Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 12, 2012, 06:42 PM   #1
robert05au
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Old Bar, New South Wales, Australia
problem with software update via mac app store

I started seeing this issue this morning prior to this it was just working normally without this error

An error has occurred

The operation couldn’t be completed.
(NSURLErrorDomain error -1100.)

I have done some google searches without much luck o what it means.

Any help or info would be great I have also posted on apple forums as yet no response.

For me this is strange as less than 12 hrs ago this worked and checked without error/s
robert05au is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2012, 07:28 PM   #2
xlii
macrumors 68000
 
xlii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Millis, Massachusetts
No help but I'm getting the same exact error. Just wait it out, the servers must be very busy.
xlii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2012, 07:53 PM   #3
kbmb
macrumors 68030
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NH
Same here. Way to go Apple switching Software Update to the lousy Mac App Store.

-Kevin
__________________
2010 Mac Pro 2.8 Quad, 27" ACD - Mid 2012 MacBook Air
kbmb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2012, 08:22 PM   #4
RobT
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
+1, same error showed up for me tonight (9/12).

I'm wondering if it is related to iTunes 10.7 upgrade i did tonight (causing a conflict)
__________________
Late '08 MacBook Pro, 2.53 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 480 GB SSD; 64GB iPhone 6 (Gray); Apple TV 2; TWITTER: @RobT43
RobT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2012, 08:40 PM   #5
alchemistmuffin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I believe the iTunes server crashed again, causing this error. (Mac App Store server is exactly the same as iTunes server)

I say, give it 2 to 10 days for things to get back to normal.
__________________
Are you F#%*@!& KIDDING ME!?!?!?! (Fill in the blanks) STOP TROLLING, OR I'M TELLING MOM!!!!!
alchemistmuffin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2012, 08:42 PM   #6
kbmb
macrumors 68030
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NH
Quote:
Originally Posted by alchemistmuffin View Post
I believe the iTunes server crashed again, causing this error. (Mac App Store server is exactly the same as iTunes server)

I say, give it 2 to 10 days for things to get back to normal.
Pretty sad if things crash for just for an incremental version of iTunes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobT View Post
+1, same error showed up for me tonight (9/12).

I'm wondering if it is related to iTunes 10.7 upgrade i did tonight (causing a conflict)
Nope...I don't have iTunes 10.7 yet and still get the error.


-Kevin
__________________
2010 Mac Pro 2.8 Quad, 27" ACD - Mid 2012 MacBook Air
kbmb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2012, 10:27 PM   #7
robert05au
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Old Bar, New South Wales, Australia
I am wondering now if it is some form of crash with the server or due to the fact 10.8.2 could be out any time soon. I downloaded iTunes 10.7 manually from apples support site due to the error message.

Let hope they get it sorted out soon.
robert05au is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 09:36 AM   #8
Viremia
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Same here since yesterday. Hopefully it gets fixed.
Viremia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 11:45 AM   #9
Michaelgtrusa
macrumors 601
 
Michaelgtrusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Everywhere And Nowhere
Same for me. I just clicked ok and the app updated.
__________________
iMACAll life is an experiment. The more experiments you make the better.
TWITTER TUMBLR
Michaelgtrusa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 11:59 AM   #10
frenetic
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Amsterdam
I had the same problem, but when I used a VPN connection it updated normally. Very strange indeed.
frenetic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 01:26 PM   #11
jakesteramma
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
I've been getting the same error all day today.
jakesteramma is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 05:55 PM   #12
RobT
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
OK, I worked on this today regarding the error when doing app updates "The operation couldn’t be completed. (NSURLErrorDomain error -1100.)"
and resolved it on my late '08 MacBook Pro running Mountain Lion 10.8.1 by entering the following command into Terminal and then entering my (admin) password:

sudo killall -HUP mDNSResponder



Hope this works for you too
__________________
Late '08 MacBook Pro, 2.53 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 480 GB SSD; 64GB iPhone 6 (Gray); Apple TV 2; TWITTER: @RobT43
RobT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 05:57 PM   #13
kbmb
macrumors 68030
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NH
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobT View Post
OK, I worked on this today regarding the error when doing app updates "The operation couldn’t be completed. (NSURLErrorDomain error -1100.)"
and resolved it on my late '08 MacBook Pro running Mountain Lion 10.8.1 by entering the following command into Terminal and then entering my (admin) password:

sudo killall -HUP mDNSResponder



Hope this works for you too
Didn't help here. Even restarted router.

-Kevin
__________________
2010 Mac Pro 2.8 Quad, 27" ACD - Mid 2012 MacBook Air
kbmb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 06:03 PM   #14
RobT
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Didn't help here. Even restarted router.

-Kevin
Sorry to hear it. It really did make the difference for me and I'd rather pass these things along with the chance that it may help others. Hopefully a more universal fix will emerge soon.
__________________
Late '08 MacBook Pro, 2.53 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 480 GB SSD; 64GB iPhone 6 (Gray); Apple TV 2; TWITTER: @RobT43
RobT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 06:13 PM   #15
kbmb
macrumors 68030
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NH
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobT View Post
Sorry to hear it. It really did make the difference for me and I'd rather pass these things along with the chance that it may help others. Hopefully a more universal fix will emerge soon.
No problem.....glad you passed it on.

I've heard using Googles DNS fixes it for some as well.....haven't tried that yet.

-Kevin

----------

After trying this from Adam Engst:
https://twitter.com/adamengst/status...82103808331776

It worked.

What is interesting is.....I got it to see the update, and then switched my DNS back to default Comcast. I now can't DOWNLOAD the update.

So this seems like a DNS routing issue.

What ISPs are people using?

-Kevin
__________________
2010 Mac Pro 2.8 Quad, 27" ACD - Mid 2012 MacBook Air
kbmb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 06:42 PM   #16
RobT
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
No problem.....glad you passed it on.

I've heard using Googles DNS fixes it for some as well.....haven't tried that yet.

-Kevin

----------

After trying this from Adam Engst:
https://twitter.com/adamengst/status...82103808331776

It worked.

What is interesting is.....I got it to see the update, and then switched my DNS back to default Comcast. I now can't DOWNLOAD the update.

So this seems like a DNS routing issue.

What ISPs are people using?

-Kevin
My ISP is Time Warner (Road Runner)

Seems to be a DNS issue and will likely correct as DNS updates. That's why the Terminal command I used made a difference for me. My guess is that App update is pointing to an old location on some computers/ISP's

Another option might be:

1. Open System Preferences - Network

2. Highlight active conenction

3. Click Advanced.

4. TCP/IP

5. Renew DHCP Lease
__________________
Late '08 MacBook Pro, 2.53 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 480 GB SSD; 64GB iPhone 6 (Gray); Apple TV 2; TWITTER: @RobT43
RobT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 06:54 PM   #17
robert05au
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Old Bar, New South Wales, Australia
Thankfully it seems to have sorted itself out on my end. Software update via mac app store works normally again this morning.

Still no idea what exactly the error was caused by but from reading the posts re DNS routing issues that is something I didn't think of trying.

Hopefully those whom are still seeing the error it gets sorted quickly for you

robert05au is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 12:28 AM   #18
cleve2christ
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Update issue

I ran the update this morning (iTunes, security, & java). Immediately afterwards, the computer won't get past the home screen. The dock and desktop items show up but the spinning rainbow never ends. Quitting and restarting the finder does no good. I cannot move beyond this point. Help! I wish I'd never run the update.
cleve2christ is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
App Store Update Problem patseguin iOS 6 18 Jul 31, 2013 03:48 PM
Why don't Java OSX Updates appear under Mac App Store/Software Update? sick z33 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Jul 2, 2013 02:23 PM
ML software update? through app store now? Vapor matt OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Jul 26, 2012 01:25 PM
iPhoto Update Through Mac App Store Problem natd1993 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jul 13, 2012 06:33 AM
Software Update, App Store, and iTunes Store not working laserbeam273 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jun 24, 2012 06:48 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC