Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Wasteland

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 12, 2012, 03:07 PM   #1
oBMTo
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
1136 x 640? What a joke!!!

Lack of a true HD screen, smooth move Apple.
oBMTo is offline   13
Old Sep 12, 2012, 03:17 PM   #2
Tobias Funke
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
And lots of lovely black lines on apps!!
Tobias Funke is offline   5
Old Sep 12, 2012, 03:19 PM   #3
chakraj
macrumors 65816
 
chakraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: So Cal
Yes even the goophone has a 720 p screen. Maybe apple made theirs lower res so they dont get sued for having an exact copy.
__________________
Why am I here? “On action alone be thy interest,
Never on its fruits. Let not the fruits of action be thy motive, Nor be thy attachment to inaction.”
chakraj is offline   5
Old Sep 12, 2012, 03:19 PM   #4
LastLine
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobias Funke View Post
And lots of lovely black lines on apps!!
Give us time. I know myself and many devs will be scrambling on this. Knowing things are coming, and being able to test for them are different things. Think back to how the first iPhone handled Apps and how quickly that sorted
LastLine is offline   4
Old Sep 12, 2012, 03:20 PM   #5
Nanker/Phelge
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
How would you plan on fitting 1920 x 1080 on a screen that small? The aspect ratio is 1.7750 vs 1.7777 and the content will be scaled down accordingly.
Nanker/Phelge is offline   5
Old Sep 12, 2012, 03:22 PM   #6
stu.h
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: West Midlands, England.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanker/Phelge View Post
How would you plan on fitting 1920 x 1080 on a screen that small? The aspect ratio is 1.7750 vs 1.7777 and the content will be scaled down accordingly.
More importantly, why would you want it?
stu.h is offline   7
Old Sep 12, 2012, 03:35 PM   #7
rushluvr
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanker/Phelge View Post
How would you plan on fitting 1920 x 1080 on a screen that small? The aspect ratio is 1.7750 vs 1.7777 and the content will be scaled down accordingly.
It doesnt have to be 1080 to be an HD display. iphone 5 should have been at least 1280x720, the new standard for every other high end phone, except the iphone. Then again, its taken this long for LTE, maybe the iphone 7 will finally have an HD display
rushluvr is offline   6
Old Sep 12, 2012, 03:35 PM   #8
Kukulcan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by stu.h View Post
More importantly, why would you want it?
Yeah, I want 4K, retina pixels are just too huge
__________________
Cheers! Martin aka Kukulcan - time-tours.com
Kukulcan is offline   13
Old Sep 12, 2012, 03:48 PM   #9
Kukulcan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rushluvr View Post
It doesnt have to be 1080 to be an HD display. iphone 5 should have been at least 1280x720, the new standard for every other high end phone, except the iphone. Then again, its taken this long for LTE, maybe the iphone 7 will finally have an HD display
Why are you still here? Just get one of that standard high end phones. You could have done weeks ago, no HD resolution was obvious for a long time.
__________________
Cheers! Martin aka Kukulcan - time-tours.com
Kukulcan is offline   4
Old Sep 12, 2012, 03:50 PM   #10
blizeH
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
I cannot believe it wasn't even 720p
blizeH is offline   10
Old Sep 12, 2012, 03:51 PM   #11
slffl
macrumors 65816
 
slffl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by oBMTo View Post
Lack of a true HD screen, smooth move Apple.
Seriously, quit your bitching and go buy a phone you like!
slffl is offline   21
Old Sep 12, 2012, 03:52 PM   #12
fishmd
macrumors 65816
 
fishmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sunny South Florida
I did not notice them call it a "retina display" in the presentation actually.

Maybe they did and I missed it?
fishmd is offline   0
Old Sep 12, 2012, 03:53 PM   #13
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishmd View Post
I did not notice them call it a "retina display" in the presentation actually.

Maybe they did and I missed it?
Yes it is still is Retina. They mentioned it in the keynote and have it in their specifications and promotional pages on the iPhone website. Also, their technical specifications show this.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   6
Old Sep 12, 2012, 03:54 PM   #14
adztaylor
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Preston, UK
Send a message via MSN to adztaylor
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishmd View Post
I did not notice them call it a "retina display" in the presentation actually.

Maybe they did and I missed it?
They did.
adztaylor is offline   1
Old Sep 12, 2012, 03:54 PM   #15
Icaras
macrumors 601
 
Icaras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: California, United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by slffl View Post
Seriously, quit your bitching and go buy a phone you like!
This should be an automated reply for every post like that

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishmd View Post
I did not notice them call it a "retina display" in the presentation actually.

Maybe they did and I missed it?
Not sure if they verbally said it, but it is still retina.

http://www.apple.com/iphone/
__________________
iMac (27-inch, Late 2012) iPad Air iPhone 5 Apple TV (3rd Generation) Airport Time Capsule OS X Mavericks iOS 7 Logic Pro X
Icaras is offline   4
Old Sep 12, 2012, 03:55 PM   #16
Sdahe
macrumors 68000
 
Sdahe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Juan, PR
Quote:
Originally Posted by blizeH View Post
I cannot believe it wasn't even 720p
An they will still sell it like the most amazing phone in the world... people will say, oh my god yes!... and then they will run to the stores and buy the new iphone. I think Apple has the best marketing department in the world
__________________
iMac 27" 2.7GHz i5 | iPhone 5S 32GB | Apple TV
Sdahe is offline   0
Old Sep 12, 2012, 03:55 PM   #17
bp1000
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
I don't understand why the resolution needs to be any higher?

It just turns into a resolution pissing contest as they say. For the size and distance it is used from the eye, pixels are indistinguishable or what Apple call a retina display.

Why does it need to be higher?
bp1000 is offline   8
Old Sep 12, 2012, 03:56 PM   #18
bogatyr
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
It's a phone display... as long as the DPI is high enough to not see pixels... does it really matter?
bogatyr is offline   5
Old Sep 12, 2012, 03:56 PM   #19
GoCubsGo
macrumors Nehalem
 
GoCubsGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by oBMTo View Post
Lack of a true HD screen, smooth move Apple.
And I bet it doesn't adversely affect sales one bit. Apple will tell you what you need, want and to shut your mouth and take it.
__________________
Because I'm a smartass.
GoCubsGo is offline   1
Old Sep 12, 2012, 04:00 PM   #20
MacDawg
macrumors P6
 
MacDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: "Between the Hedges"
Personally, I don't care one whit about "specs" and what the box says it has
To me, it is all about performance and what my eyes tell me

To my eyes, I can't tell a difference between these minute differences
And I don't feel the need to boast that it has this or that number X number
And I don't feel one bit inferior or deprived because it doesn't
MacDawg is offline   10
Old Sep 12, 2012, 04:03 PM   #21
dccorona
macrumors 68020
 
dccorona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by oBMTo View Post
Lack of a true HD screen, smooth move Apple.
The 140px difference is indistinguishable to the human eye on a screen that size. You'd never know it didn't have it. But you WOULD notice if everything was OFF by 140 pixels because they messed up the width of old apps.
__________________
I'm not a fanboy who supports one company blindly over the others. I choose the product I personally feel is the best for my needs (or wants) at the time. That just usually happens to be Apple.
dccorona is offline   6
Old Sep 12, 2012, 04:04 PM   #22
nutmac
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by oBMTo View Post
Lack of a true HD screen, smooth move Apple.
It's because 1136x640 allows iPhone 5 to run older apps with black border only on top and bottom (portrait orientation) of the screen and not increase the width of the device.

The difference between 1136x640 and 1280x720 is fairly trivial anyway. Maintaining backward compatibility and usability are more important than 144x80 pixels.
nutmac is offline   9
Old Sep 12, 2012, 04:09 PM   #23
rushluvr
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutmac View Post

The difference between 1136x640 and 1280x720 is fairly trivial anyway. Maintaining backward compatibility and usability are more important than 144x80 pixels.
Not when you are increasing the screen size. Moving to a larger screen but sticking with a 640 non HD display is just beyond stupid. Make your devs create new HD apps for 720 and be done with it. Upscaling apps is cheaping out. A high end device with a 640 display is a joke.
rushluvr is offline   0
Old Sep 12, 2012, 04:12 PM   #24
chrono1081
macrumors 604
 
chrono1081's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Isla Nublar
Quote:
Originally Posted by bogatyr View Post
It's a phone display... as long as the DPI is high enough to not see pixels... does it really matter?
This.

But then again people here seem to not understand higher resolution means more power needed to run it, which affects battery life and device performance.

Phone hardware is a delicate balance. You fit what you can in a small form factor and get rid of whats not needed, like an HD display when the screens pixels are so small you can't see them.Why waste the extra processing power?
__________________
Mac Pro (2010): 3.33Ghz Intel Xeon (6 core) - 24 GB RAM - NVidia Quadro k5000
Macbook Air (2010): 2.13 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4GB RAM
chrono1081 is offline   2
Old Sep 12, 2012, 04:14 PM   #25
Merkie
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by rushluvr View Post
Not when you are increasing the screen size. Moving to a larger screen but sticking with a 640 non HD display is just beyond stupid. Make your devs create new HD apps for 720 and be done with it. Upscaling apps is cheaping out. A high end device with a 640 display is a joke.
The ppi is still 326 (retina). Why is adding pixels you can't even see more important than maintaining backwards compatibility? Enlighten me.
Merkie is offline   8


Closed Thread
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Wasteland

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why can't take video in 640*480? truelies iOS 7 8 Oct 8, 2013 08:32 PM
iPhone 4s - Video resolution is 640 x 480? lotties iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Aug 19, 2013 08:04 PM
Gt 640 for Heavy Maya work Lil Chillbil Mac Pro 19 Jun 28, 2013 01:36 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC