Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:07 PM   #51
ufwa
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
If they introduce new ipod touches they need to just end the older ones.

it'll just lead to confusion.

a "3rd gen" 8gb ipod touch was really just the 2nd gen one.
ufwa is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:07 PM   #52
Geckotek
macrumors G3
 
Geckotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by damir00 View Post
Do care about upgrading the **** camera the thing comes with
You mean the **** camera that took some of the best pictures at the Olympics?

http://www.theverge.com/2012/8/3/321...ne-photography

It's not a **** camera, more like **** photographer. There's nothing wrong with the camera, it's you.

Edit: It appears you may have been speaking about the iPod Touch camera....didn't realize that. My apologies.
__________________
Gecko Art | Facebook | flickr

Last edited by Geckotek; Sep 11, 2012 at 12:58 PM.
Geckotek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:11 PM   #53
urbanslaughter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by M-O View Post
iPod touch = $299
iPhone 3Gs = $375
iPhone 4 = $549
iPhone 4s = $649
Here's where things break down. If we are to believe these prices . . . and we're to believe the rumored prices of the iPod mini (starting at $249), then why in the world would ANYONE buy an iPod touch? If it's simply to be able to keep it in your pocket, just buy a nano.
urbanslaughter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:14 PM   #54
tRYSIS3
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riemann Zeta View Post
I'm betting the iPhone 5 gets the same type of CPU: a 32nm version of the A5 (which Apple may be able to run at the full 1GHz speed this time, as the power consumption should be lower). The raw components and core designs needed for a next-generation "A6" SoC are not widely available on the market yet, so Apple can't really make a move to totally new silicon yet. They would need ARM Cortex A15 CPUs and the PowerVR Series 6 GPU design, neither of which have been released.
And why wouldn't they use the A5X chip ?!
tRYSIS3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:17 PM   #55
Geckotek
macrumors G3
 
Geckotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by tRYSIS3 View Post
And why wouldn't they use the A5X chip ?!
Because 4 GPU cores is overkill.
__________________
Gecko Art | Facebook | flickr
Geckotek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:19 PM   #56
gto55
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tel Aviv
still a 2/3 years old A5 chip, compared to the snapdragon S4 pro...
http://www.v3.co.uk/v3-uk/v3-co-uk-labs-blog/2204314/qualcomm-snapdragon-vs-samsung-exynos-tablet-processor-benchmarks
http://www.phonearena.com/news/Monst...tphone_id33597
http://www.anandtech.com/show/6126/g...ndroid-devices
http://www.anandtech.com/show/6112/q...rmance-preview
http://www.phonearena.com/news/Snapd...-beast_id34139
http://www.digitalversus.com/tablet/...-3-n25414.html
http://androidcommunity.com/qualcomm...nd-1-20120229/


Except the screen, with a strange resolution..., what's the big difference betwee an iPhone 4S and a 5 ?
(IMHO, the OS isn't one, while they will purpose the same OS)
More interested by an iPad Mini for the moment

Last edited by gto55; Sep 11, 2012 at 12:24 PM.
gto55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:21 PM   #57
KazKam
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick_elt View Post
you dont have to buy it on a contract, I never buy my iphone on contract

edit. I see others got there first
Isn't an unlocked iPhone basically a brick until it's activated on a carrier's network? And doesn't activating it on a carrier's network usually require a contract?

Even if the contract for the unsubsidized phone is slightly less, the difference in contract price is offset by the higher initial cost. My understanding is no carrier ATM will activate an iPhone without a data plan.

So, length of time being eqaul (2 years)...

Subsidized iPhone:
$200 iPhone + ~$90/month 2-year contract ($2,160) = ~$2,360

Unsubsidized "Unlocked" iPhone:
$650 iPhone + ~$60/month for 2 years ($1,440) = ~$2,090

iPod touch + Tracfone:
$300 iPod toch + ~$30 phone + ($100/year card x 2) [$200] = ~$530

I guess I'm still one of the odd ones that's willing to carry an extra, tiny dumbphone in my pocket or bag to save ~$1600 every 2 years.

No, I don't have the availability of cellular data with the iPod touch scenario, but I'm covered by wi-fi 99% of the time anyway, as many are, and saved enough to buy three new iPads and a case of my favorite beer!

Edit: Price correction.
KazKam is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:28 PM   #58
tRYSIS3
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geckotek View Post
Because 4 GPU cores is overkill.
Better graphics wouldnt hurt ,right ?
Is it confirmed anywhere that they wont be using the A5X chip ,maybe underclocked ?!
tRYSIS3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:28 PM   #59
dampfnudel
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by MultiMediaWill View Post
If they update the screen resolution on the iPod touch, how will anyone know that I have the iPhone?
You do realize that owning an iPhone doesn't make you unique or special anymore. Maybe in 2007/2008, but now with kids & grandmothers owning one and the new iPhone looking similar to the 4/4S, your iPhone will just blend in with the rest. If you want to stand out, take photos with an iPad. That should work.
dampfnudel is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:29 PM   #60
PracticalMac
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumors View Post
Apple has been rumored to be splitting its iPod touch line, perhaps keeping a current A4-based model with 960x640 display at the low end in order to achieve the lowest entry-level pricing possible while bringing the upgraded hardware to higher-end models.
SMART!

$149 for iPT4 8GB?
__________________
FireWire 1394 Intelligent network guaranteed data transfer, 1500mA power, Ethernet compatible
Read: 160 files, 650MB total, FW400 70% faster then USB2
Write: 160 files, 650MB total, FW400 48% faster
PracticalMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:29 PM   #61
Rogifan
macrumors G3
 
Rogifan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by goosnarrggh View Post
The current generation iPod touch has the same resolution and the same overall screen dimensions as the iPhone4 and iPhone 4S.

But the iPhone 4 and iPhone 4S have displays with true 24-bit colour using superior IPS LCD technology; the current iPod touch has a display with 18-bit colour (using dithering to simulate 24-bits) and apparently uses inferior TN LCD technology.

TN vs IPS tech will result in a narrower viewing angle; 18-bit colour with dithering vs 24-bit colour will result in fewer perfectly reproducible colours.
Thanks for the explanation. What you just said boils down to iPhone screen being more kick a** than the iPod touch screen. IMO.
__________________
"I have a very optimistic view of individuals. As individuals, people are inherently good. I have a somewhat more pessimistic view of people in groups." -- Steve Jobs , Wired interview
Rogifan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:31 PM   #62
Geckotek
macrumors G3
 
Geckotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by tRYSIS3 View Post
Better graphics wouldnt hurt ,right ?
Is it confirmed anywhere that they wont be using the A5X chip ,maybe underclocked ?!
A) The chip is MUCH larger due to those 4 GPU cores
B) Yes, it would hurt battery life
C) It runs hotter
__________________
Gecko Art | Facebook | flickr
Geckotek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:35 PM   #63
Sellewiet
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Why wouldn't be 28mm? Snapdragon's S4 is 28mm and is already used a lot by manufacturers
Sellewiet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:38 PM   #64
tRYSIS3
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geckotek View Post
A) The chip is MUCH larger due to those 4 GPU cores
B) Yes, it would hurt battery life
C) It runs hotter
The least we can hope for is a speed bump whatever the chip is then !!

Last edited by tRYSIS3; Sep 11, 2012 at 01:02 PM.
tRYSIS3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:39 PM   #65
Geckotek
macrumors G3
 
Geckotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sellewiet View Post
Why wouldn't be 28mm? Snapdragon's S4 is 28mm and is already used a lot by manufacturers
2 different manufacturers. It all depends on the manufacturers processes that are in place and producing high yields.
__________________
Gecko Art | Facebook | flickr
Geckotek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:39 PM   #66
borgqueenx
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
i think this means the iphone 5 will also have desame processor unfortunatly
borgqueenx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:40 PM   #67
D.T.
macrumors 68030
 
D.T.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Vilano Beach, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geckotek View Post
producing high yields.
Especially this. Apple sales volumes are so high, the "best" chip might not be the fastest, but the most available!
D.T. is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:41 PM   #68
apolloa
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tRYSIS3 View Post
And why wouldn't they use the A5X chip ?!
It's too big I think to fit into a phone and keep it cool enough. Also you only need dual core CPU and GPU really with PowerVR and Arm Cortex in a phone.
__________________
RIP Jasper, 2000 - 2014
You made our lives special
apolloa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:41 PM   #69
Geckotek
macrumors G3
 
Geckotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by borgqueenx View Post
i think this means the iphone 5 will also have desame processor unfortunatly
Nope, the same source says the iPhone 5 will have a better proc.
__________________
Gecko Art | Facebook | flickr
Geckotek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:50 PM   #70
tonyr6
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Brooklyn NY
As long as they double the ram. If the new touch still has 256 mb of ram then they can keep it as it sucks now with low memory which causes Safari and app crashes.
tonyr6 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:53 PM   #71
ed724
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MultiMediaWill
If they update the screen resolution on the iPod touch, how will anyone know that I have the iPhone?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ouimetnick View Post
The current iPod touch has the same screen resolution as the iPhone 4 and iPhone 4S.. So what are you talking about?
IOW, how can one easily differentiate between the two if both the 5 and the touch get longer screens. tick, tick, tick.......
ed724 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:53 PM   #72
M-O
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geckotek View Post
You mean the **** camera that took some of the best pictures at the Olympics?

http://www.theverge.com/2012/8/3/321...ne-photography

It's not a **** camera, more like **** photographer. There's nothing wrong with the camera, it's you.

Edit: (If you weren't talking about the iPhone 4S, I apologize now. )
this thread is all about the iPod.
M-O is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 12:54 PM   #73
Geckotek
macrumors G3
 
Geckotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by M-O View Post
this thread is all about the iPod.
Ah, and I see that it has a lower quality camera than the 4S.

Sorry for threadcrapping.
__________________
Gecko Art | Facebook | flickr
Geckotek is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 01:01 PM   #74
M-O
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyr6 View Post
As long as they double the ram. If the new touch still has 256 mb of ram then they can keep it as it sucks now with low memory which causes Safari and app crashes.
THIS! more ram, better camera. that is all i want. at LEAST 512mb, and iPhone 4 level camera.

if it's got this, i won't even care if the A4 stays put.
M-O is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2012, 01:07 PM   #75
super michael
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
So tomorrow will the Ipod touch get revealed? I have been waiting for a updated Ipod touch for 1 year now, can't wait for the new Ipod touch to have

more ram and better camera
super michael is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad Mini Confirmed to Run 32-Nanometer A5 Chip from Samsung MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 86 Nov 2, 2012 11:52 AM
iPhone: iPhone 4 baseband chip issue, can I use it as an iPod Touch? DB0SS Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 5 Oct 12, 2012 06:47 PM
New iPod touch A5 chip same as iPad 2 or iPhone 4S? tann iPod touch 2 Sep 13, 2012 07:29 PM
iOS 6 Automatically Scales to Fit Taller 1136x640 iPhone Display MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 484 Sep 9, 2012 05:46 PM
Apple to Update iPod Touch with 4-Inch Display, A5 Chip, Buffed Aluminum Rear Shell? MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 215 Aug 28, 2012 11:54 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC