Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 13, 2005, 07:21 AM   #1
gizmo_pony
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
my sluggish ibook ...

it seems my new 12" ibook becomes sluggish ... is there any programs like pc booster for windoze, work the same way with mac ? any tweaks to make my ibook flying ?

thank you ...
gizmo_pony is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2005, 07:23 AM   #2
MacDawg
macrumors P6
 
MacDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: "Between the Hedges"
One word... RAM

Tell us a little more about your iBook
We need to know your setup


Woof, Woof - Dawg
MacDawg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2005, 07:34 AM   #3
gizmo_pony
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacDawg
One word... RAM

Tell us a little more about your iBook
We need to know your setup


Woof, Woof - Dawg
ibook 12 "
1.33 ghz
512 mb

...
gizmo_pony is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2005, 07:35 AM   #4
gizmo_pony
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo_pony
ibook 12 "
1.33 ghz
512 mb

...
if it is cause by ram, what brand u recommend for me ? can i use kvr ram ?
gizmo_pony is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2005, 07:42 AM   #5
MacDawg
macrumors P6
 
MacDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: "Between the Hedges"
Welcome to the Forum by the way

Are you running OSX?
Jaguar/Panther/Tiger?

What apps are you running?
Just a browser, email, basics, iLife?
Photoshop? FCP? Any hungry apps?

512 is probably the minimum to get by with...
Add as much as you can afford

I don't have a specific recommendation on brands, just get as much as you can afford...


Woof, Woof - Dawg
MacDawg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2005, 07:57 AM   #6
gizmo_pony
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacDawg
Welcome to the Forum by the way

Are you running OSX?
Jaguar/Panther/Tiger?

What apps are you running?
Just a browser, email, basics, iLife?
Photoshop? FCP? Any hungry apps?

512 is probably the minimum to get by with...
Add as much as you can afford

I don't have a specific recommendation on brands, just get as much as you can afford...


Woof, Woof - Dawg
i am using tiger ... i always use my ibook to browse, email and anything else related to internet ... and i listen to radio in itunes sometimes ...

sorry if i am too stupid to ask such question ... new to mac ...
gizmo_pony is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2005, 08:02 AM   #7
MacDawg
macrumors P6
 
MacDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: "Between the Hedges"
You are definitely NOT stupid...

It is just always best to post as much information as you can that might be helpful so you can get the best answers possible.

With Tiger you could certainly use a RAM boost

And welcome to the Mac world... its a beautiful place


Woof, Woof - Dawg
MacDawg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2005, 08:21 AM   #8
mjstew33
macrumors 601
 
mjstew33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Illinois
You need more RAM, I was feeling the same about my 14" 1.42GHz iBook w/ 512MB RAM then I ordered from Crucial, I highly reccomend them, and got a 1GB and got here the next day

My iBook flys.
__________________
macbookpro 15" 2.4 GHz intel i7 quad | iPhone 5 64GB
Who except God can give you peace? Has the world ever been able to satisfy the heart? St. Gerard Majella
mjstew33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2005, 08:24 AM   #9
gizmo_pony
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilstewart92
You need more RAM, I was feeling the same about my 14" 1.42GHz iBook w/ 512MB RAM then I ordered from Crucial, I highly reccomend them, and got a 1GB and got here the next day

My iBook flys.
ermmm ... hv tried to buy the 1gb stick from crucial but it was on back order ..
...
gizmo_pony is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2005, 08:42 AM   #10
Lucky8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Can you guys tell me which RAM do I need for my new iBook?
not brand, but type?
How many pin?
Buffered or Unbuffered?
Cas Latency?
ECC?
and so on....

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Lucky8; Aug 13, 2005 at 09:03 AM.
Lucky8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2005, 11:19 AM   #11
wdlove
macrumors 604
 
wdlove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
If you use the link above for Crucial RAM, they have a very easy to use finder. Will be able to recommend the proper RAM for your iBook. They have a lifetime warranty.
__________________
First MacRumors "Contributor"
wdlove is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2005, 11:21 AM   #12
njmac
macrumors 68000
 
njmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Try emptying the cache from Safari too. Maybe with a lot of surfing it is getting bogged down
njmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2005, 11:53 AM   #13
AJ Muni
macrumors 65816
 
AJ Muni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Beach
Send a message via AIM to AJ Muni
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilstewart92
You need more RAM, I was feeling the same about my 14" 1.42GHz iBook w/ 512MB RAM then I ordered from Crucial, I highly reccomend them, and got a 1GB and got here the next day

My iBook flys.
hey stewart i remember i recommended the ram for you...isnt it awesome now!!!1 its amazing how by adding more ram,you ibook gets on steroids....
__________________
Go.Getta
AJ Muni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2005, 01:13 PM   #14
londy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: louisville, ky
does ram ever "expire"?

this may seem like an odd question, but does RAM ever "expire"? i ask because i plan to keep a bit of upgrade cushion present in my system. i'd like to get my ibook with 768MB RAM and then later, should it start to lag down the road a couple years, i'll be able to upgrade to a gig or a gig and a half. KWIM?

is this wise? or is it better to just go for the gusto and max it out? it seems like there would still come a point that the RAM would need to be upgraded or replaced. am i off-base here?
__________________
12" 1.33 GHz iBook G4 (latest rev.) > 768 MB RAM > 100GB hd> Mighty Mouse > 4G 30GB color 'pod

be who you is. --the old folks
londy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2005, 01:23 PM   #15
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
If this is a brand new iBook, then I guess you haven't filled your HD, yet, but you can still get some hints here. Especially reducing the number of Dashboard widgets would be noticeable with 512 MB RAM and a HD at 4200 rpm.
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2005, 04:48 PM   #16
mjstew33
macrumors 601
 
mjstew33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo_pony
ermmm ... hv tried to buy the 1gb stick from crucial but it was on back order ..
...
Mine was on backorder too. I just waited and got it here yesterday.

Patience is a virtue.
__________________
macbookpro 15" 2.4 GHz intel i7 quad | iPhone 5 64GB
Who except God can give you peace? Has the world ever been able to satisfy the heart? St. Gerard Majella
mjstew33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2005, 04:51 PM   #17
mjstew33
macrumors 601
 
mjstew33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJ Muni
hey stewart i remember i recommended the ram for you...isnt it awesome now!!!1 its amazing how by adding more ram,you ibook gets on steroids....
Stewart is my last name. hehe

Yeah, I ordered it, then was on backorder and shipped 2 days ago and got it yesterday

IT GOES SOOOOO FAST!
__________________
macbookpro 15" 2.4 GHz intel i7 quad | iPhone 5 64GB
Who except God can give you peace? Has the world ever been able to satisfy the heart? St. Gerard Majella
mjstew33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2005, 05:17 PM   #18
Lucky8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
What's the diffrence between Cas Latency 2.5 and 3?
Lucky8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2005, 06:02 PM   #19
iEdd
macrumors 68000
 
iEdd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Australia
Send a message via AIM to iEdd
Tiger is so resource hungry, but since 10.4.2 it's been a LITTLE better. Hey I can type with no lag right now on this powerbook g3 (look in sig for details)..

As for the G5, I am convincing dad to get more ram, the optical drive is already on it's way.

Oh and as for brands.. get any that isn't TOO cheap and has a lifetime warranty.
iEdd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2005, 07:09 PM   #20
Steadmuffin
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo_pony
if it is cause by ram, what brand u recommend for me ? can i use kvr ram ?
If by KVR ram you mean Kingston Value Ram, no you cannot. This type of ram is not compatible with the iBook. I'm looking at up-ing the ram in my 1.33 ghz 12" iBook as well, to 1 gig total, and was looking at corsair and kingston value ram. I thought they would be great, but figured out they aren't compatible. Check out the thread I started about this here.
Steadmuffin is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trackpad sluggish brn2rnjk1 MacBook Pro 1 Jan 25, 2014 04:17 PM
Sluggish Video ryanpfw Apple TV and Home Theater 7 Dec 15, 2013 01:02 PM
iPad: iPad 3 sluggish gadget123 iPad 6 Nov 16, 2012 03:14 AM
iPad: iPad 3 Sluggish? TahoeDust iPad 14 Nov 11, 2012 07:50 PM
iPhone 4S sluggish lately roccobladr iPhone 10 Jun 1, 2012 02:29 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC