Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 9, 2012, 12:06 PM   #1
Rugbyplayer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Time Capsule stopped backing up after Mountain Lion install

It has worked perfectly for years, but after installing ML Ive had trouble. I was able to do a repair with Drive Genius once, but now DG cant find it either.
I keep getting this message:
The backup disk image “/Volumes/Derek Coke-Kerr's Time Caps/Derek Coke-Kerr’s Computer.sparsebundle” is already in use.
and I can't do anything to find Time Capsule through preferences. Any help would be very welcome.
Rugbyplayer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2012, 12:18 PM   #2
iMarvin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: On the internet!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rugbyplayer View Post
It has worked perfectly for years, but after installing ML Ive had trouble. I was able to do a repair with Drive Genius once, but now DG cant find it either.
I keep getting this message:
The backup disk image “/Volumes/Derek Coke-Kerr's Time Caps/Derek Coke-Kerr’s Computer.sparsebundle” is already in use.
and I can't do anything to find Time Capsule through preferences. Any help would be very welcome.
I keep getting the same message, i'm gonna try some stuff today and ill let you know if it works or not.

Update:

I solved the problem by turning off my computer, unplugging it from the wall. Then went over to the time capsule and yanked the power on it, let it be for a couple of seconds and plugged it back in again. Waited until the light turned green, then i started my iMac. It found the disk straight away and now it's backing up.

Last edited by iMarvin; Sep 9, 2012 at 01:38 PM.
iMarvin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2012, 09:11 AM   #3
Rugbyplayer
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Thanks...I did the same think...was worried as I didn't want to lose my data...I also0 did a s
"soft reset"by pressing the reset button...and now Im getting my backups.
Cheers
Rugbyplayer is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I install Mountain Lion or wait for Mavericks at this point in time? TazExprez OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 13 Sep 20, 2013 07:15 PM
Time Capsule access and Mountain Lion kevjsy OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Sep 22, 2012 11:37 AM
Updated to Mountain Lion, Restored iPhotos from Time Capsule, Recent Photos Missing puma1552 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Sep 15, 2012 09:08 PM
So Mountain Lion broke my Time Machine/Time Capsule... whohasaquestion OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jul 27, 2012 11:39 AM
Mountain Lion thinks my HD is a Time machine B/U and will not allow install ReallyOldGuy Mac Applications and Mac App Store 6 Jul 25, 2012 05:08 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC