012, 04:11 AM   #11
bbasra
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post
I owned that mac you are better off with the samsung. I could give a long set of reasons why but that machine worked with every possible combination of samsung ram

1 x x x
1 x x 1
1 x x 2
1 x x 4

1 1 x x and so on all the way up to 4 4 4 4


I have had it not like some crucial sticks /
I have had it not like some gskill sticks and that machine has had more then 50 sticks placed in and out of it.

I cannot seem to find any Samsung memory in the UK and a place i have found want 160 for it whereas the other manufactures are around 30-36. The last thing i want to do is order some ram and it doesn't work.
__________________
Retina Macbook Pro 2.6 16gb 512Gb SSD
iMac Quad i5 2.66 16GB 1TB
iPad 2 & 3 64GB 3G
iPhone 4 16Gb ATV1 Crystal
bbasra is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2012, 10:35 AM   #12
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbasra View Post
I cannot seem to find any Samsung memory in the UK and a place i have found want 160 for it whereas the other manufactures are around 30-36. The last thing i want to do is order some ram and it doesn't work.
too overpriced. try the crucial


http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-lis...&condition=new

amazon uk has a 30 day return policy. is cost 17 pounds 71 pence a stick decent price. it should work.

Last edited by philipma1957; Sep 9, 2012 at 10:40 AM.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 05:52 AM   #13
ZombieAndy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
My iMac is a late 2009 21" and i upgraded it to 16gb RAM, some of the guys here probably remember my topic on it becuase i bought some cheap RAM and had a whole bag of problems from it.

My advice, go crucial. I Paid 80 for 16gb RAM and it works perfectly straight out of the box.
ZombieAndy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 11:32 AM   #14
BellaHMB
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Trouble inserting new RAM

Hi
I have a 2009 Imac with 4G Ram, so I ordered an additional 8G to make 12 total. No problem opening up the computer, but when I tried adding the new RAM to the lower 2 slots, it would not go in completely. I then took out the old ones that were in the upper slots, inserted the new 4G rams, and no problem, they went in easily. I then tried putting the old RAM into the lower slots, no go.

Closed up the computer and it works fine, now I have 8G RAM but wanted 12.

Any ideas on how to solve this?

Bella
BellaHMB is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC